Associate Professor-Faculty of Nursing, University of Manitoba; Research Associate-Manitoba Palliative Care Research Unit, CancerCare Manitoba
When Advanced Cancer Patients Won’t Eat: Family Member Responses

Authors: McClement,1,2 SE, Harlos M 1,3

Affiliations: 1. University of Manitoba; 2. Manitoba Palliative Care Research Unit; 3 St. Boniface General Hospital

Source: International Journal of Palliative Nursing 2008;14(4):185-191.

What we did: We conducted a grounded theory study examining nutritional care experiences in advanced cancer from the perspective of patients (n=13), families (n=23), and health care providers (n=11).

Why we did this: Lack of appetite and marked weight loss are frequently experienced symptoms among advanced cancer patients. These symptoms are particularly worrisome for family members. While work examining the pathophysiology and pharmacological management of cancer anorexia-cachexia syndrome (CACS) has been conducted, little is know about the perspectives of family members regarding this vexing clinical problem. Therefore, we conducted a study to help examine and describe the meanings family members ascribe to decreased intake and weight loss, the behaviors these symptoms elicit, and their consequences for patients, families and health care providers. Our previously published work in this area 1-3 has detailed the behaviors and consequences of family members who adopt an aggressive approach in trying to get their dying relative to eat. The work reported on here describes the insights and experiences of family members who adopted more of a ‘letting nature take its course’ approach to the patient’s nutritional care.  

How we did this: We interviewed hospitalized patients experiencing CACS, their family members, and health care providers to obtain a better understanding of the salient issues experienced by each of these groups when the problem of anorexia and weight loss occurs in advanced illness. We also observed patient, staff, and family interactions at meal times on the palliative care ward, and the nature of discussions that occurred during patient conferences concerning nutritional care issues. Interviews were tape recorded verbatim, and analyzed in accordance with grounded theory procedures to discern major themes and categories present in the data.

What we found: Family members who adopted a ‘letting nature take its course’ approach to nutritional care believed that declining intake of food and fluid was a normal occurrence at the end of a terminal illness and that interventions designed to augment nutrition or hydration were futile in altering the outcome of the patient’s illness trajectory. Rather than focus their energies engaging on strategies designed to increase food intake, family members engaged in a repertoire of behaviors that consisted of finding other ways to care, such as participating in the patient’s physical care, being present, and protecting the patient from family members who were aggressively trying to get the patient to eat. Patients reported appreciation at not being harassed to eat, and family members felt that they had both appropriately respected the autonomy of their relative to make care decisions, and prevented the patient from having to suffer such symptoms as nausea and vomiting that can occur when the body cannot handle food.

Why might this study matter: Family members look to health care providers for information and support in dealing with a family member’s illness. The findings from this study provide members of the health care team with some specific, non-food oriented  strategies they can share with families that may diminish family members’ sense of  helplessness, are welcomed by the patient, and honor patient autonomy.

What are our next steps: This exchange article reports on one facet of the nutritional care experience of family members of patients with advanced cancer. In the process of learning about the ways in which family members respond to CACS, it became evident that many family members had significant knowledge gaps regarding the causes of cancer-anorexia-cachexia, and why such interventions as tube-feeding, total and parenteral nutrition are typically not appropriate in the face of advanced disease.4 Future research in this area will focus on the development of an educational intervention about the causes and management of CACS that can then be tested with family members in the context of a randomized controlled trial.

Exchange author information: Dr. Susan McClement, Associate Professor, Faculty of Nursing, University of Manitoba; Research Associate, Manitoba Palliative Care Research Unit;. CancerCare Manitoba 3017-675 McDermot Avenue. Winnipeg, Manitoba, R3E 0V9. susan.mcclement@cancercare.mb.ca.
 



References
 

McClement SE (2005). Cancer anorexia-cachexia-syndrome [CACS]: Psychological impact on the patient and family. Journal of Wound, Ostomy, and Continence Nursing JWOCN. Jul-Aug:32(4):264-8. 

McClement SE, Degner LF, & Harlos MS (2004). Family responses to declining intake in a terminally ill relative: Part I:”Fighting Back”. Journal of Palliative Care, 20(2), 93-100.

McClement  SE, Degner LF, Harlos MS (2003). Family beliefs regarding the nutritional care of a terminally ill relative. Journal of Palliative Medicine, 6(5):737-748.

Hoda D, Jatoi A, Burnes J, Loprinzi C, Kelly D (2005). Should patients with advanced, incurable cancers ever be sent home with total parenteral nutrition? A single institution’s 20-year experience. Cancer, 103(4), 863-8.

Professeure agrégée à la Faculté des sciences infirmières, Université du Manitoba; Associée de recherche à l'Unité de recherche en soins palliatifs du Manitoba, Action cancer Manitoba
Lorsque les patients atteints d’un cancer de stade avancé cessent de manger : réactions des membres de la famille.


Auteurs : McClement,1,2 SE, Harlos M 1,3


Affiliations : 1. Université du Manitoba; 2. Unité de recherche en soins palliatifs du Manitoba; 3 Hôpital général de Saint-Boniface


Source : International Journal of Palliative Nursing 2008; 14 (4) :185-191.


Ce que nous avons fait : Nous avons mené une étude théorique reposant sur les faits pour examiner l’expérience en matière de soins alimentaires du point de vue des patients (n=13), des familles (n=23) et des fournisseurs de soins de santé (n=11).


