Quick Consults


    Grief

    Teenagers are able to understand the abstract, and recognize that death is final and personal. Dealing with death can be difficult for adolescents and have an impact on all aspects of their daily lives. Their mood and overall coping can be profoundly affected. This can include alterations in their sleep pattern, how they interact with people... read more...
    A physician’s role in caring for family members is integral to providing care to the patient, and continues from diagnosis, through the disease trajectory, treatment, end-of-life care and bereavement. Understanding how family members grieve and what can help them is also important. During the illness, the physician plays a key role in connecting... read more...
    The illness or death of a student has a significant emotional impact on other students and teachers in the school or classroom. Providing opportunities to talk about the situation is part of the grieving and healing process for everyone. The information below provides some strategies for coping with a student’s illness or death. When a student... read more...
    We suggest that you start by reading Talking with Children and Youth About Serious Illness , in the Topics section of our website. This article, written by our clinical team, will give you basic information on how to reach out to children who have someone close to them who is ill or dying. Our Books, Links, and More section lists a number... read more...
    We suggest that you start by reading Talking with Children and Youth About Serious Illness , in the Topics section of our website. This article, written by our clinical team, will give you basic information on how to reach out to teenagers who have someone close to them who is ill and dying. Our Books, Links, and More section lists a number... read more...
    In palliative care the family is recognized as the ‘unit of care’ and bereavement care is believed to be an integral component of the care we provide. Therefore, our responsibility in developing a comprehensive palliative care program should include offering bereavement care to the family following the death. It is generally agreed that grief... read more...
    If health care providers are not part of a team where grief support services are provided, they can still engage in personal processes, such as journaling or connecting with others. The latter may involve debriefing with a trusted colleague or meeting privately with a counsellor on their own time. Many employment assistance programs across... read more...
    When the bereavement debriefing session is a response to a traumatic or difficult death, it’s essential to create a safe environment in which staff can ask questions, exchange information, and share thoughts and feelings. A traumatic death debriefing session often works best when the patient care manager arranges it and attends. Using an open-ended... read more...
    The nature and format of bereavement debriefing sessions will vary depending on who is involved, the purpose of the session, the event that precipitated it, and whether the session is a regularly scheduled review. Essential for an effective session is staff support. Be sure to involve people who can help create a safe environment in which... read more...

Questions-réponses


    Deuil

    Les adolescents comprennent les notions abstraites et savent que la mort est définitive. La perte d’un proche peut être difficile à surmonter pour eux. Elle peut se répercuter sur tous les aspects de leur quotidien et grandement affecter leur humeur et leur capacité générale de fonctionner. Le sommeil, les interactions avec l’entourage et... lire davantage...
    Le rôle d’attention du médecin envers les membres de la famille fait partie intégrante des soins au patient et se poursuit depuis le diagnostic, pendant la trajectoire de la maladie, le traitement et les soins de fin de vie , jusque dans le deuil. Comprendre le processus de deuil des membres de la famille, et ce qui peut les aider est aussi... lire davantage...
    La maladie ou la mort d’un élève cause un grand choc émotif aux autres élèves et au personnel enseignant d’une école ou d’une classe. Avoir la possibilité d’en parler fait partie du processus de deuil et de guérison de tout le monde. Vous trouverez ci-dessous quelques stratégies pour faire face à la maladie ou à la mort d’un élève. Un élève... lire davantage...
    Nous vous suggérons de commencer par lire l’article « Comment parler d’une maladie grave à un enfant ou à un adolescent » dans la section Sujets de notre site internet. Cet article, rédigé par notre équipe clinique, vous propose des conseils pour accompagner les enfants qui connaissent une personne malade ou mourante. Notre section Livres,... lire davantage...
    Nous vous suggérons de commencer par lire l’article « Comment parler d’une maladie grave à un enfant ou à un adolescent » dans la section Sujets de notre site internet. Cet article, rédigé par notre équipe clinique, vous propose des conseils pour accompagner les adolescents qui connaissent une personne malade ou mourante. Notre section Livres,... lire davantage...
    En soins palliatifs, nous reconnaissons que la famille est l’« unité de soins » et que le suivi de deuil fait partie intégrante des soins que nous offrons. Nous devons donc élaborer un programme de soins palliatifs complet qui comprend la prestation de services de suivi de deuil à la famille après le décès. Il est généralement reconnu que... lire davantage...
    Les personnes soignantes ne faisant pas partie d’une équipe de soins de santé offrant des services d’accompagnement dans le deuil peuvent quand même entreprendre des démarches personnelles telles que tenir un journal ou prendre contact avec d’autres, par exemple verbaliser avec un ou une collègue de confiance ou rencontrer privément un conseiller... lire davantage...
    Lorsque la séance de verbalisation post-décès découle d’un décès traumatique ou pénible, il est primordial de créer un environnement de confiance dans lequel le personnel se sentira à l’aise d’échanger de l’information et de partager des réflexions et des sentiments. Une séance de verbalisation post-décès est souvent plus efficace lorsque... lire davantage...
    La nature et la formule des séances de verbalisation post-décès varient selon les destinataires visés, le but de la séance, l’événement qui l’occasionne ou s’il s’agit d’une rencontre périodique. Pour qu’une séance soit efficace, l’appui du personnel est capital. Il faut veiller à inclure des personnes capables de créer un environnement de... lire davantage...