Quick Consults


    Program Development

    Many palliative care programs have an integrated approach to delivering care across settings. For example, the Calgary, Edmonton, Winnipeg and Fraser Health regions provide palliative care across settings - in the community, hospices, and in-patient palliative care units. This approach allows patients to transition from one setting to another,... read more...
    Often your initial step in this process is to pull together a group of staff who share a common interest in palliative care and are committed to improving the quality of care offered to the residents and families in your long-term care facility. It is best if this group includes representatives from the various disciplines or departments involved... read more...
    Your first step is to consider the population you hope to serve and how you will respond to its needs. Many hospice initiatives arise because of the focus of special interest groups. For example, a group may have a disease focus (such as HIV and ALS), a cultural focus or a geographical focus. Decide your focus and set up a working group. Be... read more...
    In palliative care the family is recognized as the ‘unit of care’ and bereavement care is believed to be an integral component of the care we provide. Therefore, our responsibility in developing a comprehensive palliative care program should include offering bereavement care to the family following the death. It is generally agreed that grief... read more...
    Moral distress is a significant ethical concern for both individuals and organizations. Some describe it as “moral compromise,” or the undermining of an individual’s integrity following participation in and/or failure to stop an event that the individual considers to be a harmful or undignified practice.   Moral distress can arise when members... read more...

Questions-réponses


    Élaboration de programmes

    De nombreux programmes de soins palliatifs ont adopté une approche de soins intégrée dans tous les contextes. Par exemple, les régies régionales de la santé de Calgary, Edmonton, Winnipeg et Fraser offrent des soins palliatifs à domicile, dans les maisons de soins palliatifs et aux patients admis dans les unités des soins palliatifs. Cette... lire davantage...
    La première étape consiste le plus souvent à réunir des personnes ayant un intérêt commun pour les soins palliatifs et qui souhaitent améliorer la qualité des soins offerts aux patients et aux familles de votre établissement. Idéalement, ce groupe comprendra des représentants des diverses disciplines ou unités chargées d’offrir des soins dans... lire davantage...
    Il s’agit d’abord de cibler votre clientèle et de déterminer de quelle façon vous comptez répondre à ses besoins. Les projets de maisons de soins palliatifs émanent souvent de groupes ayant une sensibilité particulière à l’égard d’une maladie (p. ex. le VIH ou la sclérose latérale amyotrophique), d’une culture ou d’une région. Vous pourrez... lire davantage...
    En soins palliatifs, nous reconnaissons que la famille est l’« unité de soins » et que le suivi de deuil fait partie intégrante des soins que nous offrons. Nous devons donc élaborer un programme de soins palliatifs complet qui comprend la prestation de services de suivi de deuil à la famille après le décès. Il est généralement reconnu que... lire davantage...
    La détresse morale est une lourde préoccupation d’ordre éthique pour les individus comme pour les organisations. Certains la décrivent comme un « compromis éthique » ou comme une atteinte à l’intégrité d’une personne qui a participé à une pratique qu’elle juge préjudiciable ou indigne, ou qui n’a pas pu en empêcher l’application. La détresse... lire davantage...