Unit Clinical Leader/ER Chatham-Kent Health Alliance Coordinator of Foundations in Parish Nursing
Mindfulness and Reflective Practice: Enriching personal and professional growth

Accompanying the dying and their loved ones is a humbling journey which challenges us to explore the true nature of the caring relationship. We tend to think of health care as providing a service in order to bring about a change or a cure, but the word ‘care’ finds its roots in the Latin word kara, or lamentto grieve, to experience sorrow, to cry out with. From this perspective, care encourages us to meet others in their pain before journeying together towards their healing and wholeness.

Care partnering and transformation

True caring is actually a partnership where one person reveals their pain, brokenness and vulnerability to another. Through a relationship of trust they work together towards healing and wholeness. Using the word ‘caregiver’ can unintentionally foster an attitude of power of the strong towards the weak; “Let me take care of you. I have some area of expertise to offer that you need.”  

A more appropriate term might be ‘care partner’. (O’Rourke and Dufour, p39) Understanding ourselves as care partners helps us to realize that some form of healing and transformation takes place in everyone involved. “For too long care has been conceived of as either practitioner-centered or patient-centered. In actuality, the healing relationship has always been a crucible for mutual transformation.” (Santorelli) 

Wounded healers and self-awareness

As a care partner we bring our knowledge and skills as well as our entire psycho/social/spiritual selves into each situation, whether we are conscious of it or not. Our beliefs, our experiences, our own grief/loss history, all play a part in how we interact with others. Professionally, we understand that being at the bedside is not the time for us to do our own inner work of exploring these areas, since our role is to help the patient explore their wishes, values, pain, grief, etc. Yet, to be effective in assisting someone else to explore these questions, we must be self-aware and in touch with our own biases and feelings. Self-awareness is fostered through taking time for quiet reflection and building in regular self-reflective practice.

Mindfulness, Rest and Solitude

“Mindfulness, the core of everything that we do in being with dying, is a practice of giving deep attention to what is happening in the present moment – what is happening in the mind and body of the observer and also what is going on in our surroundings. We might practice being mindful of the body, the breath, or the experience of physical change (including sickness and pain). We can also experience being mindful of our responses – the feelings that arise in reaction to pleasure or discomfort – and watching them arise and disappear. Trust and patience combined with openness and acceptance – qualities nurtured by mindfulness practice – enable us to sustain ourselves in being with dying.” (Halifax, p11)

Emerging research has pointed to the positive physical and psychological benefits of mindfulness practices for cancer patients, caregivers and healthcare professionals. (Bauer-Wu). Mindfulness-Based Stress Reduction, (MSBR) initiated at the University of Massachusetts Medical Center by Jon Kabat-Zinn and extensive research done internationally by others in this field has repeatedly shown the positive affects on quality of life and biological outcomes in many different populations.  

Mindfulness is fostered in disciplines such as meditation and contemplative prayer, as well as regularly coming to quiet. Our society is so fast paced, that we seldom take time to be still. Every living thing needs time for solitude and rest in order to rejuvenate and refresh. Seeds must lie dormant before they bear fruit. This respite, filled with the necessities of nutrition and fertility, is crucial for survival. Coming to quiet for a period of time, where we keep distractions to a minimum and give ourselves time to truly rest and process, is not simply a convenience but a biological, spiritual and psychological necessity. 

Wisdom traditions have taught that regular solitude and reflection can help us experience more inner peace, less anxiety and an increase in our ability to bring clarity to situations. The Jewish tradition encourages Sabbath – “to set aside a sanctuary in time, disconnect from the frenzy of consumption and accomplishment, and consecrate the day as an offering for healing all beings. There is a Taoist saying: “To the mind that is still, the world surrenders.” Sabbath mind is a mind that can be still, a mind that can rest in delight. A day of rest, a moment of prayer, a time of meditation, these disrupt the pattern of desperation that infects our thinking, and allow us to be able to see the healing that is already present in the problem.” (Muller, p168). 

Regular periods of stillness and silence can remind us that much of the healing people will experience at end-of-life comes from our simply being present – without saying or doing anything – a hand held, a shoulder to lean on, or a listening ear. 

“I’ve learned that people will forget what you said, people will forget what you did, but people will never forget how you made them feel.”( Maya Angelou)

Self-Reflection  

Ongoing self-reflection enhances both personal and professional growth. Our professional organizations understand this and invite us to engage in self-reflective practice in order to identify our strengths and chart our goals and learning needs. Deepening our self-awareness will assist our therapeutic encounters as well as our day to day lives and relationships.