Pourquoi avons-nous fait cette étude?  La perte d’appétit et la perte de poids marquée constituent des symptômes courants chez les patients atteints d’un cancer de stade avancé. Ces symptômes sont particulièrement inquiétants pour les membres de la famille. Bien que des études aient été menées sur la gestion de la pathophysiologie et de la pharmacothérapie du syndrome d’anorexie-cachexie associé au cancer, on ne connaît pas le point de vue des membres de la famille relativement à ce problème clinique contrariant. Par conséquent, nous avons mené une étude pour aider à examiner et à décrire les raisons que les membres de la famille attribuent à une diminution de l’apport alimentaire et à une perte de poids, les comportements que ces symptômes suscitent et leurs répercussions sur les patients, les familles et les fournisseurs de soins de santé. L’étude que nous avons déjà menée sur ce sujet1-3 a décrit les comportements des membres de la famille qui tentent de forcer un parent mourant à manger ainsi que les répercussions d’une telle approche. La présente étude décrit plutôt la démarche suivie par les membres de la famille qui ont décidé de laisser la nature suivre son cours en ce qui concerne les soins alimentaires du patient. 


De quelle manière s’y est-on pris? Nous avons interviewé des patients hospitalisés atteints du syndrome d’anorexie-cachexie associé au cancer et d’une maladie rendue à un stade avancé, les membres de leur famille et les fournisseurs de soins de santé pour mieux comprendre l’expérience de chacun des groupes lorsqu’ils ont dû faire face au problème d’anorexie et de perte de poids dans le cas d’une maladie rendue à un stade avancé. Nous avons également observé les interactions des patients en soins palliatifs avec le personnel et les membres de la famille au moment des repas ainsi que la nature des discussions lors des consultations avec les patients concernant la question des soins alimentaires. Les entrevues ont été enregistrées textuellement et analysées conformément aux procédures sur la théorie reposant sur les faits pour discerner les principaux thèmes et les principales catégories mises en évidence par les données.


Résultats : Les membres de la famille qui laissaient la nature suivre son cours en ce qui concerne les soins alimentaires croyaient qu’une diminution de la consommation d’aliments et de liquide était normale lorsqu’un patient est en phase terminale d’une maladie et que les interventions visant à augmenter l’apport alimentaire et l’hydratation ne modifiaient en aucune façon le cours de la maladie du patient. Plutôt que de consacrer leurs efforts à mettre sur pied des stratégies pour augmenter l’apport alimentaire, les membres de la famille ont préféré trouver d’autres moyens de prendre soin du patient mourant, c’est-à-dire en participant aux soins physiques de ce dernier, en étant présents et en protégeant les patients des membres de la famille qui tentent de les forcer à manger. Les patients étaient d’ailleurs reconnaissants qu’on ne les force pas à manger, et les membres de la famille se disaient satisfaits d’avoir respecté l’autonomie du patient dans sa capacité à prendre des décisions liées à sa santé et d’avoir évité que le patient souffre de symptômes tels que les nausées et les vomissements qui peuvent survenir lorsque le corps ne supporte plus la nourriture.


Pourquoi cette étude était-elle importante? Les membres de la famille font appel aux fournisseurs de soins de santé pour obtenir des renseignements et de l’appui lorsqu’un membre de leur famille est malade. Les résultats de cette étude renseignent l’équipe soignante sur des stratégies non axées sur la nourriture qu’il est bon d’adopter lorsqu’un patient refuse de manger. L’équipe soignante peut ensuite communiquer ces stratégies aux familles afin de diminuer le sentiment d’impuissance de ces dernières et de faire respecter l’autonomie du patient. Ces stratégies sont d’ailleurs bien accueillies par les patients.


Quelles sont les prochaines étapes? Cet article porte sur une facette de l’expérience des membres de la famille relativement aux soins alimentaires des patients atteints d’un cancer de stade avancé. Lors de notre enquête sur la façon dont les membres de la famille réagissent relativement au syndrome d’anorexie-cachexie associé au cancer, il est devenu évident que de nombreux membres de la famille avaient des lacunes importantes sur les causes de l’anorexie-émaciation dans le cas d’un cancer et sur la raison pour laquelle des interventions telles que le gavage et la nutrition parentérale totale sont généralement inappropriées dans le cas de patients atteints d’une maladie de stade avancé.4 Les prochaines recherches dans ce domaine porteront sur le développement d’une intervention éducative abordant les causes et la gestion du syndrome d’anorexie-cachexie associé au cancer qui peuvent être mises à l’essai auprès de familles dans le contexte d’un essai comparatif aléatoire.


Renseignements sur l’auteure : Dre Susan McClement, professeure agrégée, faculté des sciences infirmières, Université du Manitoba; associée de recherche, Unité de recherche en soins palliatifs du Manitoba; Action cancer Manitoba, 3017-675, avenue McDermot, Winnipeg, Manitoba  R3E 0V9, susan.mcclement@cancercare.mb.ca



Références

McClement SE (2005). Cancer anorexia-cachexia-syndrome [CACS]: Psychological impact on the patient and family. Journal of Wound, Ostomy, and Continence Nursing JWOCN. Juil.-août :32(4):264-8. 

McClement SE, Degner LF et Harlos MS (2004). Family responses to declining intake in a terminally ill relative: Part I:”Fighting Back”. Journal of Palliative Care, 20(2), 93-100.

McClement SE, Degner LF et Harlos MS (2003). Family beliefs regarding the nutritional care of a terminally ill relative. Journal of Palliative Medicine, 6(5):737-748.

Hoda D, Jatoi A, Burnes J, Loprinzi C et Kelly D (2005). Should patients with advanced, incurable cancers ever be sent home with total parenteral nutrition? A single institution’s 20-year experience. Cancer, 103(4), 863-8.