Head, Division of Palliative Care, Department of Medicine, University of British Columbia
The Bow Tie Model of 21st Century Palliative Care

The World Health Organization’s (WHO) definition of palliative care1 has evolved such that the recipient’s illness is no longer required to be deemed incurable. Palliative care is now described as an approach applying to “life-threatening illness”, and “applicable early in the course of illness, in conjunction with other therapies that are intended to prolong life”. This modern definition aims to include patients at a stage in their illness when cure may be unlikely, but not impossible.

Despite this evolution in understanding of our specialty, access to palliative care is still hampered by public perception that palliative care is synonymous with dying. Palliative care teams are still often only resorted to when all hope of cure or disease control has been lost. Late referrals limit our ability to achieve maximum potential for the relief of suffering and medical care cost containment.2-5

Misunderstanding is very understandable given the relatively rapid development of the specialty and the widely varying levels of access to palliative care services across the country.  Confusion also results from the plethora of terms used to describe the many palliative care services offered throughout the disease process, such as; supportive care, hospice and end-of-life care. The unfortunate word terminal is also still often seen in the media. Some programs working towards earlier integration with disease management have even changed their names because of the association of the term palliative care with dying6.

If we cannot agree on consistent terms to describe what we do, how can we expect our colleagues and potential consumers of our services to understand?

Visual models can be helpful tools to explain complex concepts, and have helped advance the understanding of palliative care since the term was coined in Canada over thirty years ago.5,7 Visual models that illustrate a gradual transition from curative intent treatment to palliative treatment are plentiful.  A simple Google pictures search shows many versions of the horizontal, diagonally divided rectangle.  Some include a tapering triangle of bereavement on the right, and the diagonal line is often undulating or fuzzy8,9. A typical example is the Canadian Hospice Palliative Care Association’s 2002 model shown in Figure 110.

Figure 1


Entering a pathway in which the only possible outcome is death is not inviting to patients and their families. If early integration of palliative care with disease management is the goal, then the possibility of cure must still be recognized when considering a referral, at least in the short-term. If we can’t “get them in the door” much of the benefit of palliative care will be lost by being too late in the course of illness.

I propose a new model to describe palliative care which acknowledges the duality of an approach that prepares patients for the worst (death) but still allows hope for the best (cure). The goal of this model would be to illustrate a process in which the possibility of dying can be gently introduced at a time when patients’ and families’ thoughts may be consumed by hope of cure. The model consists of two overlapping triangles, resembling a bow tie, with an arrow pointing from left to right (Fig.2). The first triangle represents disease management and the second triangle is palliative care. The base of the palliative care triangle (end of the model) includes both death and survival as possible outcomes. The arrow indicates that this is a dynamic process with a gradual switch in focus. The key difference between this and traditional models is that survivorship is included as a possible outcome.

Figure 2


The model’s simplicity does not diminish its power as a communication tool, as it can be enhanced to explain complicated concepts for individual situations and adapted for any life-threatening illness.  For example, it may be used by any member of the health care team, or by friends or family of the patient, to illustrate where the various components of modern supportive and palliative care might fit into the patient’s journey along with anti-cancer treatments (Figs.3 and 4). The contents of the triangle can be adapted to explain the services available and terminology being used in any setting.  The direction of the model can be reversed for cultures with a written language which goes from right to left. The simple design makes it easy for care providers (whether professionals or not) to generate it quickly for patients.

Figure 3


Figure 4


The brief example shown here should not be seen as excluding any of the many vital aspects of palliative care, including psychological, spiritual and social support, advance care planning, music and art therapy, physiotherapy or respiratory therapy etc. As with the myriad of available disease-modifying treatments, the many types of palliative care interventions are too numerous to list, but labels can be added by the user to create a care map tailored to an individual patient’s circumstances and needs. For example, the map for a patient with COPD may have very different labels than that of a cancer patient, but the anchor umbrella terms of Disease Management and Palliative Care apply equally to both.

