Assistant Professor, Family Social Sciences, Faculty of Human Ecology, University of Manitoba; Masters in Applied Psychology; PhD in Sociology and Equity Studies in Education
Palliative Care and Dementia

The author would like to acknowledge that this literature review was part of a larger study conducted in the context of a two year Post Doctoral Health Science Centre Fellowship supervised by Dr. H.M. Chochinov, at the Manitoba Palliative Care Research Unit, Cancercare Manitoba.
 
End-of-life Care and Dementia

Summary 
Given the aging population, and subsequent increase in the prevalence of dementia, increased focus must move towards addressing the quality of life for this population. A palliative care approach to ensure quality end of life addresses the holistic sense of one’s personhood. Further, staff training and environment infrastructure are integral to the overall well-being of the individual with dementia.   
 
Introduction
A growing body of research exists on the topic of people living and/or dying with dementia, although little attention has historically been paid to this demographic. Recent literature acknowledges that two out of three seniors with dementia may be living independently in communities (Hawranik and McKean1). People likely live for many years post-diagnosis, suggesting that living with dementia in this context demands a renewed understanding of “end-of-life”. Care measures must be adapted to suit this long trajectory and the many “healthy” years of independent living with a medical terminal condition.

Dementia and Person Centred Care
A person centered approach to formal care at end-of-life is described by Magai and colleagues2; they suggest that attention be paid to behavioral and non-verbal communications of those dying with dementia. It has been recognized that some people in late stage continue to be expressive in a range of ways which may not be verbal, but which are clearly communicative. Kitwood3, Roger4 and others discuss a person centered approach to care for those living with dementia, including the importance of recognizing their personhood, in addition to the symptoms of the disease. This person centered approach blends well with the primary goals of palliative care, where “being” with a person is as important as “doing” something for them.

Decision Making and End-of-Life
Decisions to withhold or terminate treatment are common clinical dilemmas for professionals and family when patients are dying; it has, therefore, become more common to consider prior documentation of end-of-life care wishes. Moskop5 found, in the competent population, that research participants noted benefits to having an advanced care plan (i.e. pain and symptom management, control, relieve burden). On the other hand, Rich6 argued that health directives are futile as the loss of a personal self and a decisional capacity undercuts any future value a plan may have (e.g. it is not valid to make decisions for an unknown future self). It is however accepted that more communication between professionals, family and people dying with mental health conditions must occur.

Counselling and Spirituality
 The subject of grief emerges in the literature on informal caregiving , yet grief is not discussed from the perspective of a person with dementia. Arehart-Treichel7 suggests that care providers assess the well-being of people with dementia more poorly than the individuals themselves do. This view may limit the types of counselling services made available to people with dementia. With a long trajectory of decline, grief is likely an important aspect of the experience for the person with the diagnosis. Chochinov8 provides a useful intervention that highlights the dignity of the person as part of the dying process, work that could well be applied to this population in the future.

Training the Care Providers
The research suggests that attention to dementia related needs may not always happen effectively, since nursing home residents dying with advanced dementia have not been perceived as having a terminal condition (e.g. dementia was seen as a natural part of aging) (Mitchell et al9). Developing better training and supports for care providers could improve the well-being of those with end-stage dementia.

Primary Settings of Care
Primary settings of care become most important when determining the well-being of the institutionalized individual living with dementia. Briller and associates10 examined the associations between environmental design features of nursing home special care units and the incidence of aggression, agitation, social withdrawal, depression, and psychotic problems among persons living there who had Alzheimer's disease or a related disorder. A decline of negative behaviors and affect was found, for example, when quiet spaces and more privacy were instituted.

Conclusion
Not enough attention has been paid to understanding what this diagnosis means to people living with dementia, or to what extent their end-of-life experience has been shaped by their environments, available care practices, broad based social stigma, and false interpretations regarding pain and suffering. Research and care practices increasingly address these issues to improve the well-being of those living with dementia, a terminal medical condition.



