University of Toronto M.D. Candidate 2017
Benefits and Barriers to the Homeless by In-Shelter Palliative Care: A Qualitative Study

Authors: Anton Nikouline BMSc; Naheed Dosani MD, MD, CCFP, BSc

Introduction

In 2002, an estimated 32,000 people slept in a Toronto homeless shelter1. In Toronto, homeless persons have high rates of early mortality from AIDS, cancer and hepatitis diseases2. The mean age at death in this population is reported to be 34-47 years, with age-adjusted death rates 2-4 times higher than the general population in North American and European cities2. Despite their poor health status, more than half of homeless individuals did not have a family doctor, more than a third felt judged or treated with disrespect by their health care doctor and 1 in 5 had a negative experience with hospital security3

An in-shelter hospice program in Ottawa showed a savings of $1.39 million to the health care system by instituting an in-shelter palliative care program3. Many shelter attendees expressed wishes to die within the shelter system rather than moving to a tertiary or palliative hospital3. However, in Toronto, 34-59% homeless persons are still dying in acute care settings4. The objective of the present study is to determine the benefits and barriers of in-shelter palliative care and possible enablers to future implementation in Toronto. 

Methods

Using snowball sampling, shelter-based social service providers were interviewed from three distinct Toronto shelters. In order to assess the palliative care needs for homeless persons within the shelter system, three specific questions were asked of each provider: 1) What are the perceived benefits to in-shelter palliative care? 2) What are the barriers to delivering palliative care in shelter? And,3) What are strategies for overcoming these barriers and enabling implementation?

Five transcripts were obtained from case workers, social support workers and shelter managers using semi-structured interviews lasting approximately one hour each. Using thematic analysis, transcripts were unified and themes were distilled and defined.  

Results

Thematic analysis of the five interviews yielded themes that fell under three broad categories: Benefits, Barriers and Enablers.

Benefits of In-Shelter Palliative Care Programs

“If you’re diagnosed while living in a shelter and you have these supports here, then all of a sudden those supports are gone, you don’t see the same faces. Their lifestyle is important to them.” 

Choice – Shelter staff unanimously agreed on the importance of affording homeless individuals the choice of where to die.  There was concern that once homeless persons entered a hospice or hospital setting, all choice would be taken from them. In a population devoid of resources, having flexibility regarding end-of-life options, such as a shelter-based death, affords better quality of life.  

Staying In-shelter – In giving an individual the choice to die where he or she pleases, it is important that individuals be given the option to stay in a shelter at the end of life. Shelter staff stated that many patients with mental health issues had difficulty adjusting when admitted to hospice or hospital care. The new settings, new people, and the loss of their previous lifestyle so suddenly caused great stress at a very vulnerable time in their lives. As such, the ability to continue palliative care within a shelter is vital.  

Barriers to In-Shelter Palliative Care

“There are some that are so paranoid and distrustful that they won’t see a doctor. They are afraid…..We have had a few cases where [clients] have been dying… just totally running from seeing a doctor, not wanting to visit a hospice…” 

Resources - Shelter staff were worried that a new palliative care program would mean more work for them and a greater burden for a workforce already stretched thin.  They did not believe there to be sufficient space to reserve beds for those with palliative needs. Lastly, they described little opportunity or funding for training shelter staff in palliative care.

Trust - The largest barrier distilled from the transcripts was the patient population’s distrust of medical care. As a result of a long history of exploitation and discrimination, homeless persons often do not wish to seek medical care, even in end-of-life. They are more afraid of the medical system than they are of dying.

Enablers to In-Shelter Palliative Care

“This is an issue of death and the community themselves or people themselves need to actually be able to voice and raise the opinion that it is important to them.” 

Communication – Palliative care programs utilizing health practitioners with strong communication skills were appreciated by patients. Strong and frequent communication demonstrated reliability and commitment to the homeless population and shelter staff. Being available through multiple modalities (e-mail, phone, etc.) improved communication. 

Community Involvement – Participants stressed the importance of the involvement of the homeless population in pushing this issue forward. In order for such a palliative care program to succeed, this population would need to voice their approval. Due to the distrust of medical care, shelter staff felt that the population itself needed to advocate for the importance of palliative care in-shelter.  