My “Bowtie Model” is not intended to imply that all palliative care teams and hospices should provide rehabilitation and survivorship support; it is just to show and reassure patients that these services are not excluded as possible components of their care in the future. Also it would not be necessary to use a communication tool like this if the patient and family have already accepted the inevitability of death.

My intention is that the Bowtie Model will be a useful communication tool to describe a care pathway where disease modification and a palliative approach to care are integrated from the time of diagnosis, when the possibility of death may be too frightening for the patient to contemplate. My intention in sharing this is to allow for recognition of an exit strategy other than death, and thereby facilitate earlier acceptance of the role for palliative care for people diagnosed with serious illness.

January 2015



References

  1. World Health Organization: Cancer Pain Relief. 1986. WHO website 2013
  2. Biasco G, Tanzi S and Bruera E. Early palliative care: how? J Pall Med 2013, 16(5):466-470
  3. Smith T, Temin S, Alesi E et al. American Society of Clinical Oncology provisional clinical opinion: the integration of palliative care into standard oncology care. J Clin Oncol 2012 10;30(*):880-7. Doi: 10.1200/JCO.2011.38.5161.
    Epub 2012 Feb 6
  4. Temel J, Greer J, Muzikansky M et al. Early Palliative Care for Patients with Metastatic Non-Small Cell Lung Cancer. NEJM 2010;363:733-42 
  5. CHPCA and Quality End-of-life Care Coalition of Canada “The way forward integration initiative” resources Documents available through this website:
    •    Synthesis of Recommendations from National Reports on Hospice Palliative Care [May 2012]
    •    The Palliative Approach: Improving Care for Canadians with Life-Limiting Illnesses [August 2012]
    •    Integrating a Palliative Approach into the Management of Chronic, Life-Threatening Diseases: Who, How and When? [December 2012]
    •    Cost-Effectiveness of Palliative Care: A Review of the Literature [December 2012]
  6. Bruera E, Hui D. Integrating Supportive and Palliative Care in the Trajectory of Cancer: Establishing Goals and Models of Care.  JCO 2010, 28(25):4013-4017
  7. Bhang T. Creating a climate for healing: a visual model for goals of care discussions, J Pall Med July 2013, 16(7);718
  8. Medical Care of the Dying 4th Edition, Victoria Hospice Society 2006, pages 15-19
  9. Morrison RS. Research priorities in geriatric palliative care. J Palliative Med 2013 July, 16(7);726-729
  10. Ferris FD, Balfour HM, Bowen K, Farley J, Hardwick M, Lamontagne C, Lundy M, Syme A, West P. A Model to Guide Hospice Palliative Care: Based on National Principles and Norms of Practice. A Model to Guide Hospice Palliative Care. Ottawa, ON: Canadian Hospice Palliative Care Association, 2002.
    Page 15, Figure 7.

Chef, Division des soins palliatifs, Département de médecine, Université de la Colombie-Britannique
Le « Nœud papillon » des soins palliatifs : un modèle pour le 21e siècle

Dans sa nouvelle définition des soins palliatifs1, l’Organisation mondiale de la santé (OMS) a laissé tomber la notion de maladie incurable. Les soins palliatifs sont maintenant décrits comme une approche s’appliquant aux « maladie[s] engageant le pronostic vital », destinée à être « [mise] en œuvre précocement au cours de la maladie, en conjonction avec d’autres thérapies visant à prolonger la vie ». Cette définition moderne vise à inclure les patients qui se trouvent à un stade de la maladie où la guérison est peu probable, mais pas impossible.

Malgré cette évolution dans la compréhension de notre spécialité, l’accès aux soins palliatifs est entravé par le fait que bien des gens les associent encore uniquement à la mort. Souvent, on attend qu’il n’y ait plus aucun espoir de guérir ou de contrôler la maladie avant de faire appel à nous. Cet aiguillage tardif limite notre capacité d’aller aussi loin que nous le pourrions dans le soulagement des souffrances et la limitation des coûts des soins médicaux2-5.