One way to establish regular reflective practice is through writing or journaling. Being honest with ourselves and exploring our thoughts, feelings and experiences can be daunting but also enlightening. (See O’Rourke and Dufour,pgs. 19-21 for more about journaling) You might begin by posing questions such as:

  • What are my character strengths? My professional strengths?
  • What is fulfilling about working in hospice palliative care?
  • What is difficult about working in hospice palliative care?
  • What do I give to others? (my family, friends, colleagues, patients…)
  • What have I received from others? How has it changed me?

Self-Care

Carrying the burdens of others and not addressing stressors by establishing good patterns of self-care can affect functioning and wellness, leading to compassion fatigue and eventually burnout. Boredom, anger, fatigue, loss of enjoyment, low motivation, impaired sleep and self-medicating are some of the indicators for these conditions. Self-care is a moral imperative which many people in caring professions erroneously put at the bottom of their ‘to do’ lists. If we do not take care of ourselves and nourish our body, mind and spirit, we will have nothing to give others, since we cannot give what we do not have.   

Self-care is not an add-on to an already busy schedule, but is something to be built into a daily routine. Some strategies may include:

  • Rising early to build in a few minutes of quiet time
  • Ongoing self-reflection
  • Spending time surrounded by nature
  • Enjoying relaxing activities such as gardening, music, art, napping!
  • Being attentive to diet, exercise and adequate sleep
  • Attending to emotional, physical and spiritual needs
  • Learning to say ‘NO’; knowing our limits
  • Spending quality time with family and friends
  • Sharing stresses with a confidante
  • Maintaining balance in work/play/rest

Summary

During some recent days of renewal I facilitated with area palliative resource teams, many marveled at what one half hour of silence could do to their mind and spirit. Something as simple as a silent ‘Sabbath Walk’ (Muller, p70) gave them insight into how easy yet profound these practices can be. 

Exercising mindfulness and building in regular self-reflection and solitude are important steps in fostering self-awareness and self-care, enriching our lives, and enhancing our personal and professional growth.

“Ultimately, we have just one moral duty: to reclaim large areas of peace in ourselves, more and more peace and to reflect it towards others. And the more peace there is in us, the more peace there will also be in our troubled world.” (Etty Hillisum)



References

Bauer-Wu, Susan; Mindfulness Meditation. ONCOLOGY Journal found on www.cancernetwork.com. (ONCOLOGY Nurse Edition, Vol. 24, No. 10, October 19, 2010)

Halifax, Joan. Being with Dying: Cultivating Compassion and Fearlessness in the Presence of Death. Shambhala Press, 2008

Muller, Wayne; Sabbath: Finding Rest, Renewal and Delight in Our Busy Lives. Bantam, 1999. Also from the same author, A Life of Being, Having and Doing Enough, Harmony Books, 2010)

O’Rourke, Michelle and Dufour, Eugene; Embracing the End of Life: Help for Those Who Accompany the Dying. Novalis, 2012

Santorelli, Saki; Heal Thy Self: Lessons on Mindfulness in Medicine. Three Rivers Press, 2000

Unit Clinical Leader/ER Chatham-Kent Health Alliance Coordinator of Foundations in Parish Nursing
Pleine conscience et introspection : favoriser son épanouissement personnel et professionnel

L’accompagnement d’un mourant et de sa famille est une leçon d’humilité. L’expérience nous impose en effet de sonder la véritable nature de la relation de soins. Qui ne voit pas les soins de santé comme un service garant d’un changement ou de la guérison? Or, le mot care, équivalent anglais de « soin », vient du latin kara, soit « regretter » ou « éprouver du chagrin, de la peine; pleurer avec ». Considérés dans cette optique,les soins encouragent à la rencontre de l’autre, dans sa souffrance, avant le cheminement, en sa compagnie, vers sa guérison et sa totalité. 

Partenaire des soins et transformation

De fait, la prestation des soins est un véritable partenariat dans le cadre duquel une personne révèle à l’autre sa souffrance, ses fêlures et sa vulnérabilité. Dans une relation de confiance, les deux partenaires collaborent à la guérison et au recouvrement de la totalité. Les mots « fournisseur de soins », « soignant » ou caregiver donnent l’impression d’un pouvoir de celui qui est fort sur celui qui est faible : « Laisse-moi prendre soin de toi. J’ai une spécialité dont tu as besoin. »  

Le terme « partenaire des soins » (O’Rourke et Dufour, p. 39) paraît plus approprié. Voir la relation comme un partenariat de soins : voilà qui aide à comprendre que chacun en tire une forme de guérison et de transformation. « Depuis trop longtemps, les soins sont conçus comme un processus centré sur le praticien ou sur le patient. Dans les faits, la relation de guérison est toujours le creuset d’une transformation mutuelle [traduction] » (Santorelli). 

