Research & Clinical Practitioner
CancerChatCanada:  
Online support for family and friends of cancer patients


Disclaimer: Joanne Stephen is the former program leader of Cancer Chat Canada.


Family caregivers provide valuable logistical, informational and emotional support for cancer patients. Reliance on family caregiving in Canada is expected to grow. Family and friends who care for a cancer patient can experience high levels of distress, anxiety and depression:

  • in some cases the level of emotional suffering can meet or exceed those of the patient (Grunfeld, Coyle et al. 2004);
  • often the psychosocial needs of caregivers go unmet (Janda, Steginga et al. 2008);
  • caregivers living in remote rural areas have identified needing the most help with fear, which is related to physical deterioration of the patient, cancer recurrence, and uncertainties about the future (Clavarino, Lowe et al. 2002).


CancerChatCanada is a pilot program offering counsellor-facilitated, synchronous online (ie., chat) support groups for family members caring for cancer patients in rural and metropolitan areas throughout Canada. It is a grant-funded program with a research arm focused on learning the best ways to provide online support to this population, which has specific needs and limited time and resources. Findings are just beginning to emerge, and are reported briefly here.
 

Caregivers' perspectives

To date, 44 caregivers have taken part in the CancerChatCanada program.  Twenty-two post-group interviews have been conducted with the caregivers. They clearly indicate that caregivers are looking for this form of support.

Caregivers are mostly caring for a palliative patient and are predominantly female, although male caregivers (29%) have participated also. Caregivers are usually caring for a spouse (66%) or a parent (19%). Those who have participated tend to be relatively young, with an average age of 51 years, and nearly 30% live outside of large metropolitan areas where face-to-face peer support for caregivers is rare.

Most caregivers perceive the groups as valuable and meeting their support needs. The majority expressed high satisfaction with the technology, which was considered easy to use. They expressed appreciation for the counsellor-facilitator and also felt their expectations for group support were met. This is reflected in the average group participation rate of 80%. There were caregivers who continued to participate in the group even when they were traveling and even when their situations improved, in order to give support to the more distressed members of the group. The two primary reasons given by caregivers for leaving the online group were bereavement or illness recurrence (10%) and scheduling difficulties (10%).
 

How the program works

People are referred to the program by medical professionals or self-referred if they learned about the program from others, the web, or through printed posters and postcards. Groups are held with between 5-7 members and a counsellor. Through telephone contact by the national office they are provided with information about the online support groups and the research aspects of the program. A brief assessment of the person's suitability and availability for online support is conducted. Those expressing interest in the program are asked to provide informed consent and then complete an online enrolment assessment. Participants are given an online group assignment and log-in ID. They are then asked to complete a short (7-minute) questionnaire online before beginning their support group meetings. After 10 weeks, when the group is completed, the participant takes another brief follow-up survey and may be asked to participate in a telephone interview with a member of the research team.
 

Group interaction

Caregivers are able to discuss important concerns, give and receive encouragement and support, and express feelings. There are no assigned topics for each chat session. Instead, the themes for the discussions arise from what the caregivers are experiencing. Topics frequently discussed in these groups include the emotional role burden of the caregiver, the pain of watching a loved one deteriorate, the transitions from home to hospice and back, practical issues such as wills and funerals. Members also express difficult feelings such as anger and guilt and grief. This aspect of the groups is particularly valued, as expressed by this participant: "I have friends but others didn't understand what I was going through ... it was nice to be able to say 'this is happening, what do I do?'. Strong kinship was there -  we were all in pain together."

Post-group interviews reveal that a large majority of participants feel safe to share important feelings and discuss their most pressing concerns with the group. Comments such as "this group has been a blessing" and "it's been an immense help to me" are frequent and demonstrate that caregivers are finding this type of support valuable. During the chat sessions, caregivers often express that being able to see others' ups and downs and how others cope helps them gain confidence and feel better prepared to deal with their own challenges. They encourage each other to take respite time. As another member expressed, "This is the only place where we get acknowledged for what we go through as caregivers."
 

Counsellor role and anonymity

Interviews have revealed that the anonymity and privacy of online support, and the presence of a counsellor as facilitator, are of great value, and vital for satisfaction. They provide a sense of emotional safety for the participants that allows them to speak more freely than if they were in a face-to-face group. Being able to express difficult thoughts and feelings openly, or to cry online without being observed was described as very helpful by nearly everyone who was interviewed.

The counsellor was seen to have helped deepen and focus the online discussion in a variety of ways:
summarizing the group's comments which are frequently typed in parallel;

  • summarizing the group's comments, which are frequently typed in parallel;
  • bringing the group together around commonalities that reduced feelings of loneliness;
  • checking-in with people who have not typed much to draw them into the group; reframing the ideas and difficult events that are being discussed, and validating and normalizing difficult feelings.

Participants valued the counsellors knowledge and presence, as described by this member: "we needed her she kept us calm, could help with perspective, she was able to help us take a step back and listen not just vent."
 