References

  1. Hawranik P, McKean E. The abuse of older people: issues and prevention strategies. In: Ateah C, Mirwaldt J, editors.Within our reach: preventing abuse across the lifespan. Black Point, Nova Scotia: Fernwood Publishing, 2004: 90-123.
  2. Magai C, Cohen CI, Gomberg D. Impact of training dementia caregivers in sensitivity to nonverbal emotional signals. Int Psychogeriatr 2002;14:25-38.
  3. Kitwood T. Dementia reconsidered: the person comes first.Buckingham, England: Open University Press, 1997.
  4. Roger K. It’s a problem for other people, because I am seen as a nuisance: hearing the voices  of people with dementia. Alzheimer’s Care Quarterly 2007;8(1):17-25.
  5. Moskop J. Improving care at end of life: how advance care planning can help. Palliat Support Care 2004;2:191-7. Available by following this link
  6. Rich BA. Personhood, patienthood, and clinical practice: re-assessing advance directives. Psychol Public Policy Law 1998;4(3):610-28.
  7. Arehart-Treichel J. For Alzheimer’s patients, life may be better than caregivers think. Psychiatr News 2004;39:14. Available by following this link 
  8. Chochinov H. Dignity-conserving care — A new model for palliative care: helping the patient feel valued. JAMA 2002;287:2253-60.
  9. Mitchell SL, Kiely DK, Gillick MR. Nursing home characteristics associated with tube feeding in advanced cognitive impairment. J Am Geriatr Soc 2003 Jan;51(1):75-9. Available by following  this link
  10. Briller S, Proffitt M, Perez K, Calkins M, Marsden J. Creating successful dementia care settings. Vol 2. Winnipeg, Manitoba: Health Professions Press, 2001.

Département des sciences sociales de la famille, Faculté de l’écologie humaine, Université du Manitoba; Maîtrise en psychologie appliquée; doctorat en sociologie et études de l’équité en éducation
Les soins terminaux et la démence

L’auteure aimerait souligner que cette revue de la littérature fait partie d’une étude financée par une bourse postdoctorale de deux ans de la Health Sciences Centre Foundation et placée sous la direction du docteur H. M. Chochinov (Unité de recherche en soins palliatifs du Manitoba, CancerCare Manitoba).

Soins terminaux et démence

Résumé
 Avec le vieillissement de la population – et de la prévalence corollaire de la démence –, il y a lieu de s’intéresser davantage à la qualité de vie des patients déments. Axer les soins palliatifs sur la qualité de la fin de vie permet de tenir compte du sens global de l’identité individuelle du patient. La formation du personnel et l’aménagement des lieux de soins sont en outre indispensables au bien-être des patients déments. 
 
Introduction
De plus en plus d’études s’intéressent à la démence chez les personnes atteintes ou mourantes, ce qui n’était guère le cas auparavant. Des études récentes constatent que deux personnes démentes sur trois chez les aînés vivent en autonomie dans leur milieu (Hawranik et McKean1). Ces personnes vivent probablement de nombreuses années après un diagnostic de démence, d’où la nécessité de projeter un regard nouveau sur la fin de la vie. Il y a lieu d’adapter les soins en fonction de cette longue trajectoire et des nombreuses « bonnes » années de vie autonome des malades en phase terminale.

La démence et les soins centrés sur la personne
En matière de soins terminaux, Magai et ses collègues2 proposent une approche centrée sur la personne; ils suggèrent que l’on prête attention à la communication comportementale et non verbale chez les personnes mourantes atteintes de démence. On sait que certains patients en phase terminale continuent de s’exprimer par différents moyens qui ne sont peut-être pas verbaux, mais qui constituent clairement des formes de communication. Kitwood3, Roger4 et d'autres parlent d’une approche centrée sur la personne pour les patients déments et soulignent l’importance de reconnaître leur identité individuelle en plus des symptômes de leur maladie. Cette approche centrée sur la personne cadre bien avec la vision première des soins palliatifs, selon laquelle « être » avec les patients est aussi important que « faire » quelque chose pour eux.

Les décisions entourant la fin de la vie
Les décisions entourant l’arrêt des traitements posent souvent un dilemme clinique pour les professionnels et les proches du mourant; ainsi, il est pratique courante maintenant de s’en remettre à des documents qui établissent les volontés du patient en matière de soins terminaux. Dans une étude auprès de personnes saines d’esprit, Moskop5 a remarqué que la formule du plan de soins établi d’avance (gestion de la douleur et des symptômes, etc.) est avantageuse aux yeux des patients consultés. Pour Rich6, en revanche, ces directives sont inutiles puisque le déclin du patient et de sa capacité décisionnelle enlève toute valeur à un tel plan (autrement dit, il est vain de prendre des décisions sur son avenir ne sachant pas ce qui nous attend). On s’entend toutefois pour dire qu’il y a lieu d’améliorer la communication entre les mourants atteints d’un trouble de santé mentale, leurs proches et les professionnels.

