Asked and Answered


    Communicating with the Family

    Telling someone about the death of a family member is difficult for most people, but it is even more challenging when the person you have to tell has dementia. Your approach will depend on the extent of the person's disease, where the person is at and how much they remember. Often the first thought is to try to protect the person with dementia... read more...
    Your friend most likely needs to talk about his feelings and frustrations. Listening may be the support he needs the most. Consider offering to call regularly to check in. Ask what time is best to call, as he likely has a schedule that needs to be kept. Also ask how often he’d like you to call. He may be busy, and can only manage one call... read more...
    Few of us have much experience talking about death and dying. It’s normal to be afraid of saying the wrong thing and upsetting someone. If we don’t know what to say, we often don’t say anything and avoid the whole situation. This may be why families of people who are dying notice that friends no longer call or visit. Yet, the time when people... read more...
    Living with a loved one who has a progressive cancer disease is stressful and exhausting. It affects each family member differently, and everyone has his or her own reaction. Often, the way we respond to one another becomes more intense as the stress of the situation increases. Your daughter’s behaviour, which may appear defensive and self-focused,... read more...

Questions-réponses


    Communiquer avec la famille

    Annoncer à quelqu’un le décès d’un membre de sa famille est une tâche difficile pour la plupart des gens, et ça l’est d’autant plus lorsque la personne à qui l’on s’adresse est atteinte de démence. Votre approche dépendra de l’avancement de sa maladie, de l’endroit où la personne se trouve et des souvenirs qu’il lui reste. Le premier réflexe... lire davantage...
    Votre ami a probablement besoin de parler de ses sentiments et de ses frustrations. Écouter pourra être l’appui dont il a le plus de besoin. Une idée c’est d’appeler régulièrement pour savoir comment il va. Trouvez le meilleur temps d’appeler car il a sans doute un horaire à suivre. Demandez-lui aussi combien de fois par semaine, par mois,... lire davantage...
    Peu de nous avons assez d’expérience avec la mort pour pouvoir en parler facilement. Il est normal d’avoir peur de dire la mauvaise chose pour déranger quelqu’un. Si nous ne savons pas que dire, nous finissons souvent par ne rien dire, évitant ainsi toute la situation. C’est peut-être pourquoi la famille des gens mourants remarque que les... lire davantage...
    Accompagner un être cher qui perd graduellement sa lutte contre le cancer est à la fois épuisant et déchirant. Chaque membre de la famille vit cette réalité différemment, s’y adapte à sa manière. Souvent, l’anxiété croissante des circonstances intensifie nos réactions les uns aux autres. Le comportement de votre fille, quoiqu’il vous semble... lire davantage...