Discussion  

The interviews in this study demonstrate the need for in shelter palliative care programs, but also highlight many of the significant barriers to the success of such programs, and some of the pieces that will needed in order to make this a reality.

First, the kind of program instituted will have to be specifically tailored to this unique population.  The resources that will be required for an in-shelter palliative care program to succeed go beyond funding. A mobile and flexible program is needed for this fluid population. The lack of space that many shelters face must be dealt with by a palliative care team that is able to make use of limited space, operate in many different locations and provide flexible treatment options. This type of adaptability and resourcefulness would be paramount in caring for refugee patients, patients without provincial health coverage, and in providing continuity of care for the patients who choose to leave the shelter system. 

One of the largest barriers demonstrated in the study is establishing trust with the population.  Strong communication is a strategy necessary to overcome this barrier. The health care team needs to be available to both the clients and shelter staff through e-mail, phone call or text to build a sense of security and commitment. Support from the homeless community is also vital in developing trust. This will require both community members advocating for their palliative care needs and the healthcare staff advocating for the community. Support and education of shelter staff would also garner more trust with the community. There is very little training in palliative care for shelter workers and burnout rates of staff are high. A palliative care team would need to be supportive to shelter staff in order to be viewed as a help rather than an extra burden. Finally, there needs to be support after death for both shelter occupants and staff, including bereavement groups and memorial services from friends and family. It is important not to end the care at death, since many in the community may be affected and need ongoing support. 

Conclusion 

While the sample size for the study was very small, nevertheless the findings indicate that appropriate palliative care for the homeless is an issue that deserves serious attention.

There was an overwhelming expression by respondents that palliative care for the homeless population needs to be improved, and shelter staff were receptive to in-shelter palliative care. They expressed that clients of palliative care would benefit from an increase in choice and ability to remain in-shelter. There was a concern by respondents about a lack of resources and distrust by the shelter clients and staff in implementing these programs. Strong communication and community support were seen as enablers to implementation.
 

References

1. City of Toronto, Shelter, Support and Housing Administration. 2013. 20013 Street Needs Assessment: Results and Key Findings. Toronto: City of Toronto. Available at:http://www.toronto.ca/legdocs/mmis/2013/cd/bgrd/backgroundfile-61364.pdf
2. Street Health. The Street Health Report 2007. September 2007.
3. Podymow T, Turnbull J, Coyle D. Shelter-based palliative care for the homeless terminally ill. Palliat Med. 2006;20(2):81-86.
4. Hwang SW. Mortality Among Men Using Homeless Shelters in Toronto, Ontario. JAMA. 2000;283(16):2152-2157.

Doctorant en médecine de l’Université de Toronto 2017
Les avantages d’une offre de soins palliatifs en refuge pour les sans-abri et obstacles à sa mise en place : Étude qualitative

Auteurs : Anton Nikouline, B. Sc. (méd.); Naheed Dosani, MD, CCMF, B. Sc.

Introduction

En 2002, environ 32 000 personnes ont dormi dans un refuge pour les sans-abri à Toronto1. Dans cette ville, les sans-abri affichent un taux élevé de mortalité précoce dû au sida, au cancer et à l’hépatite2. L’âge moyen du décès chez cette population serait de 34 à 47 ans, et le taux de mortalité rajusté en fonction de l’âge serait de 2 à 4 fois plus élevé que celui de la population générale des villes nord-américaines et européennes2. Malgré leur piètre état de santé, plus de la moitié des sans-abri n’avaient pas de médecin de famille, plus du tiers se sentaient jugés ou traités irrespectueusement par le médecin qui leur prodiguait des soins de santé, et 1 sur 5 avait eu une mauvaise expérience avec le personnel de sécurité d’un hôpital3.

À Ottawa, la mise en place d’un programme de soins palliatifs en refuge a permis d’économiser 1,39 million de dollars au système de santé3. Ceux qui fréquentent les refuges veulent souvent mourir dans un refuge plutôt que dans un établissement de soins tertiaires ou palliatifs3. Or, à Toronto, de 34 à 59 % des sans-abri continuent de mourir dans des établissements de soins de courte durée4. La présente étude vise à déterminer les avantages d’une offre de soins palliatifs en refuge ainsi que les obstacles et les conditions propices à sa mise en place à Toronto. 

