Medical Program Director of Palliative Care, Baycrest Geriatric Health Care System and Professor of Medicine, University of Toronto
Artificial Nutrition and Hydration: Is it Really What you Want?

Case Study:

The son stopped me at the elevator. “I have to speak to you seriously. Do you have a minute?” He had been a previous medical colleague of mine “Sure,” as I walked with him to a quiet corner in the corridor of the complex continuing care hospital at which I worked.

“Maybe you know that my mother has been here for almost three months and my sister and I realize that we made the wrong decision before she was transferred. We agreed to a feeding tube hoping that she would recover from her stroke, as she had done previously. We knew this stroke was much worse, but you know we hoped.” He continued, “The hospital staff told us the tube would prevent complications such as aspiration, which she experienced even prior to this stroke. (1) She has been almost comatose since the transfer; she just lies there with the tube going into her stomach. We don’t think she even recognizes who we are although at time her eyes are open….but she just stares into space and hardly responds when we call her name.” He started to tear up, “This is not what we think she would have wanted. Can we meet to discuss what to do? (2)

At that time, besides an administrative role, I directed the ethics program at the facility which included a complex continuing care program. I said, “Of course, a meeting can be arranged-who do you want at the meeting?” “My sister, my wife and my brother-in-law and whoever you need from the staff.” He went on, “we have another brother who lives in the United States who could not come but we know he agrees with us and besides the two of us share the POA for her so we can make any necessary decisions.”

Why the decision had been made

The family/ethics committee/team meeting was called. The family members were consistent in their contention that at the time they made the decision they could not speak to their mother. They felt at the time that having made a reasonable recovery from two previous, albeit, smaller strokes, she should be given “a chance”. Also there was lots of pressure to “put the tube in because she was not eating. They could not just let her “starve to death.” Also, the staff really wanted to arrange transfer from acute care to elsewhere “more suitable for her needs.” The physician son said, “It was a pretty emotional time and the thought of just letting her go was too much for us. Then again there was that pressure and real hope: we had so much hope. She was such a vibrant person.” His sister nodded as he spoke and everyone agreed that the time had come to change their direction and allow her to die “peacefully”. They concurred that as they knew her she would never have wanted to be kept alive the way she was, not recognizing, not understanding, not laughing, and as the daughter said, “not eating.” (2)

Moral Distress among Health Care Staff

After the family agreed with their choice of discontinuing the tube feeding, the process was not as smooth as they and we on the ethics committee had anticipated. The health care staff caring for the patient were astounded by the decision even though they understood the law and the ethics. “She is no worse than when she came in, in fact she is somewhat better; the pressure ulcer that was incipient on admission is no longer there.” Two of the many very caring nurses expressed well the sense when they said, “It just does not feel right.” The attending physician made the following comment, which echoed some of the nurses who could not act on it as the doctor chose to; “I cannot write the order to discontinue the feeds as it conflicts with my personal and religious values.” (3, 4, 5, 6)

Clinical resolution with unanswered questions

Ultimately in order to carry through with the-agreed-to decision, the patient was transferred to the facility’s palliative care unit. There, the team understood the complex decision-making process of the family and were able, in good conscience and good clinical practice, to carry out the family’s wishes. No nutrients were given through the feeding tube which was capped. The patient, already in coma, was carefully positioned in a pressure reducing mattress to prevent the formation of pressure ulcers. There was no indication of pain or other discomfort that would have required suitable analgesics. With excellent nursing care she died in ten days. The body’s natural formation of ketone bodies as a consequence of not eating rapidly blunts the sense of hunger thereby preventing the erroneous description of starvation.

