Neurological Disease
My mother has end-stage Alzheimer disease. I think she may be in pain, but she isn’t able to communicate very well. How do I know if she is having pain?

Assessing pain in a person with Alzheimer disease can be difficult. Pain assessment is usually based on the individual’s ability to verbally report his or her pain, but many people with Alzheimer disease have difficulty communicating. Some people are able to answer “yes” or “no” when asked if they have pain, and some can point to where it hurts.

To assess your mother’s pain, make sure that you ask questions more than once and in more than one way: “Do you have pain right now?” or “Do you have discomfort right now?” or “Does it hurt right now?” These are different ways of asking the same question.

If your mother is unable to verbally communicate her pain, observe whether she shows any change in her usual behaviours. Aggression, agitation, refusal of care, yelling, hitting, grabbing, crying, facial grimacing, increased confusion, and decreased eye contact may be signs that she is having pain. Other signs include guarding her body, grinding her teeth, reacting to touch, withdrawing from contact, and drawing up her knees. Also observe if she seems to show any pain when she moves or does an activity.

When assessing pain in individuals unable to verbally communicate, it’s important to check for potential problems other than pain. Assess whether your mother has any unmet needs. Is she hungry or thirsty? Does she need to go to the bathroom? Are there any other possible causes of pain, such as infection, constipation, a wound, or undetected fractures? Does your mother have any underlying conditions, such as cancer or arthritis, that might be causing her pain?

If you think your mother is having pain, find ways to make her comfortable. Contact your health care team for their assistance. Pain treatment may include medications for pain control and other strategies to promote comfort, such as repositioning or massage. Your mother’s pain and what relieves it will need ongoing monitoring and evaluation.

You may find helpful guidance about assessing pain from Romayne Gallagher, MD, in this video: Pain and cognitive impairment: Reading the cues.

La maladie neurologique
Ma mère est en phase terminale de la maladie d’Alzheimer. Je pense qu’elle souffre, mais elle ne communique pas très bien. Comment puis-je savoir si elle souffre?

Il est parfois difficile d’évaluer la douleur d’une personne atteinte de la maladie d’Alzheimer. L’évaluation repose le plus souvent sur la capacité de la personne de signaler sa douleur, mais bien des gens souffrant de cette maladie ont du mal à communiquer. Certaines personnes peuvent répondre « oui » ou « non »  quand on leur demande si elles souffrent, et d’autres peuvent pointer du doigt l’endroit où elles ont mal.

Pour évaluer la douleur de votre mère, posez-lui des questions plus d’une fois et de différentes manières : « As-tu mal quelque part en ce moment? » ou « Te sens-tu inconfortable? » ou « Ressens-tu de la douleur? ». Ce sont là différentes façons de demander la même chose.

Si votre mère ne peut communiquer sa douleur verbalement, soyez à l’affût de tout changement de ses comportements habituels. Agressivité, agitation, refus de soins, cris, coups, agrippements, pleurs, grimaces, confusion et contact visuel réduit sont tous des signes potentiels de douleur. Elle pourrait aussi avoir mal si vous voyez qu’elle protège son corps, qu’elle grince des dents, qu’elle réagit au toucher ou retire sa main quand vous la touchez, ou qu’elle remonte les genoux sur son ventre. Observez également si elle semble avoir mal quand elle bouge ou fait certaines activités.

Pour évaluer la douleur chez une personne qui ne peut communiquer verbalement, il est important de vérifier si d’autres facteurs la dérangent. A-t-elle d’autres besoins non comblés? A-t-elle faim ou soif? A-t-elle besoin d’aller aux toilettes? Y aurait-il autre chose qui pourrait lui causer de la douleur (une infection, la constipation, une blessure, une fracture cachée)? Votre mère souffre-t-elle d’autres maladies, comme le cancer ou l’arthrite, qui pourraient causer de la douleur?

Si vous pensez que votre mère souffre, trouvez des façons d’assurer son confort. Demandez l’aide de votre équipe soignante. Le traitement de la douleur peut se faire à l’aide de médicaments ou d’autres méthodes favorisant le confort du patient (repositionnement, massage, etc.). Il est important de réévaluer constamment la douleur de votre mère et ce qui la soulage.

Vous trouverez sans doute des conseils utiles sur l’évaluation de la douleur en écoutant Romayne Gallagher, M.D., dans cette vidéo :Pain and cognitive impairment: Reading the cues [en anglais seulement]