La conscience de soi pour guérisseurs blessés

Notre apport, conscient ou non, au partenariat de soins, c’est l’ensemble de nos connaissances, de nos compétences et de l’intégralité de notre personnalité psycho-socio-spirituelle, consciemment ou non. Nos convictions, notre expérience, nos propres pertes et deuils sous-tendent notre manière d’interagir. Étant professionnels, nous savons qu’il ne convient pas d’explorer intérieurement cette question au chevet du patient, notre rôle étant plutôt de l’aider à sonder ses propres souhaits, ses valeurs, sa souffrance, sa peine, etc. Pourtant, nous ne saurions l’y aider efficacement sans être nous-mêmes conscients de ce que nous sommes, et proches de nos propres émotions et partis pris. Or, pour parvenir à cette conscience, il faut prendre le temps de réfléchir paisiblement et s’exercer régulièrement à l’introspection.

Pleine conscience, calme et solitude

« La pleine conscience est le cœur de tout ce qu’on fait devant la mort. C’est le fait de prêter une attention intense à ce qui se passe dans le moment présent : ce qui se passe dans son esprit et son corps, mais aussi ce qui se passe autour de soi. On peut par exemple s’exercer à être pleinement conscient de son corps, de sa respiration ou de l’expérience d’une transformation physique (y compris la maladie et la douleur). On peut aussi s’exercer à être pleinement conscient de ses réactions, c’est-à-dire des émotions que génèrent le plaisir ou le malaise, à en observer l’arrivée et la disparition. La confiance et la patience, conjuguées à l’ouverture et à l’acceptation, sont toutes des qualités nourries par l’exercice de la pleine conscience, qui nous soutiennent en présence de la mort [traduction]. » (Halifax, p. 11)

 

La recherche actuelle met en lumière les effets positifs des exercices de pleine conscience sur la santé physique et psychologique des patients atteints d’un cancer, des soignants et des professionnels de la santé (Bauer-Wu). Le programme Mindfulness-Based Stress Reduction (MSBR ou maîtriser le stress par la pleine conscience), instauré au centre médical de l’Université du Massachusetts par Jon Kabat-Zinn, et des études d’autres spécialistes du domaine, dans le monde entier, confirment ces effets sur la qualité de vie et ces résultats biologiques au sein de nombreuses populations différentes.

 

On peut arriver à la pleine conscience par la méditation et la prière contemplative, ou simplement en s’accordant régulièrement une période de calme. Le rythme fou de la société nous empêche souvent de prendre ce temps. Or, tout être vivant a besoin de solitude et de calme pour se ressourcer et récupérer. Même la graine a besoin d’une période de dormance avant de produire un fruit. Ce répit, tout entier consacré à la nutrition et la fertilité, est essentiel à la survie de l’espèce. Revenir au calme pendant un temps, réduire les distractions au minimum et se ménager un réel temps de repos et de régulation, ce n’est pas seulement pratique; c’est un impératif biologique, spirituel et psychologique. 

 

La sagesse et ses traditions enseignent que la solitude et la réflexion périodiques aident à trouver la paix intérieure, à réduire l’anxiété et à augmenter sa capacité de compréhension. La tradition hébraïque, par exemple, encourage à profiter du sabbat « pour aménager un sanctuaire au creux du temps, se dissocier de la frénésie de consommation et de l’accomplissement, et consacrer sa journée, comme une offrande, à la guérison de tous ceux qui souffrent. Selon un adage taoïste, “À un esprit en paix le monde se soumet.” L’esprit du sabbat sait rester calme, se reposer et profiter de ce repos. Repos, prière ou méditation : voilà comment rompre le cycle de désespérance qui nous empêche de réfléchir; voilà comment trouver la solution qui, souvent, existe déjà [traduction]. » (Muller, p. 168)

Le calme et le silence périodiques nous rappellent qu’en fin de vie, la guérison tient pour une grande part à la présence silencieuse et immobile, à la main qui se tend, à l’épaule accueillante et à l’oreille qui écoute. 

