About Us

Ask a Professional Team

Dr. Harlos is the Clinical Team Leader for the Canadian Virtual Hospice, and has also developed and maintains the site Palliative.info, a site for palliative care links and resource material. Dr. Harlos is Medical Director of Adult and Pediatric Palliative Care for the Winnipeg Regional Health Authority, and is Professor and Section Head of Palliative Medicine at the University of Manitoba.

read more...

Ogechi Asagwara works as a Clinical Nurse Specialist for the Winnipeg Regional Health Authority Palliative Care Program. She joined Canadian Virtual Hospice in 2016 as a member of the consulting team.


read more...

Dr. Romayne Gallagher is a palliative care physician with experience in the field that spans 25 years and includes patient care, teaching and research. Prior to becoming a full time palliative care physician she worked as a family physician for 12 years. She has been involved in collaborative work to improve access to palliative care at both provincial and national levels. Romayne’s other area of interest is pain management in older adults, including adults with cognitive impairment or dementia.

read more...

In 2008, the Canadian Virtual Hospice expanded its clinical team to include Rev. Dr. Glen Horst, who is exceptionally qualified to provide leadership on spiritual matters relating to palliative care. Dr. Horst is responsible for spiritual material posted on www.virtualhospice.ca and provides consultation for questions submitted to Ask a Professional.

read more...

Bruce Kennedy is a Clinical Pharmacy Specialist in palliative care with skills in providing end-of-life focused home based care to patients as well as hospice residences and hospital palliative care units.


read more...

In 2008, the Canadian Virtual Hospice expanded its clinical team to include Fred Nelson. With close to thirty years of experience in the palliative care community as a clinician, consultant, and teacher, Fred has comprehensive knowledge of the issues and challenges facing both individuals and families living with terminal illness.

read more...

Dr. Shane Sinclair is Assistant Professor, CancerCare Research Professorship, in the Faculty of Nursing at the University of Calgary.  He is also a certified spiritual care specialist with the Canadian Association of for Spiritual Care. He currently has a nationally funded program of research investigating the impact of compassion in clinical care.

read more...

Simone Stenekes works for the Palliative Care Program of the Winnipeg Regional Health Authority as a Clinical Nurse Specialist. In this role she focuses on caring for children and youth with advanced illness.

read more...

Jill Taylor-Brown retired from her position as the Director of Patient and Family Support Services at CancerCare Manitoba in 2015. Jill has been working with those diagnosed with cancer and their families for over 35 years.

read more...

Andrea Warnick is a nurse, educator, and grief counsellor who specializes in helping families, professionals, volunteers, and communities prepare children for a death and supporting them in their grief.

read more...

Dr. Cornie Woelk is an award-winning rural family practice physician, with more than 20 years of experience in rural palliative and cancer care, and with regional, provincial and national medical organizations. He holds a teaching position at the University of Manitoba medical school, and is a Pallium Educator. Dr. Woelk helps develop information for Virtual Hospice and answers questions at Ask a Professional.
 

read more...

Qui nous sommes

Équipe chargée du volet Consulter un professionnel

Le Dr Harlos dirige l’équipe clinique du Portail canadien en soins palliatifs; il est aussi l’auteur du site Palliative.info, qui réunit des liens et des ressources sur les soins palliatifs. Le Dr Harlos est directeur médical des soins palliatifs pour adultes et enfants de l'Office régional de la santé de Winnipeg. Il est aussi chef de section et professeur de médecine palliative à l'Université du Manitoba.

lire davantage...

Ogechi Asagwara est infirmière clinicienne spécialisée pour le programme de soins palliatifs de l'Office régional de la santé de Winnipeg. Elle s'est jointe à l'équipe clinique du Portail palliatif canadien en 2016.


lire davantage...

Dre Romayne Gallagher est médecin en soins palliatifs et cumule 25 années d’expérience dans ce domaine en soin des patients, en enseignement et en recherche. Avant d’être médecin en soins palliatifs à plein temps, elle a été médecin de famille pendant 12 ans. Elle a pris part à des projets de collaboration visant à améliorer l’accès aux soins palliatifs à l’échelle provinciale et nationale. Ses autres domaines d’intérêts sont la prise en charge de la douleur chez les adultes âgés, notamment les adultes atteints d’un trouble cognitif ou de démence.

lire davantage...

En 2008, l’équipe clinique du Portail canadien en soins palliatifs s’est enrichie du révérend Glen Horst, grand spécialiste de la spiritualité en soins palliatifs. Le révérend Horst s’occupe du contenu spirituel du site www.portailpalliatif.ca et intervient dans la rédaction des réponses aux questions envoyées au service « Consulter un professionnel ».

lire davantage...

Bruce est pharmacien clinique spécialisé en soins palliatifs, notamment en ce qui concerne la prestation de soins de fin de vie à domicile ainsi que dans les maisons de soins palliatifs et les unités spécialisées en milieu hospitalier.


lire davantage...

En 2008, l’équipe clinique du Portail canadien en soins palliatifs s’est enrichie de Fred Nelson. Avec près de 30 années d’expérience dans le domaine des soins palliatifs à titre de clinicien, de consultant et d’enseignant, Fred comprend bien les implications d’une maladie terminale autant pour les personnes atteintes que pour leurs proches.

lire davantage...

Shane Sinclair est professeur adjoint à la Faculté des sciences infirmières de l’Université de Calgary. Il est aussi spécialiste en soins spirituels agréé par l’Association canadienne des soins spirituels et consultant en soins spirituels auprès du Portail palliatif.

lire davantage...

Simone Stenekes est infirmière clinicienne spécialisée pour le Programme de soins palliatifs de l'Office régional de la santé de Winnipeg. Elle travaille principalement auprès d'enfants et d'adolescents atteints d'une maladie avancée. Membre de l’équipe clinique du Portail palliatif canadien depuis sa création, Simone a répondu à des centaines de questions soumises au service Consulter un professionnel.


lire davantage...

Retraitée depuis 2016, Jill Taylor-Brown occupait auparavant le poste de directrice des services de soutien aux patients et aux familles chez Action cancer Manitoba. Elle travaille auprès de personnes atteintes d'un cancer et de leurs familles depuis plus de 35 ans.

lire davantage...

Andrea Warnick est une infirmière, une éducatrice et une intervenante en suivi de deuil  qui s’emploie à aider les familles, les professionnels, les bénévoles et les communautés à préparer les enfants à un décès et à les accompagner dans leur deuil.

lire davantage...

Le Dr Cornie Woelk est médecin de famille en milieu rural. Primé pour son travail, il cumule plus de 20 années d’expérience en soins palliatifs et en traitement du cancer en milieu rural et siège en outre à diverses instances médicales régionales, provinciales et nationales. Il enseigne à l’école de médecine de l’Université du Manitoba et compte parmi les éducateurs du projet Pallium. Le Dr Woelk participe au développement du Portail palliatif et répond aux questions soumises au service Consulter un professionnel.

lire davantage...