Your Stories

The Year I Ran Away from Christmas: A Mother’s Perspective on Grief and the Holidays
 



A few years ago I ran away from home and took my kids with me. As we approached the first Christmas following my husband’s death to cancer, an unbearable sadness swallowed each of my kids.

For anyone who has experienced loss, the holidays become reminders that the deceased is noticeably absent. Nadine Gariepy-Fisk, Hospice Calgary’s Director of Programs and Services says, “The holidays are pressure points for parents struggling to help their children while trying to manage their own grief.”

One of my sons grieved with anger. He wanted his dad back and until someone came up with some answers for how he felt, he stayed in his room and refused to go to school. My daughter would draw out her sadness with markers on her bedroom mirror. My teen hurled into school activities, ignoring the pain by staying busy. We were all pretty miserable.

Finally, ten days before Christmas, I called my travel agent and said, “Get me a beach, a buffet and a direct flight.” We survived the first Christmas with beach therapy at an all-inclusive resort Cuba. Did it help? Not really.  The real healing began when I discovered Hospice Calgary’s Sage Centre.

My younger son started seeing one of the child/youth and family counsellors. She helped him to find ways to express his feelings about his father’s cancer, dying and death. After several sessions, I remember his counsellor asking, “Where is your daddy now?” He drew a garden filled with flowers. My husband was sitting on a bench wearing his favourite hat. He was smiling. This wise counsellor helped my son to find safe places to store those painful memories and to find what he needed to re-engage with life.

My daughter attended a children’s grief support group. She called it her art therapy but I called it a godsend.  At one session the children made memory ornaments to hang on their Christmas trees. While the kids met, there was a session for bereaved parents. Here I found the support of other young widows and widowers who were also trying to parent their children through life-changing loss.

Over the passing years, I discovered that Hospice Calgary was there for us whenever one of the children needed a little help managing those feelings of loss. Sarah Walker, Hospice Calgary’s executive director, says that this ongoing support is the cornerstone of Hospice Calgary’s service. “We are here to help individuals and families as long as they need us,” she says.

I have no need to run away during the holidays anymore. The other day my daughter, now a young woman, reminded me that Christmas is her favourite time of the year. I smiled and said, “It’s mine too.” 

Revised December 2015


Judy Wark is a Calgary writer currently writing a memoir of loss and love during a time
of terminal cancer.

Vos histoires

L’année où j’ai fui Noël: Témoignage d’une mère sur le deuil en période de réjouissances
 



par Judy Wark

Il y a quelques années, j’ai fui la maison avec mes enfants. À l’approche du premier Noël suivant le décès de mon mari des suites du cancer, une tristesse insupportable envahissait chacun de mes enfants.

Quand on a perdu un être cher, les fêtes de fin d’année nous rappellent toujours l’absence flagrante du disparu. « Les fêtes alourdissent la charge des parents qui peinent à aider leurs enfants tout en essayant de surmonter leur propre deuil », explique Nadine Gariepy-Fisk, directrice des programmes et services à Hospice Calgary.

L’un de mes fils exprimait son deuil par la colère. Il voulait qu’on lui ramène son père, et en attendant que quelqu’un trouve une solution à sa douleur, il se terrait dans sa chambre et refusait d’aller à l’école. Ma fille dessinait sa tristesse avec des marqueurs sur le miroir de sa chambre. Mon ado se donnait à fond dans ses activités scolaires et se tenait occupé pour oublier sa douleur. Nous étions tous assez misérables.

Finalement, dix jours avant Noël, j’ai appelé mon agence de voyages. « Trouvez-moi une plage, un buffet et un vol direct. » Nous avons survécu à ce premier Noël sur la plage d’un tout-inclus à Cuba. Cette thérapie balnéaire s’est-elle avérée utile? Pas vraiment. La vraie guérison a commencé quand j’ai découvert le Hospice Calgary Sage Centre.

Mon fils cadet a commencé à voir l’une des conseillères auprès des jeunes et des familles. Elle l’a aidé à trouver des façons d’exprimer ses sentiments par rapport au cancer de son père et à la mort. Après plusieurs séances, je me rappelle qu’elle lui a demandé « Où est ton papa maintenant? » Il a dessiné un jardin rempli de fleurs. Mon mari y était assis sur un banc, coiffé de son chapeau préféré. Il souriait. Cette sage conseillère avait aidé mon fils à trouver des lieux sûrs pour ranger ces souvenirs douloureux et à réunir ce qu’il lui fallait pour reprendre le cours de sa vie.

Ma fille a participé à groupe de soutien pour enfants endeuillés. Pour elle, c’était de la thérapie par l’art, mais pour moi, c’était un cadeau du ciel. Une fois, les enfants ont fabriqué des décorations souvenir à mettre dans leur sapin de Noël. Pendant les séances des enfants, il y avait une séance pour les parents endeuillés. J’y ai trouvé le soutien d’autres jeunes veuves et veufs qui tâchaient eux aussi d’accompagner leurs enfants dans un deuil bouleversant.

Au fil des ans, j’ai découvert que Hospice Calgary était toujours là pour nous quand les enfants avaient besoin d’un petit coup de pouce pour surmonter leur deuil. Pour Sarah Walker, directrice générale d’Hospice Calgary, ce soutien permanent est la pièce maîtresse du service offert par son établissement. « Nous sommes là pour aider les gens et les familles tant et aussi longtemps qu’ils ont besoin de nous », explique-t-elle.

Je n’ai plus besoin de fuir les fêtes de fin d’année. Ma fille est aujourd’hui une jeune femme, et l’autre jour, elle m’a dit que Noël était son plus beau moment de l’année. J’ai souri et j’ai répondu « Moi aussi. »