Quick Consults


    Pediatrics

    Teenagers are able to understand the abstract, and recognize that death is final and personal. Dealing with death can be difficult for adolescents and have an impact on all aspects of their daily lives. Their mood and overall coping can be profoundly affected. This can include alterations in their sleep pattern, how they interact with people... read more...
    It is difficult to know how to respond to a child when he or she says, “I don’t want to die.”   Children often understand much more than we give them credit for. Children often say things to or ask questions of the people they trust and know will be honest with them. This child feels comfortable broaching this subject with you and has opened... read more...
    Caring for teenagers who are dying can be quite challenging. Your teenage patient is at the point where he is trying to exert his independence and gain some freedom. However, as his disease progresses, he will become more and more dependent on others. With his general decline, his relationships with friends and his family will be affected,... read more...
    The illness or death of a student has a significant emotional impact on other students and teachers in the school or classroom. Providing opportunities to talk about the situation is part of the grieving and healing process for everyone. The information below provides some strategies for coping with a student’s illness or death. When a student... read more...
    We suggest that you start by reading Talking with Children and Youth About Serious Illness , in the Topics section of our website. This article, written by our clinical team, will give you basic information on how to reach out to children who have someone close to them who is ill or dying. Our Books, Links, and More section lists a number... read more...
    We suggest that you start by reading Talking with Children and Youth About Serious Illness , in the Topics section of our website. This article, written by our clinical team, will give you basic information on how to reach out to teenagers who have someone close to them who is ill and dying. Our Books, Links, and More section lists a number... read more...
    Starting discussions about death with children can be very difficult, especially when children are quite young. This young mother is likely experiencing immense angst because of her disease and in addition to her own emotions, must also tell her children she is dying. The best way to help this young mother is to guide her through initial and... read more...
    You may find that with children, active treatment of the disease continues, even with the knowledge that there may not be a cure. The course of illness in children can be very hard to predict. Depending on the illness trajectory, the amount of involvement from a home care or palliative care perspective may be limited at times. Rural health... read more...
    Every family has their way of addressing stressful situations and how information is communicated. This family functioning will now change, with the death of their mother and wife Your health care team will need to keep in mind that each family and family member will deal with illness and grief in their own unique way. Being sensitive to these... read more...

Questions-réponses


    Pédiatrie

    Les adolescents comprennent les notions abstraites et savent que la mort est définitive. La perte d’un proche peut être difficile à surmonter pour eux. Elle peut se répercuter sur tous les aspects de leur quotidien et grandement affecter leur humeur et leur capacité générale de fonctionner. Le sommeil, les interactions avec l’entourage et... lire davantage...
    Il est difficile de répondre à l’enfant qui dit « je ne veux pas mourir ». Les enfants comprennent bien mieux que nous le croyons. Les enfants parlent ou posent des questions aux gens en qui ils ont confiance et dont ils attendent des réponses honnêtes. L’enfant qui se sent à l’aise d’aborder ce sujet avec vous ouvre la porte au dialogue. lire davantage...
    Prodiguer des soins à un adolescent atteint d’une maladie terminale peut être très difficile. Votre patient est à un stade de sa vie où il essaie d’affirmer son indépendance et d’acquérir une certaine liberté. Pourtant, à mesure que progressera sa maladie, il deviendra de plus en plus dépendant des autres. La détérioration de son état se répercutera... lire davantage...
    La maladie ou la mort d’un élève cause un grand choc émotif aux autres élèves et au personnel enseignant d’une école ou d’une classe. Avoir la possibilité d’en parler fait partie du processus de deuil et de guérison de tout le monde. Vous trouverez ci-dessous quelques stratégies pour faire face à la maladie ou à la mort d’un élève. Un élève... lire davantage...
    Nous vous suggérons de commencer par lire l’article « Comment parler d’une maladie grave à un enfant ou à un adolescent » dans la section Sujets de notre site internet. Cet article, rédigé par notre équipe clinique, vous propose des conseils pour accompagner les enfants qui connaissent une personne malade ou mourante. Notre section Livres,... lire davantage...
    Nous vous suggérons de commencer par lire l’article « Comment parler d’une maladie grave à un enfant ou à un adolescent » dans la section Sujets de notre site internet. Cet article, rédigé par notre équipe clinique, vous propose des conseils pour accompagner les adolescents qui connaissent une personne malade ou mourante. Notre section Livres,... lire davantage...
    Entamer des discussions sur la mort avec des enfants, en particulier lorsqu’ils sont très jeunes, peut être très difficile. Cette jeune mère vit probablement une immense angoisse à cause de sa maladie, et elle doit par surcroît annoncer à ses enfants qu’elle va mourir. La meilleure manière d’aider cette mère est de la guider dans ses premiers... lire davantage...
    Vous constaterez peut-être que, chez les enfants, on continue de traiter activement la maladie même si l’on sait qu’elle pourrait être incurable. Il peut être très difficile de prédire comment évoluera la maladie d’un enfant. Selon la trajectoire de celle-ci, les possibilités d’intervention, du point de vue des soins à domicile ou palliatifs,... lire davantage...
    La vie de cette famille ne sera plus la même maintenant que les enfants sont orphelins de mère et que leur père est veuf. L’équipe soignante doit se rappeler que chaque famille et individu réagit à la maladie et vit le deuil d’une manière qui lui est propre. La première chose à faire pour aider cette famille à composer avec son chagrin et... lire davantage...