Decision Making
How detailed should a health care directive be?

A health care directive is a document that describes the treatment decisions that a person wants made in the future. It’s used to guide care if the patient can’t communicate in any other way at when a decision has to be made.

A person needs to consider what others will need to know about his or her wishes. These wishes can be general or specific. Over time these wishes may change, as the patient develops a better idea of what he or she wants and doesn’t want. This new information can be added to an existing directive, or a new one can be written to replace the old one.

A directive can also name a person to act as a proxy for the patient. This person may become the patient’s spokesperson, interpreter and advocate. It’s important that the patient talk to the proxy, to make sure the proxy knows the patient’s wishes intimately. The proxy also needs to know of any changes in those wishes.

Health Care Directives

La prise de décisions
Quel degré de détail devrait atteindre une directive anticipée?

Une directive anticipée est un document qui décrit les décisions relatives aux traitements qu’une personne veut recevoir plus tard. Elle oriente les soins à donner au patient si ce dernier ne peut communiquer d’aucune autre façon au moment où se prend la décision.

Le patient doit penser à informer les autres de ses souhaits, qu’ils soient généraux ou spécifiques. Ces souhaits pourraient changer au gré du temps, à mesure que le patient approfondit sa réflexion sur ce qu’il veut ou ne veut pas. Il est possible d’ajouter ces nouveaux renseignements à une directive ou de rédiger une nouvelle directive pour remplacer l’ancienne.

Le patient peut aussi préciser dans une directive le nom d’un mandataire. Cette personne peut devenir le représentant du patient, son interprète et son défenseur. Il est important que le patient parle à son mandataire pour lui expliquer ses volontés de façon très personnelle. Il doit également l’informer de tout changement de ses volontés.


Directives anticipées