Emeritus Affiliations: Victoria Hospice, Centre on Aging, University of Victoria
Dancing on the Edge: The Value of Maintaining Therapeutic Boundaries in Palliative Care

Observing boundaries need not remove warmth. Boundaries do not
mean ‘detached neutrality,’ boundaries need to be about passionate,
but trustworthy engagement. Enmeshment/friendship at one end of the
spectrum or 'power-over' professional hierarchy [at the other end] do
not define the full range of appropriate relationships.
- Miriam Greenspan

While the image of the family dance is not new, it reminds us of the importance of paying attention to boundaries as we work with people who are vulnerable and dependent upon us for care. In fact it is often the degree of attention paid to maintaining healthy boundaries that distinguishes a ’helping’ relationship from a ‘harmful’ one and having a conscious awareness of 'where we stand' in relationship to patients and families is a crucial issue in providing ethical care. The image of a family dance floor with a definable edge allows us to envision and explore this kind of awareness, enabling us to work with clarity and integrity without cutting off our feeling selves. When we pay attention to and respect the value of boundaries, we can experience the satisfaction that comes with achieving a heart/mind balance, which in turn allows us to feel deeply, while still thinking clearly and acting wisely.

 

Therapeutic distance and the risks of caring too much

When we work from a ' therapeutic distance', we understand that even though individual and family dances may be similar to ours, they are at the same time, separate and unique. From this place, although we may become intimately involved with patients, clients, or family members as they dance their last dance together and may at times even 'feel like family', we understand that this is different from 'being family'. When we care too much, we lose this valuable perspective and may find ourselves playing the role of the 'good daughter' or 'good son', the 'soul mate' or 'one true friend', blurring the lines between our needs and expectations and those of the person(s) in our care.

In this process, what we fail to acknowledge is that while the family may gain another 'dancer', they also lose a caregiver who can hold the big picture...a perspective that family members who are out there in the middle of the dance floor themselves cannot hold. They also lose someone who can bring a degree of objectivity to a difficult decision making process, as well as a compassionate witness who  will not complicate their family dance, however lonely or clumsy it may be, with their own steps.  A leading cause of moral distress and disenfranchised grief among health care workers is boundary confusion which may manifest itself in a health care worker accusing colleagues of 'not caring as much as they do, ' or conversely, being shocked and saddened when they are not invited to a 'private' family funeral.

Maintaining a therapeutic distance is about being able to clearly identify and articulate the nature of our relationship with patients and families and how that relationship benefits them. In health care, we as caregivers enter the relationship with the patient or client for the purpose of caring for them and meeting their needs, and therefore, our needs must be secondary. This means that we have an obligation to always act in the patient’s best interest by not creating situations in which our own unmet needs or wishes (what I would do in the same situation, or what a good death would look like for me, for example) become the primary focus of the relationship. This does not mean that we should ignore our needs. In fact it is quite the opposite. It means that we have an obligation to do our work with a conscious awareness of our own needs, taking responsibility to have them met outside of the caregiver-patient relationship.

 

Signs that we are on the dance floor

While it is important to acknowledge that crossing boundaries goes with the territory of where we have chosen to work, meaning that we have all 'been there and done that', there are three signs that can let us know when we are 'on the dance floor,' intentionally or unintentionally, so that we can exit via the  'backward shuffle'!

1) Extremes of emotional responses are often indicators that something about the situation or the people in it is resonating with something important, perhaps even unresolved on our own dance floor. The emphasis here is on an extreme, visceral reaction that may even catch us by surprise, not the appropriate, shared grief that we may at times experience in the course of our work. When we have such a strong reaction, we need to ask, 'what is this about?' and 'who is this about? in the context of my dance?”

2) When we use language or engage in actions that imply ownership of patients, this may be another indicator that a line has been crossed.  An unwillingness to share 'my patients'  with other members of the palliative care team or calling in to check on 'my resident' on days off are often examples of  inappropriate feelings of indispensability and ownership and may also demonstrate a lack of trust in our colleagues' ability to care for someone with whom we have formed a close relationship.

3) Needing to control a patient or family's decisions about care or treatment, putting pressure on them to behave in a certain way, or insisting that they accomplish certain things before death are all examples of an inappropriate use of power and influence that generally reflect a belief or value that may be appropriate on our dance floor, but is not appropriate on theirs.