Counselling et spiritualité
 Le thème de l’affliction commence à apparaître dans les études sur les aidants naturels; l’affliction n’est toutefois pas abordée sous l’angle d’une personne atteinte de démence. Arehart-Treichel7 prétend que les soignants évaluent le bien-être des patients déments encore moins bien que les patients eux-mêmes. Cette situation limiterait l’étendue des services de counseling à la disposition des patients déments. Or, l’affliction est vraisemblablement très présente dans le vécu de ces personnes tout au long de leur lent déclin. Chochinov8 propose un modèle d’intervention pratique axé sur la dignité du patient à l’approche de la mort, modèle qui pourrait très bien s’appliquer aux patients déments.

La formation des soignants
La recherche prétend que les besoins des patients déments ne sont peut-être pas toujours adéquatement pris en compte, étant donné que, dans les maisons de soins infirmiers, les résidants à un stade avancé de démence ne sont pas considérés comme des malades en phase terminale, la démence étant vue comme une conséquence naturelle du vieillissement (Mitchell et al9). Il y aurait lieu d’améliorer la formation des soignants et les ressources à leur disposition afin d’améliorer la qualité de vie des patients à un stade avancé de démence.

L’aménagement des lieux de soins
L’aménagement des lieux de soins prend tout son sens lorsqu’il s’agit de la qualité de vie des patients déments institutionnalisés. Briller et ses collègues10 se sont intéressés au rapport entre l’aménagement des unités de soins spécialisés dans les maisons de soins infirmiers et l’incidence des cas d’agression, d’agitation, de retrait social, de dépression et de troubles psychotiques chez les résidants atteints de la maladie d’Alzheimer ou d’un trouble connexe. Par exemple, les chercheurs observent une baisse des comportements et des affects négatifs dans les établissements qui offrent aux patients des espaces de tranquillité et des lieux pour s’isoler.

Conclusion
La recherche ne s’intéresse pas assez au vécu des patients après un diagnostic de démence ni à la mesure dans laquelle leur qualité de vie est influencée par leurs environnements, les soins à leur disposition, le caractère honteux de leur maladie aux yeux de la société et les idées fausses à propos de la douleur et de la souffrance. La recherche et les pratiques de soins s’attardent de plus en plus à ces questions dans le but d’améliorer la qualité de vie des personnes atteintes de démance, une maladie en phase terminale. 



Références

  1. Hawranik P, McKean E. The abuse of older people: issues and prevention strategies. Dans : Ateah C, Mirwaldt J, éd. Within our reach: preventing abuse across the lifespan. Black Point, Nouvelle-Écosse: Fernwood Publishing, 2004: 90-123.
  2. Magai C, Cohen CI, Gomberg D. Impact of Training Dementia Caregivers in Sensitivity to Nonverbal Emotion Signals. International Psychogeriatrics 2002;14:25-38.
  3. Kitwood T. Dementia reconsidered: the person comes first. Buckingham, Angleterre: Open University Press, 1997.
  4. Roger K. It’s a problem for other people, because I am seen as a nuisance: hearing the voices  of people with dementia. Alzheimer’s Care Quarterly 2007;8(1):17-25.
  5. Moskop J. Improving care at end of life: how advance care planning can help. Palliative & Supportive Care 2004;2:191-7. Version internet : http://journals.cambridge.org.proxy1.lib.umanitoba.ca/action/displayAbstract?fromPage=online&aid=289107
  6. Rich BA. Personhood, patienthood, and clinical practice: re-assessing advance directives. Psychology, Public Policy, and Law 1998;4(3):610-28.
  7. Arehart-Treichel J. For Alzheimer’s patients, life may be better than caregivers think. Psychiatric News 2004;39:14. Version internet : http://pn.psychiatryonline.org.proxy1.lib.umanitoba.ca/content/vol39/issue14/
  8. Chochinov H. Dignity-conserving care — A new model for palliative care: helping the patient feel valued. JAMA 2002;287:2253-60.
  9. Mitchell SL, Kiely DK, Gillick MR. Nursing home characteristics associated with tube feeding in advanced cognitive impairment. Journal of the American Geriatrics Society 2003 Jan;51(1):75-9. Version internet : http://www3.interscience.wiley.com.proxy1.lib.umanitoba.ca/journal/118861674/abstract
  10. Briller S, Proffitt M, Perez K, Calkins M, Marsden J. Creating successful dementia care settings. Vol 2. Winnipeg, Manitoba: Health Professions Press, 2001.