Ce genre de malentendu est tout à fait compréhensible étant donné l’évolution relativement rapide de la spécialité et l’accès très inégal aux services de soins palliatifs d’une région à l’autre. L’abondance de termes utilisés pour décrire les services offerts à diverses étapes de la maladie (soins de soutien, soins de fin de vie, etc.) engendre aussi beaucoup de confusion. Malheureusement, on voit encore très souvent le mot terminal employé dans les médias. Certains programmes pour l’intégration précoce des soins palliatifs dans le processus de gestion de la maladie ont même changé de nom pour éviter l’association entre soins palliatifs et mort6.

Si nous n’arrivons pas à nous entendre sur les termes qui décrivent notre approche, comment pouvons-nous nous attendre à ce que nos collègues et les personnes qui pourraient en bénéficier la comprennent?

Les modèles visuels sont souvent de bons outils pour expliquer des concepts complexes. Ils ont d’ailleurs facilité la compréhension des soins palliatifs depuis l’adoption du terme il y a plus de 30 ans5,7. Bon nombre illustrent déjà la transition graduelle entre l’intention curative et l’intention palliative du traitement. Une simple recherche d’images dans Google fournit de nombreuses versions du rectangle horizontal traversé d’une diagonale, parfois ondulée ou tracée en pointillé. Certains comportent aussi le triangle du deuil à droite8,9. Un exemple typique est le modèle de 2002 de l’Association canadienne de soins palliatifs (figure 1)10

Figure 1


Pour les patients et les familles, il n’est guère tentant de s’engager dans une voie où la mort est la seule issue. Si on cherche à intégrer les soins palliatifs plus rapidement dans le processus de gestion de la maladie, il est important, lorsqu’on envisage cette approche pour un patient, de reconnaître aussi la possibilité de la survie, ne serait-ce qu’à court terme. Si nous n’arrivons pas à intéresser les gens, l’arrivée trop tardive des soins palliatifs dans le décours de la maladie éliminera la majorité de leurs bienfaits.

Je propose un nouveau modèle visuel des soins palliatifs pour tenir compte de la dualité d’une approche qui prépare les patients au pire (la mort) sans fermer la porte à l’espoir (la guérison). Le modèle vise à illustrer un processus permettant d’introduire en douceur la possibilité de la mort à un moment où le patient et sa famille espèrent encore ardemment la guérison. Le modèle, en forme de nœud papillon, est composé de deux triangles qui se chevauchent, et souligné d’une flèche pointant vers la droite (figure 2). Le premier triangle représente la gestion de la maladie et le second, les soins palliatifs. La base du triangle des soins palliatifs (extrémité droite du modèle) place à la fois la mort et la survie parmi les issues possibles. La flèche indique qu’il s’agit d’un processus dynamique dont l’objectif change  graduellement. La principale différence entre ce modèle et les autres, c’est qu’il reconnaît la possibilité de la survie.

Figure 2


La simplicité du modèle ne diminue en rien sa valeur comme outil de communication, car on peut l’enrichir pour expliquer des concepts complexes s’appliquant à une situation individuelle, ou l’adapter à n’importe quelle maladie grave. Par exemple, un membre de l’équipe soignante ou un proche du patient peut l’utiliser pour montrer où s’insèrent les différentes composantes des soins palliatifs et de soutien modernes dans le parcours thérapeutique d’un patient cancéreux (figure 3). Son contenu peut être adapté aux services et à la terminologie d’un établissement donné, et sa direction, inversée pour les cultures qui écrivent de droite à gauche. Et comme il est simple, les fournisseurs de soins (professionnels ou pas) peuvent le reproduire rapidement pour leurs patients.