Conclusion

Family members caring for loved one for whom a cure is not possible, typically experience a high level of emotional strain and many practical and informational challenges. High-quality support groups provide comfort and relief as well as valuable information, but such groups are often not available or accessible. Our experience to date reassures us that counsellor-facilitated online support groups can meet this need, and provide a welcome resource for Canadians. The program and research will continue with support from the Canadian Partnership Against Cancer until 2012, and our hope is that it will continue long after that date.



References

Clavarino, A. M., J. B. Lowe, et al. (2002). "The needs of cancer patients and their families from rural and remote areas of Queensland." Aust J Rural Health 10(4): 188-95.
 
Girgis, A. and S. Lambert (2009). "Caregivers of cancer survivors: the state of field." Cancer Forum 33(3): 168-171.
 
Grunfeld, E., D. Coyle, et al. (2004). "Family caregiver burden: results of a longitudinal study of breast cancer patients and their principal caregivers." Cmaj 170(12): 1795-801.
 
Janda, M., S. Steginga, et al. (2008). "Unmet supportive care needs and interest in services among patients with a brain tumour and their carers." Patient Educ Couns 71(2): 251-8.

Clinicienne-Chercheure 
BC Cancer Agency
CancerChatCanada: Soutien en ligne pour les parents et amis de patients cancéreux



Les aidants naturels apportent un précieux soutien logistique, informatif et affectif aux patients cancéreux. La dépendance à l’égard des aidants naturels au Canada est appelée à s’accroître. Les parents et amis qui s’occupent d’un patient cancéreux éprouvent parfois des niveaux élevés de détresse, d’angoisse et de dépression :

  • Dans certains cas, le niveau de souffrance affective rattrape ou dépasse celui du patient (Grunfeld, Coyle, et coll. 2004);
  • Souvent, les besoins psychologiques des aidants naturels ne sont pas satisfaits (Janda, Steginga, et coll. 2008);
  • Les aidants naturels qui vivent en région éloignée disent avoir surtout besoin d’aide pour surmonter la peur, qui est reliée à la détérioration physique du patient, à la récurrence du cancer et à l’incertitude par rapport à l’avenir (Clavarino, Lowe, et coll. 2002).

CancerChatCanada est un programme expérimental qui permet aux aidants naturels qui s’occupent d’un patient cancéreux dans une région rurale ou urbaine du Canada d’avoir accès à des groupes de soutien en ligne (par clavardage) animés par un conseiller. Il s’agit d’un programme subventionné assorti d’un volet recherche visant à découvrir les meilleurs façons d’offrir du soutien en ligne à ces personnes qui ont des besoins particuliers et dont le temps et les moyens sont limités. Les résultats commencent tout juste à apparaître, et le texte qui suit en fait une brève présentation.

Perspectives des aidants naturels

À ce jour, 44 aidants naturels ont participé au programme CancerChatCanada. Vingt-deux entrevues de suivi ont été menées auprès des aidants naturels. Il ne fait aucun doute que les aidants naturels recherchent cette forme de soutien.

Les aidants naturels s’occupent pour la plupart d’un patient en soins palliatifs et sont surtout des femmes, mais quelques aidants masculins (29 %) ont participé également. Les aidants naturels s’occupent habituellement d’un conjoint (66 %) ou d’un parent (19 %). Ceux qui ont participé sont généralement assez jeunes (âge moyen de 51 ans), et près de 30 % vivent en dehors des grandes villes, où les aidants naturels ont du mal à trouver des groupes de soutien face à face.

La plupart des aidants naturels jugent que la formule du groupe de soutien est utile et répond à leurs besoins. La majorité se disent très satisfaits de la technologie et la trouvent conviviale. Les participants ont témoigné de leur appréciation pour le conseiller-animateur et estiment aussi que leurs attentes à l’égard du groupe de soutien ont été satisfaites. À 80 %, le taux moyen de participation au groupe est éloquent. Certains aidants naturels continuaient de participer au groupe même lorsqu’ils étaient sur la route et même après l’amélioration de leur situation pour apporter leur soutien aux membres plus affligés du groupe. Les deux principales raisons invoquées par les aidants naturels qui ont quitté le groupe de soutien en ligne sont le deuil ou la récurrence de la maladie (10 %) et les conflits d’horaire (10 %).

Fonctionnement du programme

Les participants sont orientés vers le programme par des professionnels de la santé ou viennent d’eux-mêmes après en avoir découvert l’existence par l’entremise d’autres personnes, d’Internet, d’une affiche ou d’une carte-postale. Les groupes sont formés de 5 à 7 membres et d’un conseiller. Le bureau national communique d’abord avec les personnes pour les renseigner sur les groupes de soutien en ligne et le volet recherche du programme. On évalue sommairement si la formule leur convient et on vérifie leur disponibilité. Les personnes qui se montrent intéressées sont invitées à fournir leur consentement éclairé puis à se prêter à une évaluation en ligne. Les participants sont assignés à un groupe en ligne et reçoivent un nom d’utilisateur. On leur demande ensuite de remplir un bref (7 minutes) questionnaire en ligne avant de commencer à participer aux séances de leur groupe de soutien. Au bout de dix semaines, les activités du groupe prennent fin, et les membres sont invités à remplir un autre bref questionnaire de suivi. Certains sont invités à participer à une entrevue téléphonique avec un membre de l’équipe de recherche.