 

Conclusion

'Bounded intimacy' is a phrase that describes quite beautifully the tension between the intimacy and shared humanity that so often characterize relationships in our work, and the 'edge' that protects the uniqueness that belongs to each of us, even in death. Therapeutic boundaries protect the integrity of the family dance while also protecting us from the stress of over-involvement.

However, this may not be as easy as it sounds!  The edge of most family dance floors is fluid and often hard to find, much less stand on. It also takes energy and a personal dance that is nurturing and supportive in order to effectively maintain the heart/mind balance in the midst of grief work. And finally, we must be willing to engage in ongoing self-reflection and collaboration with our colleagues in order to have the clarity that is required to do this important and deeply personal work with integrity and ethical accountability.



References

Causton, E. (online course).“ Maintaining Therapeutic Boundaries: Avoiding the Stress of Over-involvement with Patients and Families” www.LDMonline.ca

Nasrallah, Sandra, M.D., Maytal, Guy, M.D., and Skarf, Laura,M.D., Patient-Physician Boundaries in Palliative Care Training: A Case Study and Discussion. Journal of Palliative Medicine: 12(12) 2009: 1159-1162

Remen,R. (1996) Kitchen Table Wisdom. New York: Riverhead Books.

Santorelli, S.(1999) Heal Thyself. New York: Belltower Books.

Victoria Hospice Society (2003) Transitions in Dying and Bereavement. Baltimore: Health Professions Press.

Affiliations antérieures: Victoria Hospice University of Victoria Centre on Aging
Savoir sur quel pied danser ou l’importance de la distance soignant-soigné en soins palliatifs

On peut garder ses distances tout en restant chaleureux. Garder
ses distances, ce n’est pas être neutre. C’est s’engager de
manière dévouée et fiable. L’amitié, voire l’enchevêtrement des
relations, et le froid pouvoir de la hiérarchie sont les extrémités
d’un spectre de relations qui ne suffisent pas à définir toute la
gamme des valeurs intermédiaires plus appropriées.
- Miriam Greenspan

La métaphore de la danse n’est pas nouvelle, mais elle reste utile pour rappeler l’importance de garder nos distances auprès de personnes vulnérables qui dépendent de nos soins. De fait, c’est souvent ce respect d’une saine distance qui distingue une relation d’aide d’une relation nuisible. La conscience de notre position vis-à-vis des patients et des familles facilitera le respect de la déontologie. L’image d’une piste de danse bien délimitée aide à visualiser le tout et à travailler de manière intègre et sans équivoque sans pour autant faire abstraction de nos sentiments. La conscience et le respect de cette distance importante préservent un équilibre satisfaisant entre le cœur et l’esprit et permettent de vivre des émotions en commun sans cesser de penser clairement ou d’agir judicieusement.

 

La distance soignant-soigné et le risque de trop s’investir émotivement

En restant à bonne distance, nous voyons plus clairement que malgré des pas similaires, chaque personne, chaque famille, danse une danse unique. Participer à l’atmosphère familiale, ce n’est pas la même chose qu’« être de la famille », malgré un certain degré d’intimité partagé avec les patients, les clients ou les membres de la famille qui exécutent leur dernière danse. À trop nous investir émotivement, nous risquons de perdre le sens de la perspective et de nous retrouver dans le rôle de la bonne fille ou du bon fils, de l’âme sœur ou de l’ami véritable, brouillant la distinction entre nos besoins et nos attentes et celles des personnes qui sont sous nos soins.

C’est oublier du reste qu’en gagnant un nouveau danseur, les membres de la famille perdent un prestataire de soins capable de voir le portrait d’ensemble sous un angle qui leur est inaccessible depuis le centre de la piste et capable de prendre avec objectivité des décisions difficiles. Ils y perdent en outre un témoin compatissant qui ne compliquera pas par ses pas de professionnel leur danse particulière, peu importe qu’elle soit malhabile. Le brouillage des limites est, par ailleurs, l’une des principales causes de souffrance morale et d’un deuil paralysant parmi les travailleurs de la santé. Certains en viennent même à accuser leurs collègues de « ne pas se soucier des patients autant qu’eux » ou s’attristent ou se fâchent de ne pas être invités aux funérailles privées

