Asked and Answered


    Palliative Care

    A decision to begin palliative care takes in many factors. Ideally the decision includes a discussion with the health care team, who can offer information about options and available support. Several questions can help determine when palliative care becomes the main focus of care: What options are available for treatment? What does the person... read more...
    Decisions about palliative care must distinguish between a general palliative care approach and palliative care services, which often have limited resources. A palliative approach to care is broadly aimed at ensuring comfort and quality of life for people with a life-threatening illness. Ideally, this approach is an integral part of supporting... read more...
    Canada has universal health care, which provides basic health care without user fees. Yet the provinces control health care, and some charge a fee to access the health system. Palliative care is a basic service in all provinces and territories, so there’s no charge for palliative care in a hospital. Provincial and territorial governments usually... read more...
    The terms " palliative care " and "hospice" mean different things to different people. Here, "hospice" is taken to mean a facility that provides an alternative home for people living with a terminal illness. These people need a community, home-like environment and specialized care, yet their care isn’t so complex that it requires a hospital. read more...
    “One of the most difficult times for anyone is when a loved one is dying or at risk of death. The demands of caring for a gravely ill family member can jeopardize both your job and the financial security of your family. The Government of Canada believes that, during such times, you should not have to choose between keeping your job and caring... read more...
    Several factors determine the best place for providing care to a person with a terminal illness. This type of decision requires a balance between patient and family needs, and the availability of resources to meet those needs. Patient and family considerations include the following: patient and family preference; physical ability to handle... read more...

Questions-réponses


    Les soins palliatifs

    La décision d'entreprendre les soins palliatifs tient compte de plusieurs facteurs. Idéalement, on commencera par une discussion avec l’équipe des soins médicaux, qui peut offrir des renseignements quant aux choix possibles et à l’aide offerte. Voici quelques questions qui vous aideront à déterminer à quel moment les soins palliatifs devraient... lire davantage...
    Les décisions concernant les soins palliatifs doivent tenir compte de la distinction entre une approche générale de soins palliatifs et les programmes de soins palliatifs, dont les ressources sont souvent limitées. Une approche palliative vise à assurer le confort et la qualité de vie des personnes atteintes d'une maladie potentiellement mortelle. lire davantage...
    Le Canada offre des soins de santé universels; la population a donc droit à des soins de santé de base sans frais. Ce sont toutefois les provinces qui gèrent les soins médicaux, et certaines provinces prélèvent des frais d'accès au système. Les soins palliatifs étant considérés comme un service de base dans tous les territoires et toutes les... lire davantage...
    Les termes « soins palliatifs » et « maison de soins palliatifs » ne signifient pas la même chose pour tout le monde. Une maison de soins palliatifs est un établissement qui accueille des personnes atteintes d’une maladie mortelle. Ces personnes ont besoin d'un milieu communautaire qui s'apparente à leur demeure et de soins spécialisés, mais... lire davantage...
    S'il y a un moment de la vie qui peut être difficile, c'est bien lorsqu'un proche vit ses derniers jours ou qu'il risque de mourir. La situation devient encore plus éprouvante pour les proches qui s'occupent de la personne gravement malade si leur emploi est menacé ou si leur sécurité financière est compromise. Or, le gouvernement du Canada... lire davantage...
    Il faut tenir compte de plusieurs facteurs avant de déterminer le meilleur endroit pour fournir les soins à une personne atteinte d'une maladie mortelle. Ce type de décision requiert un bon équilibre entre les besoins du patient et ceux de la famille, ainsi que la disponibilité des ressources pour satisfaire ces besoins. Considérations du... lire davantage...