Méthodologie

À partir d’un sondage cumulatif, nous avons interviewé des fournisseurs de services sociaux de trois refuges de Toronto. Afin d’évaluer les besoins en soins palliatifs des sans-abri qui fréquentent les refuges, nous avons posé trois questions précises à chaque fournisseur : 1) Quels seraient les avantages d’offrir des soins palliatifs en refuge? 2) Quels sont les obstacles à la fourniture de soins palliatifs en refuge? 3) Comment pourrait-on surmonter ces obstacles et permettre la mise en place de ces services?

Nous avons obtenu cinq transcriptions d’entretiens semi-structurés d’environ une heure chacun avec des intervenants, des travailleurs sociaux et des directeurs de refuge. En procédant par analyse thématique, nous avons unifié les transcriptions et dégagé des thèmes. 

Résultats

L’analyse thématique des cinq entretiens a fait ressortir des thèmes que l’on peut répartir en trois grandes catégories : avantages, obstacles et conditions propices.


Avantages des programmes de soins palliatifs en refuge

« Si l’on vous diagnostique alors que vous habitez dans un refuge où vous recevez du soutien, vous perdez tout à coup ce soutien et vous n’avez plus affaire aux mêmes personnes. Les sans-abri sont attachés à leur style de vie. » 

Choix – Au sein du personnel des refuges, on s’entend pour dire qu’il est important de laisser aux sans-abri le soin de décider du lieu où ils mourront. On craint que, dans une maison de soins palliatifs ou un hôpital, ils perdent toute liberté de choix. Pour une personne dépourvue de ressources, le fait de pouvoir choisir comment finir sa vie (par exemple, dans un refuge) offre une meilleure qualité de vie. 

Rester en refuge – Lorsqu’on permet à des gens de mourir à l’endroit de leur choix, il est important de leur offrir la possibilité de finir leur vie dans un refuge. Le personnel des refuges indique que plusieurs patients ayant des problèmes de santé mentale avaient du mal à s’adapter lorsqu’ils étaient admis dans une maison de soins palliatifs ou un hôpital. Le fait de se retrouver dans un nouvel environnement, d’avoir affaire à de nouvelles personnes et de rompre avec leur style de vie de façon si radicale leur cause beaucoup de stress à un moment de leur vie où ils sont très vulnérables. C’est pourquoi il est essentiel de pouvoir continuer de leur offrir des soins palliatifs en refuge. 

Obstacles aux soins palliatifs en refuge

« Il y en a qui sont paranoïaques et méfiants au point de refuser de voir un médecin. Ils ont peur […]. On a eu des bénéficiaires mourants […] qui ne voulaient tout simplement rien savoir de voir un médecin ou de visiter une maison de soins palliatifs […] » 

Ressources – Dans les refuges, on craint que la mise en place d’un programme de soins palliatifs alourdisse la charge de travail quand les ressources sont déjà utilisées au maximum. On estime ne pas avoir assez d’espace pour réserver des lits de soins palliatifs. On trouve enfin que les ressources ou le financement manquent pour donner de la formation en soins palliatifs au personnel des refuges.

Confiance – Le plus grand obstacle qui ressort des transcriptions est la méfiance des patients à l’égard des soins médicaux. Exposés pendant si longtemps à l’exploitation et à la discrimination, les sans-abri n’ont souvent pas envie de recevoir de soins médicaux, même en fin de vie. Le système de santé les effraie davantage que la mort. 

Conditions propices aux soins palliatifs en refuge

« C’est de la mort dont il s’agit, et il faut que la communauté elle-même ou les gens eux-mêmes soient en mesure de faire valoir ce qui est important pour eux. » 

Communication – Les programmes de soins palliatifs qui font appel à des professionnels de la santé capables de bien communiquer sont bien reçus par les patients. Savoir communiquer efficacement et fréquemment est un signe de fiabilité et d’engagement aux yeux des sans-abri et du personnel des refuges. Le fait d’être joignable par différents moyens (courriel, téléphone, etc.) permet d’améliorer la communication. 