This composite case reflects the main issues surrounding the questions and challenges of artificial nutrition and hydration from the legal, ethical, clinical and symbolic perspectives. The main issues are:

  1. Was the tube inserted based on a true understanding by her Substitute Decision-Makers (SDMs) of her previous expressed wishes or best interests? After the fact the SDMs claimed that they never had such a specific conversation. Therefore the initial process of decision-making was flawed. This deficiency commonly occurs as such conversations are not easy for families. (8)
  2. Did the family receive adequate explanation and counselling as to what the course of action would have been had the tube not been inserted? This would be necessary in order to counter the frightening concept of being somehow responsible for “mother starving to death.” Had the evidence and mechanism by which the body quickly protects itself from sensations of hunger much less starvation by the metabolic production of ketones been explained they might have rejected the offer of a feeding tube. (9)
  3. Was the family made aware that they had the ethical option and legal right to refuse initially, and after acceptance, change their mind about providing any treatments including artificial nutrition and hydration according to Ontario’s Health Care Consent Act? (8)
  4. Did the family know that the evidence suggests strongly that feeding tubes do not prevent aspiration? Thus their decision to allow one to be inserted would not change the possibility of such a complication related to her pre-existing swallowing problems or those that followed her stroke. (1)
  5. Was it really acceptable for a health care professional to refuse to participate in ethically and legally allowed medical decisions for which the Health Care Consent Act provides the authority to do so? This is a very complex issue in a multi-cultural and multi-religious society in which many people including health care providers have strong personal beliefs. (3,4,5,6) Usually the professional expectation is that physicians should provide all care necessary for their patients even when in conflict with their personal beliefs. The practice is often one where if another physician can be found to take over care, there is usually no recourse to admonish or take regulatory action against a refusing physician. It is much more complex for nursing and other health care professional staff where often it is impossible to fill in the gaps of service when a number of health care professionals’ views are in conflict with a proposed procedure. In those cases it could be viewed by regulatory bodies as unprofessional behaviour.
  6. Should it be necessary to transfer a patient from her home unit in order to avoid such a complex professional and emotional conflict? This personal internalization of the ethical conflict is often referred to as moral distress? (3)

Each of the above points has to be carefully considered when such decisions are recommended by health professionals and undertaken by SDMs on behalf of those for whom the act.

Conclusion

With an ever-increasing aging population in western countries, health care organizations and all the health care professionals involved in eldercare must become comfortable and knowledgeable with clinical, ethical and legal aspects of the decision to undertake artificial nutrition and hydration. (9) Aging individuals must take on the responsibility to express to their loved ones their preferences should an event arise that could lead to such a decision; they must make sure that they have the conversation and express their treatment preferences. They must also assure themselves that their SDMs will have the emotional capability to carry out their wishes even when it might conflict with their personal wishes and beliefs.



References

  1. Ackermann RJ, Withholding and Withdrawing Life-Sustaining Treatment. Am Fam Physician. 2000; 62:1555-1560. http://www.aafp.org/afp/2000/1001/p1555.html;
  2. Abbott KH, Sago JG, Breen CM, Abernethy AP, Tulsky JA. Families looking back: one year after discussion of withdrawal or withholding of life-sustaining support. Crit Care Med 2001;29:197-201.
  3. Kälvemark S, Höglund AT, Hansson MG, Westerholm P, Arnetz B. Living with conflicts-ethical dilemmas and moral distress in the health care system. Soc Sci Med. 2004;58:1075-84. http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/14723903
  4. Pellegrino, ED. Nonabandonment: An old obligation revisited. Ann Intern Med 1995;122:377-8.
  5. Quill TE, Cassel CK. Nonabandonment: A central obligation for physicians. Ann Intern Med 1995;122:368-74.
  6. Culver KC, Cupples B.Why withholding treatment is not assisted suicide. Health Law Can 1999;20:12-6.
  7. Health Care Consent Act 1996: http://www.e-laws.gov.on.ca/html/statutes/english/elaws_statutes_96h02_e.htm
  8. Lallanilla M, Death from Dehydration Is Usually Serene, March 18, 2005, ABC News, The concept of moral distress in health care settings. http://abcnews.go.com/Health/Schiavo/story?id=531907&page=1
  9. Meisel A, Snyder L, Quill T. Seven legal barriers to end-of-life care: myths, realities, and grains of truth. JAMA 2000;284:2495-501.

