Your Stories

Dr. Balfour M. Mount
 



The Canadian Virtual Hospice approached Dr. Balfour Mount, Canada’s “father of palliative care,” shortly after his retirement in 2007, to take part in a video project capturing his perspectives on living and dying. We are indebted to Dr. Mount for inviting us into his home and sharing his story with us.

A Lifetime of Achievement

Known for his compassion and empathy for all people, Dr. Mount pioneered the palliative care movement in North America and has spent more than 30 years advocating for quality care when cure is not possible. Dr. Mount’s vision of whole person care has revolutionized the way we provide comfort to the terminally ill and changed the way we think about dying. He is the founder and former director of McGill University’s Palliative Care Divisions, originator of the McGill Program in Integrated Whole Person Care and founder of Montreal’s biannual International Congress on Palliative Care. Referred to as “the compassionate vanguard of palliative care,” his work has set Canada on a course to be a world leader in the provision of palliative care and is an inspiration to those who work to improve quality end-of-life care.

Dr. Mount is an Officer of the Order of Canada and an Officer of the National Order of Quebec, and has received honorary degrees from the University of Calgary, Queen’s University and Dalhousie University.

A Moral Force: The Story of Dr. Balfour Mount, Andrew Duffy, The Ottawa Citizen, April 23, 2005.

Vos histoires

Dr. Balfour M. Mount
 



Le Portail canadien en soins palliatifs a sollicité le docteur Balfour Mount, pionnier des soins palliatifs au Canada, peu après son départ à la retraite, en 2007, pour un projet de vidéo consacré à ses perspectives sur la vie et la mort. Nous lui savons gré de nous avoir accueillis chez lui et de nous avoir livré ses propos.

Une prolifique carrière

Reconnu pour son sens de la compassion et de l’empathie, le docteur Mount a lancé le mouvement des soins palliatifs en Amérique du Nord et milité pendant plus de 30 ans pour la qualité des soins aux malades incurables. Son concept de « soins holistiques » a transformé notre manière d’apporter du réconfort aux malades en phase terminale ainsi que notre perception de la mort. Il est le fondateur et ex-directeur de la Division des soins palliatifs de l’Université McGill, l’instigateur des programmes de soins holistiques de McGill et le fondateur du Congrès international sur les soins palliatifs, qui se tient aux deux ans à Montréal. Son œuvre a placé le Canada à l’avant-scène mondiale dans le domaine des soins palliatifs. Elle est une source d’inspiration pour ceux et celles qui s’efforcent d’améliorer la qualité des soins terminaux.

Le docteur Mount a été nommé officier de l’Ordre du Canada et officier de l’Ordre national du Québec. Il s’est vu décerner des doctorats honorifiques par l’Université de Calgary, l’Université Queen’s et l’Université Dalhousie.

Reflections of Dr. Ina Cummings (article en anglais)

A Moral Force: The Story of Dr. Balfour Mount, Andrew Duffy, The Ottawa Citizen, April 23, 2005.