Mobilisation de la communauté – Les participants ont insisté sur l’importance de mobiliser les sans-abri pour faire avancer le dossier. La réussite d’un programme de soins palliatifs passe par l’adhésion des sans-abri. Conscient de la méfiance des sans-abri à l’égard des soins médicaux, le personnel des refuges estime que ce serait à eux de faire valoir l’importance d’avoir accès à des soins palliatifs en refuge. 

Discussion 

Les entretiens réalisés pour la présente étude témoignent du besoin d’une offre de programmes de soins palliatifs en refuge, mais font ressortir également les nombreux obstacles non négligeables à la réussite de tels programmes ainsi que les conditions préalables à leur mise en place.

Premièrement, ces programmes devront être spécialement adaptés aux besoins particuliers des sans-abri. Les ressources nécessaires à la réussite d’un programme de soins palliatifs en refuge ne sont pas que financières. Ce dont cette clientèle a besoin, c’est d’un programme mobile et souple. Le manque d’espace auquel les refuges sont souvent confrontés doit être pris en compte par une équipe de soins palliatifs capable de fonctionner dans un espace restreint, de travailler dans différents lieux et d’offrir des options de traitement souples. Cette flexibilité et cette débrouillardise sont primordiales lorsqu’il s’agit de soigner des patients en refuge, qui ne sont pas couverts par le régime de santé provincial, et pour assurer la continuité des soins aux patients qui choisissent de se faire soigner en-dehors d’un refuge. 

L’un des plus grands obstacles qui ressortent de l’étude est de gagner la confiance des sans-abri. Des communications efficaces sont la clé pour surmonter cet obstacle. L’équipe soignante doit être joignable à la fois par les clients et le personnel des refuges par courriel, par téléphone ou par texto pour susciter un sentiment de sécurité et d’engagement. Le soutien de la communauté des sans-abri est en outre essentiel pour créer un climat de confiance. Il faut pour cela que les membres de la communauté plaident pour un accès aux soins palliatifs pendant que les fournisseurs de soins de santé plaident en faveur de la communauté. Le soutien et la sensibilisation du personnel des refuges permettraient aussi d’augmenter la confiance de la communauté. L’offre de formation en soins palliatifs pour le personnel des refuges est très limitée et le taux d’épuisement professionnel est élevé. Les équipes de soins palliatifs devront manifester leur soutien au personnel des refuges pour être vues non pas comme un fardeau supplémentaire, mais comme un renfort. Enfin, il faut pouvoir soutenir autant les occupants que le personnel des refuges après un décès, notamment sous la forme de groupes de deuil et de services anniversaires organisés par les proches et amis. Il est important que les soins ne s’arrêtent pas avec la mort, car plusieurs membres de la communauté pourraient être affectés et continuer d’avoir besoin de soutien.

Conclusion 

Malgré la petitesse de l’échantillon auprès duquel nous avons mené la présente étude, il n’en ressort pas moins que la question de l’accès des sans-abri à des soins palliatifs appropriés mérite qu’on s’y attarde sérieusement.

Les répondants ont reconnu sans équivoque la nécessité d’améliorer l’accès aux soins palliatifs pour les sans-abri, et le personnel des refuges se montre réceptif à l’idée que ces soins soient donnés dans leurs établissements. Pour le personnel des refuges, les bénéficiaires de soins palliatifs profiteraient d’une amélioration de l’offre et de la possibilité de rester en refuge. Les répondants s’inquiètent du manque de ressources et de la méfiance de la clientèle et du personnel des refuges vis-à-vis de la mise en place de ces programmes. L’efficacité de la communication et le soutien de la communauté sont vus comme des conditions propices à leur déploiement.


Références

1. City of Toronto, Shelter, Support and Housing Administration. 2013. 20013 Street Needs Assessment: Results and Key Findings. Toronto: City of Toronto. Available at:http://www.toronto.ca/legdocs/mmis/2013/cd/bgrd/backgroundfile-61364.pdf
2. Street Health. The Street Health Report 2007. September 2007.
3. Podymow T, Turnbull J, Coyle D. Shelter-based palliative care for the homeless terminally ill. Palliat Med. 2006;20(2):81-86.
4. Hwang SW. Mortality Among Men Using Homeless Shelters in Toronto, Ontario. JAMA. 2000;283(16):2152-2157.