Baycrest Geriatric Health Care System Université de Toronto
Alimentation et hydratation artificielles : est-ce bien ce que vous souhaitez?

Étude de cas :

Le fils d’une patiente m’intercepte devant l’ascenseur. « Il faut absolument que je te parle. As-tu une minute? » Nous avions été collègues quelques années plus tôt. « Bien sûr », répondis-je en l’accompagnant vers un coin plus tranquille du corridor du complexe hospitalier de soins de longue durée où je travaille.

« Tu sais probablement que ma mère est ici depuis presque trois mois, et ma sœur et moi pensons maintenant avoir pris la mauvaise décision en la transférant ici. Nous avons dit oui à l’alimentation artificielle en espérant qu’elle se remettrait de son AVC, comme elle l’avait déjà fait. Nous savions que cet accident était bien pire que les précédents, mais tu sais que nous avions de l’espoir, poursuit-il. Le personnel hospitalier nous a dit que l’alimentation artificielle préviendrait des complications, notamment le risque d’une pneumonie d’aspiration, qu’elle avait subie avant son AVC (1). Elle est pratiquement comateuse depuis son transfert; elle reste là, immobile, avec ce tube qui lui entre dans l’estomac. Nous ne pensons même pas qu’elle nous reconnaît, même si elle ouvre parfois les yeux… Elle fixe le vide et répond à peine quand nous l’appelons. » Les larmes lui montent aux yeux et il ajoute : « Nous ne pensons pas que c’est ce qu’elle aurait souhaité. Est-ce qu’on pourrait se rencontrer pour voir ce qu’on pourrait faire? » (2)

À ce moment-là, en plus de jouer mon rôle administratif, je l’ai dirigé vers le programme d’éthique de l’hôpital, qui comprend un programme de soins continus complexes. « Bien sûr qu’il est possible d’organiser une rencontre, lui répondis-je. Qui aimerais-tu voir à cette rencontre? » « Ma sœur, ma femme et mon beau-frère, et tout autre membre du personnel dont vous auriez besoin, me répondit-il avant de poursuivre. Nous avons un frère qui habite aux États-Unis et qui ne pourrait pas venir, mais nous savons qu’il est d’accord avec nous. En plus, ma sœur et moi sommes tous les deux désignés comme mandataires, alors nous pouvons prendre toutes les décisions nécessaires. »

Pourquoi la décision a-t-elle été prise

La rencontre entre la famille, le comité d’éthique et l’équipe soignante a donc eu lieu. Les membres de la famille ont maintenu qu’au moment où ils ont pris leur décision, ils ne pouvaient pas parler à leur mère. Ils avaient l’impression, à ce moment-là, qu’étant donné qu’elle s’était déjà remise de deux autres AVC – moins graves, certes –, il fallait lui donner « une chance ». Ils ont aussi senti beaucoup de pression pour l’intuber parce qu’elle ne mangeait pas et qu’ils ne pouvaient pas la laisser « mourir de faim ». De plus, le personnel voulait vraiment qu’ils la transfèrent des soins de courte durée à un endroit « qui répondrait mieux à ses besoins ». Le fils médecin raconte : « Nous étions tous très émotifs à ce moment-là, et l’idée de simplement la laisser partir était trop pour nous. Et puis il y avait cette pression et un espoir bien réel : nous avions tellement d’espoir! C’était une personne si dynamique. » Sa sœur acquiesçait à chacune de ses interventions, et tout le monde s’est mis d’accord qu’il était temps de changer d’orientation et de lui permettre de mourir « en paix ». Ils se sont entendus pour dire que, la connaissant, ils savaient qu’elle n’aurait pas voulu être gardée en vie comme cela, ne reconnaissant plus personne, sans comprendre, sans rire et, comme l’a ajouté la fille de la patiente, « sans manger ». (2)