Figure 3


Figure 4


Il ne faudrait pas voir dans l’exemple simplifié présenté ici une volonté d’exclure un ou l’autre des nombreux aspects cruciaux des soins palliatifs, comme le soutien psychologique, spirituel et social, la planification préalable des soins, la thérapie par l’art ou la musique, la physiothérapie, l’inhalothérapie, etc. Tout comme il existe une myriade de traitements curatifs, les types d’interventions palliatives sont tout simplement trop nombreux pour être tous énumérés. L’utilisateur peut toutefois ajouter des termes au modèle pour créer un plan de soin adapté à la situation et aux besoins d’un patient donné. Ces termes peuvent varier selon que le patient souffre de MPOC ou d’un cancer, par exemple, mais les termes de base gestion de la maladie et soins palliatifs, eux, demeurent valides dans les deux cas.

Ce modèle ne sous-entend nullement que chaque équipe ou établissement de soins palliatifs devrait offrir des services de réadaptation et de soutien aux survivants. Il vise tout bonnement à rassurer les patients en leur montrant que ces services ne sont pas exclus d’emblée de leur futur plan de soins. Il n’est pas nécessaire de recourir à cet outil si le patient et sa famille ont déjà accepté le caractère inévitable de la mort.

En présentant ce modèle, j’espère offrir un outil de communication utile pour décrire un cheminement clinique qui intègre le traitement de la maladie et l’approche palliative dès l’étape du diagnostic, au moment où la perspective de mourir est peut-être encore trop difficile à envisager pour le patient. Je veux ainsi donner un moyen de reconnaître une autre issue que la mort afin d’amener les gens à accepter plus rapidement le rôle que peuvent jouer les soins palliatifs dans les cas de maladies graves.



Références

  1. Organisation Mondiale de la Santé : Traitement de la douleur cancéreuse. 1987. Site internet de l’OMS 2014
  2. Biasco G, Tanzi S and Bruera E. Early palliative care: how? J Pall Med 2013, 16(5):466-470
  3. Smith T, Temin S, Alesi E et coll. American Society of Clinical Oncology provisional clinical opinion: the integration of palliative care into standard oncology care. J Clin Oncol 2012 10;30(*):880-7. Doi: 10.1200/JCO.2011.38.5161. Epub 2012 Feb 6
  4. Temel J, Greer J, Muzikansky M et coll. Early Palliative Care for Patients with Metastatic Non-Small Cell Lung Cancer. NEJM 2010;363:733-42 
  5. ACSP et Coalition pour des soins de fin de vie de qualité du Canada, ressources de l’initiative « Aller de l’avant : vers l’intégration des soins palliatifs au Canada » :
    •    Synthèse des recommandations de rapports nationaux sur les soins palliatifs [Mai 2012]
    •    L’approche palliative : Améliorer les soins pour les Canadiens atteints d’une maladie limitant l’espérance de vie [Août 2012]
    •    Intégrer la philosophie des soins palliatifs à la gestion des maladies chroniques limitant l’espérance de vie : qui, comment, et quand? [Décembre 2012]
    •    Coût-efficacité des soins palliatifs : analyse de la documentation [Décembre 2012]
    On peut se procurer ces documents ici
  6. Bruera E, Hui D. Integrating Supportive and Palliative Care in the Trajectory of Cancer: Establishing Goals and Models of Care.  JCO 2010, 28(25):4013-4017
  7. Bhang T. Creating a climate for healing: a visual model for goals of care discussions, J Pall Med July 2013, 16(7);718
  8. Medical Care of the Dying 4e édition, Victoria Hospice Society 2006, pages 15-19
  9. Morrison RS. Research priorities in geriatric palliative care. J Palliative Med 2013, juillet, 16(7);726-729
  10. Ferris FD, Balfour HM, Bowen K, Farley J, Hardwick M, Lamontagne C, Lundy M, Syme A, West P. Modèle de guide des soins palliatifs : Fondé sur les principes et les normes de pratique nationaux. Ottawa, ON: Association canadienne de soins palliatifs, 2002. Page 15, figure 7.