Asked and Answered


    Emotions and Spirituality

    Our concern and love for our family members does not end with their deaths. Unless we had unresolved issues with them, we want them to be happy and content. We may feel especially concerned about family members who had difficult lives or a hard time in dying. We hope that in death they will have the peace and happiness they could not find... read more...
    It’s normal for people to feel a range of emotions when they’re told their illness is progressing and death isn’t far. Commonly people say they feel numb, sad, helpless, disappointed, angry or afraid. Family members often report similar reactions. There really are no specific words to alleviate the stress of the situation, but there’s a lot... read more...
    Waiting can add stress to an already uncertain situation. Some people say that waiting for health and treatment information is one of the most stressful aspects of being ill. There’s the frustration of waiting, and for some people there’s also fear of what the test results may be. The waiting period can be equally difficult for family and... read more...
    It’s normal to feel lost and confused when you first get news that someone close to you has a terminal illness. You may feel all kinds of emotions and not be able to control them. The first task is to digest the news and make sense of it. It’s difficult and it takes time. Stop and reflect, think about your questions, and look for information... read more...
    Most of us struggle with the fact that life ends in death. When a family member dies or when we think about our own death, the mystery of death touches us personally. We may feel anxious about the way death cuts us off from people we love and care about. We may be frustrated or disappointed by how little solid evidence there is about what... read more...
    As your father’s health deteriorates, it may get harder to maintain the hopes that he and your family had when he first became ill. You may find it impossible to feel positive when symptoms persist, when new symptoms appear, when treatments don’t bring the results you wish for, or when physical well-being declines. Indeed, at times you may... read more...
    This response is based on what we have learned from people who have gone down the road you are on now. Some things will fit for you and some things won't. The most important thing, in our view, is to know that there is no one right way to cope. The news that someone has less than a year to live can be overwhelming for the person who is told... read more...
    Speaking at a memorial service is an honour. It gives you the privilege of paying respect to the person who has died, and of helping those who have gathered for the event. Speaking at your father's funeral is a special way of honouring him and the relationship you had with him. Your public mourning could be a significant healing step for you... read more...
    A memorial service can be a very helpful way for families, their neighbours and friends to mourn. It gives people an opportunity to express their grief; remember and honour the person who has died; experience a supportive community in the face of loss; consider the meaning of life and death within the web of life. Planning a memorial service... read more...
    A life-limiting illness is one of life’s most stressful experiences imaginable. The person who is ill may feel nobody can really understand what he is going through even when friends or family are trying to support him. Family and friends may feel frustrated that their efforts to care are not more appreciated. Ultimately you cannot control... read more...
    It’s hard to face the thought of losing someone you love. Being far away makes it even harder. First, it’s important to talk to people. Talk to your family. Talk to your friends. People who’ve gone through what you’re going through and can give you the benefit of their experience. Even though you’re far away from your grandfather, you don’t... read more...
    Your mother may be struggling with defining who she has become within her increasing physical restrictions. It is very difficult to be an observer of the suffering that comes with such a struggle. An important first step is to ask your mother and her health care team if she has any symptoms that affect her comfort. Uncontrolled symptoms such... read more...
    Your father probably finds this a very difficult and stressful situation. People deal with stress in different ways, and no one approach is better than any other. As well, people’s responses can change over time. They may not want to talk right away, but may open up with time. Your father may not be ready to open up now. Fathers often feel... read more...
    It is common for a person to feel a range of emotions when they hear their illness is progressing and death is not far away. The person may feel numb, sad, helpless, disappointed or angry, to name just a few possible reactions. You and other family members may have similar feelings. All of these reactions are normal. There really are no specific... read more...
    The philosophy of palliative care encourages care for the whole person. Such care tries to meet the person’s spiritual, emotional, cultural, and social needs, as well as physical symptoms. Your colleague’s needs have been shaped by her culture. If you do not know about that culture, you may feel you don't fully understand her needs, and may... read more...
    Every person has spirituality. Whatever moves or expresses your spirit or inner energy is part of your spirituality. In some senses your spirituality is expressed in every aspect of your personal and public life. It is just part of who you are – woven into and expressed through every thought, feeling, and action. There are many definitions... read more...
    This is a difficult and yet very common experience of caregivers. When someone is not well, they often take out their frustrations and anger on the person who is closest to them. Perhaps they feel it is a safe place to “just be themselves.” In terms of how to respond, it’s important to recognize that anger is a natural and powerful emotion... read more...