Déstresse morale chez le personnel de soins de santé

Une fois que la famille a accepté de cesser l’alimentation artificielle, le processus n’a pas été aussi simple qu’elle ou que nous, au comité d’éthique, l’avions prévu. Le personnel qui s’occupait de la patiente a été renversé par la décision, même s’il comprenait les lois et les codes d’éthique. « Elle n’est pas en plus mauvais état qu’à son arrivée, même qu’elle va un peu mieux puisque le début de plaie de pression qu’elle avait en arrivant a disparu. » Deux des nombreuses infirmières très attentionnées qui s’occupaient d’elle ont bien exprimé leur sentiment : « Nous ne sommes pas à l’aise avec cette décision. » Le médecin attitré a émis le commentaire suivant, qui rejoignait celui des infirmières : « Je ne peux pas donner l’ordre de cesser l’alimentation artificielle puisque ce geste contrevient à mes valeurs personnelles et religieuses. » (3, 4, 5, 6)

Solutions cliniques aux questions sans réponses

En fin de compte, pour appliquer la décision prise, il a fallu transférer la patiente à l’unité de soins palliatifs de l’hôpital. Cette équipe-là a compris le processus décisionnel complexe de la famille et a été capable, en ayant bonne conscience et en respectant les pratiques cliniques, d’exaucer les souhaits de la famille. La patiente a cessé de recevoir des nutriments par la sonde d’alimentation, que l’on a bloquée. La patiente, déjà dans le coma, a été placée avec soin sur un matelas anti-plaies pour prévenir les plaies de pression. Rien ne portait à croire qu’elle ressentait de la douleur ou un inconfort qui aurait nécessité des analgésiques. Elle a reçu d’excellents soins et elle est morte au bout de dix jours. L’arrêt de l’alimentation amène l’organisme à produire naturellement des corps cétoniques, ce qui élimine rapidement la sensation de faim et, par ricochet, la conception erronée que la patiente est affamée.

Ce cas complexe met en lumière les principaux enjeux, questions et problèmes entourant l’alimentation et l’hydratation artificielles d’un point de vue légal, clinique et symbolique. Voici ces principaux enjeux :

  1. L’intubation s’est-elle faite en toute connaissance, par les mandataires, des souhaits préalablement exprimés par la patiente et dans son intérêt fondamental? Après coup, les mandataires ont admis ne jamais avoir tenu de conversation aussi directe à ce sujet. La prise de décision initiale a donc été erronée. Cette erreur se produit souvent, car les familles ne discutent pas facilement de tels sujets. (8)
  2. Les membres de la famille ont-ils reçu les explications et l’accompagnement psychologique nécessaires quant aux options autres que l’alimentation artificielle? Cette aide aurait été nécessaire pour aider la famille à gérer le concept effrayant d’être responsable, d’une certaine façon, de « laisser leur mère mourir de faim ». Si on leur avait expliqué de quelle façon l’organisme se protège rapidement contre la sensation de faim en produisant des corps cétoniques, ils auraient peut-être rejeté l’idée de l’alimentation artificielle. (9)
  3. A-t-on informé la famille qu’elle avait l’option morale et le droit reconnu par la loi de refuser au départ, ou de changer d’avis plus tard, tout traitement y compris l’alimentation et l’hydratation artificielles, conformément à la Loi sur le consentement aux soins de santé de l’Ontario? (8)
  4. La famille savait-elle que, selon de nombreuses études, l’alimentation artificielle ne prévient pas les pneumonies d’aspiration? Leur décision d’accepter l’intubation ne réduisait pas le risque d’une telle complication liée à ses difficultés préalables d’avaler ou aux difficultés qui ont suivi son AVC. (1)
  5. Était-il vraiment acceptable qu’un professionnel de la santé refuse d’appliquer des décisions médicales tout à fait éthiques et autorisées par la Loi sur le consentement aux soins de santé? Il s’agit là d’une question très complexe dans une société multiculturelle et multireligieuse où se côtoient des personnes, y compris du personnel soignant, qui ont de fortes croyances personnelles. (3,4,5,6) Sur le plan professionnel, on s’attend à ce que les médecins fournissent tous les soins nécessaires à leurs patients même si ces soins entrent en conflit avec leurs croyances personnelles. Dans la pratique, si on peut trouver un autre médecin pour remplacer le premier, il n’y a généralement pas de mesures – réprimandes ou procédures juridiques – prises contre le médecin qui a refusé d’agir. La situation est beaucoup plus complexe dans le cas du personnel infirmier ou d’autres professionnels de la santé pour lesquels il est souvent impossible de trouver des remplaçants lorsque les croyances de plusieurs professionnels de la santé entrent en conflit avec l’acte médical proposé. Dans de tels cas, les organismes de réglementation peuvent juger qu’il s’agit d’un comportement non professionnel.
  6. Devrait-il être nécessaire de transférer un patient de son unité de soins afin d’éviter des conflits professionnels et émotifs aussi complexes? On qualifie souvent cette internalisation du conflit éthique de détresse morale. (3)
  7. Les professionnels de la santé doivent évaluer avec soin chacun des éléments ci-dessus avant de recommander de telles décisions, qui seront ensuite appliquées par les mandataires au nom des personnes visées par les actes médicaux.
Conclusion