J’ai appris que les gens oublient ce que vous dites et ce que vous faites, mais ils n’oublieront jamais s’ils se sont sentis bien ou mal avec vous. (Maya Angelou)

Introspection  

Pratiquée régulièrement, l’introspection favorise l'épanouissement personnel et professionnel. Nos associations professionnelles le comprennent et nous invitent à le faire pour découvrir nos forces, fixer nos objectifs et cerner nos besoins de formation. Le soignant qui a une meilleure conscience de soi a plus de facilité à mener à bien ses rencontres thérapeutiques et ses relations quotidiennes.

L’écriture quotidienne (d’un journal, par exemple) favorise l’introspection. Certes, il est parfois difficile d’être honnête avec soi et d’aller au fond de ses pensées, de ses émotions et de ses expériences, mais c’est aussi très révélateur (voir O’Rourke et Dufour,p. 19-21 sur la tenue d’un journal). Vous pouvez commencer par vous poser ces questions :

  • Quelles sont mes forces de caractère? Mes forces professionnelles?
  • quoi les soins palliatifs me permettent-ils de m’épanouir?
  • En quoi les soins palliatifs sont-ils difficiles?
  • Qu’est-ce que je donne aux autres (famille, amis, collègues, patients, etc.)?
  • Qu’est-ce que j’ai reçu des autres? Comment en ai-je été changé?

Prendre soin de soi

Gare à vous si vous portez le fardeau d’autrui, mais si vous négligez votre propre stress et si vous n’avez pas la saine habitude de prendre soin de vous : votre bien-être et votre travail en seront affectés. Sans compter le risque d’une usure de la compassion et d’un épuisement professionnel. Surveillez les signes indicateurs comme l’ennui, la colère, la fatigue, la perte de jouissance de la vie, la démotivation, les troubles du sommeil, l’automédication, etc. Prendre soin de soi, c’est un impératif moral que de nombreux professionnels de la santé refoulent malheureusement au bas de la liste des choses à faire. Si nous ne prenons pas soin de nous, si nous ne nourrissons pas notre corps, notre esprit et notre moral, nous n’aurons rien à donner : comment donner ce que nous n’avons pas?   

Prendre soin de soi, ce n’est pas un élément à griffonner sur une page d’agenda déjà surchargée, mais un impératif du programme quotidien. D’autant qu’il y a plusieurs formes possibles :

  • Se lever tôt et s’octroyer quelques minutes de paix.
  • S’adonner régulièrement à l’introspection.
  • Passer un peu de temps au cœur de la nature.
  • S’adonner à des activités de détente : jardinage, musique, art, sieste.
  • Surveiller son régime alimentaire, faire de l’exercice, dormir suffisamment.
  • Répondre à ses besoins affectifs, physiques et spirituels.
  • Apprendre à dire non; connaître ses limites.
  • Passer du temps de qualité avec sa famille et ses amis.
  • Parler de son stress à un confident.
  • Maintenir l’équilibre entre le travail, les loisirs et le repos.

Sommaire

Au cours d’un récent atelier de renouvellement, j’ai animé une activité destinée à des équipes de soins palliatifs. Nombre de participants étaient étonnés de ce qu’une heure de silence apportait à leur esprit. Une simple « marche du sabbat » silencieuse (Muller, p. 70) leur a fait comprendre à quel point la méthode est facile et régénératrice. 

S’exercer à la pleine conscience et intégrer l’introspection et la solitude à la démarche sont autant d’étapes nécessaires pour parvenir à la conscience de soi, pour comprendre l’importance de prendre soin de soi, enrichir sa vie et stimuler son épanouissement personnel et professionnel.

En définitive, nous n’avons qu’un devoir moral : celui de reconquérir de vastes étendues de paix en nous-mêmes — de plus en plus de paix — et de la faire rejaillir sur les autres. Plus la paix fera partie de nous, plus elle aura droit de cité dans notre monde agité. (Etty Hillisum)



Bauer-Wu, Susan. « Mindfulness Meditation », Oncology Journal, Nurse Edition, vol. 24, no 10, 19 octobre 2010, consulté à l’adresse www.cancernetwork.com.

Halifax, Joan. Being with Dying: Cultivating Compassion and Fearlessness in the Presence of Death, Shambhala Press, 2008

Muller, Wayne. Sabbath: Finding Rest, Renewal and Delight in Our Busy Lives, Bantam, 1999. Du même auteur : A Life of Being, Having and Doing Enough, Harmony Books, 2010.

O’Rourke, Michelle et Dufour, Eugène. Embracing the End of Life: Help for Those Who Accompany the Dying, Novalis, 2012.

Santorelli, Saki. Heal Thy Self: Lessons on Mindfulness in Medicine, Three Rivers Press, 2000.