Asked and Answered


    Neurological Disease

    Assessing pain in a person with Alzheimer disease can be difficult. Pain assessment is usually based on the individual’s ability to verbally report his or her pain, but many people with Alzheimer disease have difficulty communicating. Some people are able to answer “yes” or “no” when asked if they have pain, and some can point to where it... read more...
    Amyotrophic lateral sclerosis, commonly called ALS or Lou Gehrig’s disease, is a progressive disease that affects the nervous system. The disease eventually affects someone’s mobility, independent functioning, communication, swallowing and breathing. Generally, care for people with ALS includes these considerations: the illness itself; the... read more...
    The progression of cerebral palsy varies a great deal. In general, however, people with cerebral palsy have some common experiences in the final weeks or months: Decreasing strength and energy This causes decreasing mobility, communication, alertness and ability to breath and cough. Usually it’s not a cause of physical distress. Rather it’s... read more...
    Multiple sclerosis (MS) is a progressive disease of the nervous system. It can cause a wide variety of symptoms, which may continue or worsen as the disease progresses. The most common symptoms include fatigue , walking difficulties, bowel and bladder disturbances, vision problems, changes in brain function, changes in sexual function, pain... read more...
    It can be very difficult to predict the course of chronic illnesses such as chronic obstructive pulmonary disease (COPD) or congestive heart failure (CHF). Chronic illnesses place energy demands on the body that slowly deplete a person's energy reserve. In the later stages of illness, energy reserve is low, and seemingly small problems like... read more...
    Alzheimer disease is a progressive disease of the brain. It’s characterized by loss of memory, judgment and reasoning, changes in mood and behaviour, and eventually a reduced ability to perform the activities of daily living, such as eating, dressing, bathing and toileting. In end-stage Alzheimer disease, the brain is no longer able to tell... read more...

Questions-réponses


    La maladie neurologique

    Il est parfois difficile d’évaluer la douleur d’une personne atteinte de la maladie d’Alzheimer. L’évaluation repose le plus souvent sur la capacité de la personne de signaler sa douleur, mais bien des gens souffrant de cette maladie ont du mal à communiquer. Certaines personnes peuvent répondre « oui » ou « non »  quand on leur demande si... lire davantage...
    La sclérose latérale amyotrophique, communément appelée SLA ou maladie de Lou Gehrig, est une maladie évolutive qui attaque le système nerveux. L'affection s'attaque finalement à la mobilité, au fonctionnement indépendant, à la communication, à la déglutition et à la respiration. En général, le traitement des personnes atteintes de SLA prend... lire davantage...
    L'évolution d'une infirmité motrice cérébrale varie énormément. Pourtant, en général, les personnes atteintes d'infirmité motrice cérébrale vivent les mêmes expériences dans les derniers jours ou semaines : Diminution de la force et de l'énergie Provoque une diminution de la mobilité, de la communication, de la réactivité et de la capacité... lire davantage...
    La sclérose en plaques (SEP) est une maladie évolutive du système nerveux. Elle peut engendrer de nombreux symptômes qui peuvent durer ou s'aggraver au fur et à mesure que la maladie évolue. Les symptômes les plus courants sont la fatigue , des difficultés à marcher, des troubles de la vessie et des troubles intestinaux, des problèmes de vision,... lire davantage...
    C’est parfois très difficile de prévoir le cours de conditions chroniques comme la maladie pulmonaire obstructive chronique (MPOC) ou l’insuffisance cardiaque congestive (ICC). Les maladies chroniques font sans cesse appel aux réserves d’énergie du corps et, lentement, celles-ci finissent par s’épuiser. Aux stades plus avancés d’une maladie,... lire davantage...
    La maladie d’Alzheimer est une maladie progressive du cerveau. Elle se caractérise par une perte de mémoire, de jugement et de raisonnement, des changements d’humeur et de comportement et une diminution graduelle de la capacité de vaquer à ses occupations quotidiennes (manger, s’habiller, se laver et aller aux toilettes). À la phase terminale... lire davantage...