Compte tenu du vieillissement de la population des pays occidentaux, les organismes de soins de santé et tous les professionnels de la santé qui soignent les personnes âgées doivent apprivoiser et bien connaître les aspects cliniques, éthiques et légaux de la décision d’accepter ou non l’alimentation et l’hydratation artificielles. (9) Les personnes qui avancent en âge doivent de leur côté exprimer leurs préférences à leurs proches advenant la nécessité de prendre une telle décision; elles doivent discuter de cette question avec eux et leur faire part des traitements qu’elles souhaiteraient recevoir. Elles doivent aussi veiller à ce que leurs mandataires aient la capacité émotive d’exaucer leurs souhaits même si ces souhaits divergent de leurs aspirations et croyances personnelles.



Références
  1. Ackermann RJ, “Withholding and Withdrawing Life-Sustaining Treatment.” American Family Physician 2000; 62:1555-1560. http://www.aafp.org/afp/2000/1001/p1555.html
  2. Abbott KH, Sago JG, Breen CM, Abernethy AP, Tulsky JA. “Families looking back: one year after discussion of withdrawal or withholding of life-sustaining support.” Critical Care Medicine 2001;29:197-201.
  3. Kälvemark S, Höglund AT, Hansson MG, Westerholm P, Arnetz B. “Living with conflicts-ethical dilemmas and moral distress in the health care system.” Social Science & Medicine 2004;58:1075-84. http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/14723903
  4. Pellegrino, ED. “Nonabandonment: An old obligation revisited.” Annals of Internal Medicine 1995;122:377-8.
  5. Quill TE, Cassel CK. “Nonabandonment : A central obligation for physicians.” Annals of Internal Medicine 1995;122:368-74.
  6. Culver KC, Cupples B. “Why withholding treatment is not assisted suicide.” Health Law Can 1999;20:12-6.
  7. Loi sur le consentement aux soins de santé 1996 : http://www.e-laws.gov.on.ca/html/statutes/french/elaws_statutes_96h02_f.htm
  8. Lallanilla M, “Death from Dehydration Is Usually Serene,” 18 mars 2005, ABC News, Article sur la détresse morale dans le milieu de la santé. http://abcnews.go.com/Health/Schiavo/story?id=531907&page=1
  9. Meisel A, Snyder L, Quill T. “Seven legal barriers to end-of-life care: myths, realities, and grains of truth.” JAMA 2000;284:2495-501.