Respecter la distance soignant-soigné, c’est être capable de reconnaître et d’exprimer la nature de la relation avec les patients et leur famille et les avantages de cette relation pour ces derniers. Notre relation avec le patient ou le client a essentiellement pour but de lui assurer des soins et de répondre à ses besoins. Nos propres besoins sont secondaires. Nous sommes tenus d’agir dans l’intérêt du patient et d’éviter que nos propres besoins insatisfaits ou nos souhaits (ce que je ferais en pareil cas ou ce que serait une belle mort pour moi) deviennent le but premier de la relation. Il ne faut pas pour autant faire abstraction de nos besoins; il nous faut au contraire en être conscients pour arriver à les satisfaire hors de la relation soignant–patient.

 

Sommes-nous entrés dans la danse?

Bien que nous franchissions forcément les limites étant donné le territoire où nous avons choisi de travailler – ne sommes-nous pas tous « passés par là »? – trois indices nous aideront à comprendre que nous sommes, intentionnellement ou non, montés sur la piste de danse et qu’il est temps d’en sortir d’un habile shuffle arrière.

1. Une réaction émotive extrême est souvent signe que la situation ou ses protagonistes font vibrer une corde sensible, ou évoquent un pas mal maîtrisé dans notre propre danse. Il n’est pas question ici du chagrin partagé et approprié que nous éprouvons parfois au travail, mais bien d’une réaction viscérale extrême qui pourrait nous prendre par surprise. Le cas échéant, il faut cerner cet élément issu de notre contexte personnel.

2. Des mots ou des gestes dénotant la possession d’un patient sont également signes qu’une limite a été franchie. Le refus de partager « ses patients » avec les autres membres de l’équipe de soins palliatifs ou le fait d’appeler pour s’enquérir de « son pensionnaire » un jour de congé témoignent de l’impression exagérée d’être indispensable, d’un sentiment de propriété malsain à l’égard du patient ou d’une méfiance à l’égard de la capacité des collègues de prendre soin d’une personne avec laquelle nous avons établi une relation étroite.

3. Le besoin d’orienter les décisions d’un patient ou de sa famille à l’égard des soins ou des traitements et de les presser d’agir d’une certaine façon ou d’accomplir certaines choses avant que la mort ne survienne sont autant de signes d’une influence ou d’un pouvoir abusifs qui reflètent une conviction ou une valeur qui a peut-être tout à fait sa place sur notre piste de danse, mais pas sur la leur.

 

Conclusion

Une « intimité circonscrite ». Voilà qui exprime fort bien cette tension entre l’intimité et l’humanité partagée qui caractérisent si souvent les relations établies au travail et cette « marge » qui protège l’unicité de chacun d’entre nous, même dans la mort. La distance soignant-soigné préserve l’intégrité de la danse familiale et nous protège du stress du surinvestissement personnel.

Bien sûr, dans les faits, ce n’est pas si simple. Il est souvent difficile de distinguer la ligne qui délimite la piste de danse d’une famille et donc très facile de la franchir involontairement. Sans compter qu’il faut une grande énergie et une danse personnelle qui soit un bon exutoire pour arriver à maintenir l’équilibre entre cœur et raison au milieu du deuil. Enfin, il faut être prêt à se livrer sans cesse à l’autoréflexion et à collaborer avec les collègues pour entretenir la clarté indispensable à ce travail d’importance, profondément personnel, d’intégrité et de responsabilité éthique.



Références

Causton, E. (cours en ligne). « Maintaining Therapeutic Boundaries: Avoiding the Stress of Over-involvement with Patients and Families ». www.LDMonline.ca

Nasrallah, Sandra, M.D., Maytal, Guy, M.D., and Skarf, Laura,M.D., « Patient-Physician Boundaries in Palliative Care Training: A Case Study and Discussion », Journal of Palliative Medicine 2(12) 2009: 1159-1162

Remen,R. (1996) Kitchen Table Wisdom. New York: Riverhead Books.

Santorelli, S. (1999) Heal Thyself. New York: Belltower Books.

Victoria Hospice Society (2003) Transitions in Dying and Bereavement. Baltimore: Health Professions Press.