Questions-réponses


    Les émotions et la spiritualité

    Nos préoccupations et notre amour pour les membres de notre famille ne cessent pas à leur mort. À moins d’avoir omis de régler des différends avec eux, nous espérons qu’ils seront heureux et en paix. Nous serons particulièrement inquiets de nos proches qui n’ont pas eu la vie facile ou pour qui la période précédant le décès aura été très pénible. lire davantage...
    Il est normal pour les gens de sentir toute une gamme d’émotions quand on leur dit que leur maladie progresse et ils sont au seuil de la mort. D’habitude les gens disent qu’ils se sentent engourdis, triste, délaissé, déçus, fâchés ou peureux. Les membres de la famille rapportent des réactions pareilles. Il n’y a pas de mots spécifiques pour... lire davantage...
    Attendre peut ajouter du stress à une situation qui est déjà incertaine. Certains gens disent qu’attendre les renseignements concernant la santé et les traitements leur est l’aspect le plus stressant de leur maladie. Il y a la frustration d’attendre, et pour d’autres il y a aussi la peur des résultats. Cette attente peut être également difficile... lire davantage...
    Il est normal de se sentir perdu et confus quand on reçoit les nouvelles qu’un ami a une maladie terminale. Vous pouvez vous sentir toutes sortes d’émotions sans être capable de les contrôler. Le premier devoir c’est de digérer les renseignements et d’en faire du sens. C’est difficile et il faut du temps. Arrêtez-vous et réfléchissez, pensez... lire davantage...
    La plupart des gens sont angoissés à l’idée que la vie se termine par la mort. Au décès d’un membre de votre famille, ou si vous réfléchissez à votre propre départ, le mystère de la mort vous touchera personnellement. Certains sont angoissés par la coupure que la mort crée entre des êtres chers. D’autres sont frustrés ou déçus du peu d’information... lire davantage...
    Si l’état de votre père se dégrade, il sera sans doute de plus en plus difficile de garder l’espoir qui vous animait tous quand la maladie s’est d’abord manifestée. Il vous paraîtra probablement impossible de rester positifs si les symptômes de votre père persistent ou s’il en apparaît de nouveaux, si les traitements ne produisent pas les... lire davantage...
    La réponse ci-dessous est inspirée de ce que nous ont dit certaines personnes qui ont vécu cette situation. Certains éléments vous conviendront, d’autres, non. C’est normal : il n’y a pas de méthode unique. L’annonce qu’un proche n’a plus qu’un an à vivre est écrasante. Il est difficile de penser à quoi que ce soit d’autre. Vous avez envie... lire davantage...
    Prendre la parole à une telle cérémonie est un honneur. Vous avez le privilège de rendre hommage à la personne qui vient de partir et d’aider les gens qui se sont rassemblés pour l’occasion. En vous adressant aux proches et amis aux funérailles de votre père, vous lui rendrez un hommage personnel à lui-même et à ce que vous avez vécu ensemble. lire davantage...
    Le service commémoratif facilite grandement le deuil de la famille, des voisins et des amis, puisqu’il leur permet : d’exprimer leur peine; d’évoquer le souvenir de la personne qui est morte et d’honorer sa mémoire; de profiter du soutien de la communauté pendant le deuil; de réfléchir au sens de la vie et de la mort. La planification d’un... lire davantage...
    Une maladie limitant l’espérance de vie est l’une des expériences de vie les plus stressantes qui soient. Le malade a parfois l’impression que personne ne peut vraiment comprendre ce qu’il vit, pas même les amis ou la famille qui essaient de l’aider. Les parents et amis sont parfois frustrés que leurs efforts pour prendre soin de leur proche... lire davantage...
    Il est difficile de faire face à la pensée de perdre une personne que vous aimez. Être loin le fait plus difficile. De premier abord, il est important de parler aux gens. Parlez à votre famille. Parlez à vos amis. Les gens qui ont passé par là où vous passez peuvent vous donner l’avantage de leurs expériences. Même si vous êtes loin de votre... lire davantage...
    Votre mère a probablement du mal à définir qui elle est devenue en raison de ses restrictions physiques de plus en plus imposantes. Il est très difficile d’être simple observateur de la souffrance qui accompagne une telle bataille. Il est important de commencer par demander à votre mère et à son équipe soignante si certains symptômes la font... lire davantage...
    Votre père trouve, probablement, que cette situation est très difficile et stressant. Les gens font face au stress différemment, et nulle approche n’est supérieure à une autre. D’ailleurs, les réponses des gens peuvent changer avec le temps. A ce moment, ils ne veulent pas, peut-être parler, mais ils peuvent s’ouvrir avec le temps. Votre père... lire davantage...
    Il est courant qu’une personne passe par toute une gamme d’émotions quand elle apprend que sa maladie progresse et que ses derniers jours approchent. Elle se sentira probablement abasourdie, triste, impuissante, déçue ou en colère, pour ne nommer que quelques-unes des émotions possibles. Votre famille et vous éprouverez probablement des sentiments... lire davantage...
    L’optique des soins palliatifs , c’est de soigner la personne dans son ensemble. De tels soins tentent de répondre aux besoins spirituels, émotionnels, culturels et sociaux d’une personne, en plus de ses besoins physiques. Les besoins de votre collègue sont déterminés par sa culture. Si vous ne connaissez pas sa culture, vous aurez peut-être... lire davantage...
    La spiritualité est ancrée en chacun de nous. Tout ce qui touche ou concerne votre âme ou votre « énergie intérieure » fait partie de votre spiritualité. D’une certaine façon, votre spiritualité s’exprime dans tous les aspects de votre vie personnelle et publique. Elle fait simplement partie de qui vous êtes, tissée à même chacune de vos pensées,... lire davantage...
    Cette expérience désagréable est pourtant bien commune pour les personnes aidantes. Les gens malades s’en prennent régulièrement à leurs intimes pour faire passer l’amertume, cette intimité leur donnant peut-être l’impression qu’ils n’ont pas à se retenir. Quant à votre réaction, rappelons que la colère, émotion vive mais naturelle, affecte... lire davantage...