Quick Consults


    Spirituality

    As your question suggests, some patients believe or intuitively sense that illness has a spiritual as well as a physical dimension. For them, receiving medical care is part of a bigger picture that involves their spirituality and/or religious faith. As they face the anxiety of a life-limiting illness, patients may turn to familiar spiritual... read more...
    No matter what your patient has done in her life, she can create a legacy. She can gain a place in the hearts and memories of people if she weaves love, gratitude and forgiveness into the last chapter of her life story. This is the simple, yet profound, wisdom that comes from Dr. Ira Byock’s identification of the four statements that matter... read more...
    Your patient is carrying a double burden – his health problems and his self-blame for not being healed. It may be that his sense of failure about not being healed is reinforced by members of his family or faith community who believe that prayers offered in deep faith will be answered. As his prayers for healing go unanswered, he may also feel... read more...
    Pain and symptom management are central to end-of-life care . When a patient does not allow us to do all we can to control symptoms, it can be very unsettling. We may feel frustrated in witnessing suffering that seems unnecessary and have difficulty understanding why the patient is not willing to receive what we have to offer. Often we use... read more...
    Death and dying often elicit a heightened awareness of the importance of spirituality in patients, families and health care professionals. Caring for dying people and their families may offer opportunities to help them find meaning, love, hope and peace in the midst of very difficult circumstances. With these opportunities comes the responsibility... read more...
    Your question indicates sensitivity and recognition of the important role the patient’s religion plays in her illness experience ― an essential component of spiritual care at the end of life, in and of itself. Your sense of inadequacy in addressing spiritual and religious issues is common among health care professionals, even among spiritual... read more...
    Attending to the spiritual struggles and needs of patients and families is part of palliative care philosophy and practice. Clearly, you have spirituality on your radar as you care for patients and have integrated it into your practice. Your comfort in opening up conversations with patients about their spiritual perspectives and religious... read more...
    Your patient clearly has a lot to live for and wants to live well in spite of her health issues. She does not see palliative care as an opportunity to improve her quality of life and physical comfort, but rather as a sign that she has given up and lost hope. She continues to cling to hope for a cure although this appears medically impossible. read more...
    When patients are uncomfortable or in distress, even though their physical symptoms are well controlled, they may be experiencing spiritual pain . Spiritual pain is often experienced in the midst of a life-limiting illness and is “a great mimicker, often presenting as physical pain, anxiety or depression , anorexia , insomnia or shortness... read more...
    Assessing and responding to the spiritual needs of patients and families are important aspects of person-centred, comprehensive palliative care. However, hospice palliative care programs and settings vary widely in their spiritual care resources. Ideally, every palliative care team should include a certified spiritual care provider (i. e.,... read more...

Questions-réponses


    Spiritualité

    Comme le suggère votre question, certains patients croient ou sentent intuitivement que la maladie a une dimension spirituelle autant que physique. Pour eux, les soins médicaux font partie d’un ensemble qui englobe leur spiritualité ou leurs croyances religieuses. Devant l’anxiété qu’engendre une maladie grave et incurable, il arrive que les... lire davantage...
    Peu importe ce que votre patiente a fait dans la vie, elle a certainement quelque chose à léguer. Elle peut se faire une place dans les cœurs et la mémoire des gens si elle compose le dernier chapitre de sa vie avec amour, gratitude et indulgence. C’est la sagesse simple, mais tout de même profonde qui se dégage des quatre phrases qui, selon... lire davantage...
    Votre patient porte un double fardeau : ses problèmes de santé et le sentiment que c’est de sa faute s’il ne guérit pas. Son sentiment d’échec à cet égard est peut-être renforcé par l’assurance des membres de sa famille ou d’un groupe confessionnel que les prières les plus sincères sont exaucées. Comme les siennes ne donnent pas de résultat,... lire davantage...
    L’apaisement de la douleur et le traitement des symptômes sont essentiels aux soins de fin de vie . De fait, il peut être très déstabilisant de se trouver devant un patient qui refuse que nous fassions ce qui est en notre pouvoir pour traiter ses symptômes. La vue de souffrances qui nous paraissent inutiles est frustrante et il est difficile... lire davantage...
    La mort ou l’approche de la mort exacerbe parfois la sensibilité spirituelle des patients, de leur famille et des professionnels de la santé. Donner des soins à une personne au seuil de la mort et à sa famille, c’est aussi les aider à donner un sens à la situation, à trouver l’amour, l’espérance et la paix malgré des circonstances difficiles. lire davantage...
    Votre question atteste que vous comprenez l’importance de la religion pour votre patiente et que vous y êtes sensible, ce qui est un élément essentiel des soins spirituels en fin de vie. Votre sentiment d’impuissance à l’égard des questions spirituelles et religieuses est fréquent chez les professionnels de la santé et même chez les spécialistes... lire davantage...
    L’attention aux questionnements et aux besoins spirituels des patients et des familles fait partie de la philosophie et de la pratique des soins palliatifs. À l’évidence, vous êtes sensible à la spiritualité quand vous traitez vos patients et vous l’intégrez à votre pratique. Votre facilité à amorcer une conversation sur ce sujet et sur les... lire davantage...
    Votre patiente a manifestement beaucoup de raisons de vouloir rester en vie et veut le faire malgré son état. Elle ne voit pas les soins palliatifs comme un moyen d’améliorer sa qualité de vie et son confort physique, mais seulement comme un signe d’abandon et de désespoir. Elle s’accroche à l’espoir d’une guérison qui semble médicalement... lire davantage...
    Un patient dont les symptômes physiques sont bien maîtrisés mais qui ressent beaucoup d’inconfort ou de détresse présente peut-être une souffrance spirituelle. Celle-ci survient souvent au cours d’une maladie grave et incurable et souvent même sous la forme trompeuse de douleurs physiques, d’anxiété ou de dépression , d’anorexie, d’insomnie... lire davantage...
    La détermination des besoins spirituels des patients et de leur famille et la réponse offerte comptent énormément, en effet, dans la prestation de soins palliatifs complets, axés sur la personne. Pourtant, les programmes ne bénéficient pas tous des mêmes ressources, tant s’en faut. Idéalement, chaque équipe de soins palliatifs devrait compter... lire davantage...