Asked and Answered


    Nutrition

    Estimating how long someone may live is very difficult. It’s usually discussed in terms of ranges; that is, hours to days, days to weeks, or weeks to months. It’s important to realize that every situation is different, that many factors are involved, and that everyone responds differently. Fluid intake has the biggest effect on immediate survival. read more...
    Families often have questions about eating and appetite when someone is ill. For families, the issue of food and eating involves much more than just the food. The whole experience of eating and fellowship is important. Also, feeding is seen as part of providing basic care for someone. Yet people who are terminally ill usually lose their appetite... read more...
    While pain is a common symptom at the end of life, it isn’t caused by lack of food or fluids. People with a terminal illness don’t have a problem with "hunger pains. " Commonly they lose their appetite, their sense of hunger, and all interest in food. This can result from nausea, physical discomfort from eating even small amounts of food, and... read more...
    Lack of appetite and the resulting weight loss can have many different causes. They can include illness, medications, treatments, pain , constipation or bowel obstruction , sores in the mouth, and anxiety or depression . It’s important to try to find the cause before trying a treatment. Poor appetite may be caused directly by a problem in... read more...

Questions-réponses


    La nutrition

    Il est très difficile d’estimer le temps qu’il reste à vivre à quelqu'un. Pour ce faire, on aborde généralement la question sur la base d’un écart, d’une fourchette; on parle de quelques heures à quelques jours, de quelques jours à quelques semaines ou encore de quelques semaines à quelques mois. N'oublions pas que chaque cas est unique, que... lire davantage...
    Les familles ont souvent des questions concernant les habitudes alimentaires ou l’appétit quand quelqu’un est malade. Pour les familles, la question de nourriture et d’habitudes d’alimentaire est plus qu’une question de nourriture. Toute l’expérience de manger ensemble et l’amitié qui l’accompagne est importante. De plus, nourrie une personne... lire davantage...
    Quoique la douleur soit un symptôme commun vers la fin de la vie, ce n’est pas à cause d’un manque de nourriture ou de liquides. Les gens avec une maladie terminale n’ont pas de problème avec les « douleurs de faim ». En général, ils perdent leur appétit, leur sens de faim, et tout intérêt dans la nourriture. Ceci peut venir de la nausée,... lire davantage...
    Un manque d’appétit et la perte de poids qui en résultent peuvent venir de plusieurs facteurs. Ils peuvent inclure une maladie, les médicaments, les traitements, la douleur , la constipation ou une occlusion intestinale, les blessures sur la bouche, et l’anxiété ou la dépression. Il est important de trouver la cause avant de commencer les... lire davantage...