Dynamique de groupe

Les aidants naturels peuvent discuter de leurs inquiétudes, donner et recevoir de l’encouragement et du soutien, et exprimer leurs sentiments. Le sujet de chaque séance de clavardage n’est pas prédéterminé. Les discussions tournent plutôt autour de ce que les aidants naturels vivent. Les sujets qui se discutent le plus souvent dans ces groupes sont la charge émotive assumée par l’aidant naturel, la douleur d’assister à la détérioration d’un être cher, le passage du domicile à la maison de soins palliatifs et le retour à domicile, et autres sujets pratico-pratiques comme les testaments et les funérailles. Les participants expriment aussi des sentiments pénibles comme la colère, la culpabilité et le chagrin. Cet aspect des groupes de discussion est particulièrement apprécié, comme le souligne ce participant : « De l’extérieur, mes amis ne comprenaient pas ce que je vivais […] c’était bien de pouvoir dire “voici ce qui m’arrive; qu’est-ce que je fais?”. Il y avait une profonde solidarité entre nous; on souffrait tous ensemble. »
 
Les entrevues de suivi révèlent qu’une grande majorité de participants ne craignent pas de partager leurs sentiments les plus intenses et de discuter de leurs inquiétudes les plus vives avec le groupe. Des commentaires comme « ce groupe est un cadeau du ciel » et « ça m’a rendu grand service » reviennent souvent et montrent que les aidants naturels jugent que cette forme de soutien leur est utile. Durant les séances de clavardage, les aidants naturels disent souvent que le fait d’entendre les autres parler de leurs hauts et de leurs bas et de comment ils se débrouillent les aide à gagner de l’assurance et à se sentir mieux outillés pour faire face à leur propre réalité. Ils s’encouragent les uns les autres à s’accorder des moments de répit. Aux dires d’un participant : « C’est le seul endroit où on se fait reconnaître pour ce qu’on vit comme aidants naturels. »

Rôle du conseiller et anonymat

Les entrevues révèlent que le caractère anonyme et confidentiel du soutien en ligne ainsi que la présence du conseiller-animateur sont des éléments importants et essentiels à leur satisfaction. Ils procurent un sentiment de sécurité émotionnelle aux participants qui leur permet de s’exprimer plus librement que s’ils étaient dans un groupe face à face. Presque tous les participants interviewés ont qualifié de très soulageant le fait de pouvoir exprimer ouvertement des pensées et des sentiments douloureux ou de pleurer en ligne à l’abri des regards.

Les participants estiment que l’intervention du conseiller permet d’approfondir et d’orienter les conversations de diverses manières :

  • en résumant les commentaires du groupe qui sont fréquemment tapés en parallèle;
  • en amenant les participants à discuter de sujets d’intérêt commun pour que personne ne se sente isolé;
  • en intervenant auprès des participants moins actifs pour les ramener dans le groupe;
  • en remettant en perspective les idées et les situations difficiles mentionnées par les participants et en leur rappelant qu’il est normal d’éprouver des sentiments douloureux.


Les participants ont apprécié l’expertise et la présence des conseillers, comme le montre ce témoignage : « nous avions besoin d’elle pour garder notre calme et mettre les choses en perspective; elle était capable de nous aider à prendre du recul et à écouter au lieu de simplement évacuer. »

Conclusion

Les personnes qui s’occupent d’un membre de leur famille atteint d’une maladie incurable sont généralement soumises à de fortes pressions psychologiques et ont de grands besoins d’information. Le fait d’avoir accès à un bon groupe de soutien permet de trouver du réconfort et de l’aide et d’obtenir des informations utiles, mais il n’est pas toujours possible d’avoir accès à de tels groupes. Notre expérience à ce jour nous confirme que la formule des groupes de soutien en ligne animés par un conseiller permet de répondre à ce besoin et d’offrir un service utile à la population canadienne. Le Partenariat canadien contre le cancer finance le programme et les recherches jusqu’en 2012, et nous espérons que le programme se poursuivra encore longtemps après cette date.



References

Clavarino, A. M., J. B. Lowe, et al. (2002). "The needs of cancer patients and their families from rural and remote areas of Queensland." Aust J Rural Health 10(4): 188-95.
 
Girgis, A. and S. Lambert (2009). "Caregivers of cancer survivors: the state of field." Cancer Forum 33(3): 168-171.
 
Grunfeld, E., D. Coyle, et al. (2004). "Family caregiver burden: results of a longitudinal study of breast cancer patients and their principal caregivers." Cmaj 170(12): 1795-801.
 
Janda, M., S. Steginga, et al. (2008). "Unmet supportive care needs and interest in services among patients with a brain tumour and their carers." Patient Educ Couns 71(2): 251-8.