PDF Print Article Send to a FriendSend to a Friend
Tips for Visiting

By: CVH Team

Visits from friends can be uplifting, both for the person who is ill and their families. However, as the person becomes weaker, or as caregiving becomes more demanding, families may not have enough energy to meet with visitors. Here are some simple ideas to make sure you arrive at a good time and that your visit is appreciated and useful.

  • Call the person or family members before arriving to see if it is a good time for a visit. If you want to bring children, ask if that would be all right.
     
  • If the person is in an advanced stage of illness, keep your visit to 20-30 minutes or less.
     
  • Try not to interfere with regular schedules. If a meal or snack arrives, encourage the person to eat while you are there, and provide whatever help the person wants.
     
  • If the person is in bed, pull up a chair instead of standing. This allows the person to talk to you at eye level.
     
  • If your visit is longer than 30 minutes, be sensitive to the fact the person may need to use the toilet and may not be comfortable doing so with you there. You could offer to get the primary caregiver or offer to leave if the person needs some privacy.
     
  • Check with a caregiver before bringing food. The person may have a craving for a certain food or have specific food restrictions.
     
  • If the person is in bed, check the bedside table to see that it is well-equipped. Are there tissues, a telephone, a full glass of water, eye glasses (if worn), lotions for skin, or lip balm for lips? If so, you may want to assist the person in using these products.
     
  • Offer to comb the person’s hair or clean their face with a warm washcloth.
     
  • If you are a regular visitor, offer to help organize or limit other visitors.
     
  • If the person says "I’m feeling tired" or something along those lines, respond promptly and cut the visit short.
     
  • Sometimes people grow tired of their surroundings. If they are able, they might enjoy sitting on a deck, or going for a walk or a drive. If they spent most or all of the day in bed, they may enjoy having their bed moved closer to a window, or having the window opened on a nice day.
     
  • If you want to bring a present, ask family members what might be appreciated. Suggestions include a light blanket, new comfortable pyjamas or a small radio, CD player or other electronic equipment.
     
  • Offer to do some errands for the person or the family. This may include grocery shopping, cleaning or yard work (such as shovelling snow or mowing the lawn).
     
  • Be flexible, as plans can change at a moment’s notice. The person may not feel well or may want to change the day’s plan.

As illness progresses, the person who is ill will be less able to take part in conversation, but this does not necessarily mean that visitors should stop coming. Friends and family may still be welcome. Your presence, the touch of your hand or the sound of your voice may provide comfort. The key is to do what the person has asked or what the family requests.

Sometimes, people who are seriously ill do not want any visitors other than immediate family. Even long-time friends may be told that visitors should not come. The person may feel too exhausted to visit, and may feel embarrassed about physical changes that have occurred. This may be upsetting for well-intentioned friends, but it is quite common and should not be taken as a comment on the closeness of the relationship. The person’s wishes should be respected, as their comfort overrides other issues. If visiting is not possible, other ways to show that you are thinking of the person and family include sending a card or e-mail or phoning.

Content reviewed November 2017

PDF Imprimer article EnvoyerEnvoyer
Conseils pour les visites

Par : CVH Team

Des visites des amis peuvent remonter le moral des patients et de leur famille. Par contre, à mesure que le patient s’affaiblit ou que les soins prennent plus de place, il se pourrait que les familles manquent d’énergie pour rencontrer les visiteurs. Voici quelques suggestions pour éviter que votre visite ne tombe à un moment inopportun et pour faire en sorte qu’elle soit appréciée et utile.

  • Appelez à l’avance le patient ou les membres de sa famille pour vérifier si le moment propice pour une visite. Vérifiez si vous pouvez amener les enfants.
     
  • Si le patient est à un stade avancé de sa maladie, limitez les visites à 20 ou 30 minutes.
     
  • Évitez de déranger la routine du patient. Si le repas ou la collation arrive pendant votre visite, encouragez le patient à manger. Aidez-le si nécessaire.
     
  • Si le patient est alité, assoyez-vous au lieu de rester debout; le patient établira ainsi un meilleur contact visuel avec vous.
     
  • Si vous restez plus de 30 minutes et que le patient doit aller à la toilette, il pourrait se sentir incommodé par votre présence. Proposez d’appeler le soignant ou de quitter la pièce.
     
  • Consultez un préposé avant d’apporter de la nourriture; il se peut que le patient aime particulièrement certains aliments ou ait des restrictions alimentaires.
     
  • Si le patient est alité, inspectez la table de chevet pour vérifier qu’elle contient tout de ce dont le patient a besoin. Par exemple : mouchoirs, téléphone, verre d`eau, lunettes (s’il y a lieu), crème pour la peau ou pommade pour les lèvres. Vous pouvez aider le patient à se servir de ces produits.
     
  • Proposez au patient de lui peigner les cheveux ou de lui laver le visage avec une débarbouillette tiède.
     
  • Si vous êtes un visiteur régulier, vous pouvez aider à organiser ou à limiter les autres visites.
     
  • Si le patient est fatigué, ne tardez pas à raccourcir votre visite.
     
  • Il arrive parfois que le patient ait envie de « changer de paysage » : s'asseoir sur la terrasse, faire une promenade à pied ou en voiture, etc. Si le patient passe la majeure partie de son temps au lit, il aimera peut-être que vous rapprochiez son lit de la fenêtre ou que vous ouvriez la fenêtre les belles journées.
     
  • Si vous désirez apporter un cadeau, demandez des suggestions à la famille. Par exemple, une couverture légère, un pyjama neuf ou une radio, un lecteur de disque compact ou autre appareil électronique.
     
  • Proposez de faire des courses pour le patient ou la famille : faire des provisions, faire des travaux ménagers ou des travaux dans la cour (déblayer l’entrée ou tondre le gazon), etc.
     
  • Faites preuve de souplesse, car les plans peuvent changer en tout temps. Il est possible que le patient ne se sente pas bien ou qu’il veuille changer l'horaire de la journée.

Au fur et à mesure que progresse la maladie, le patient sera moins capable de participer aux conversations. Cela ne devrait pas décourager les personnes à visiter le patient. Les amis et la famille peuvent être encore les bienvenus. Votre présence, vos caresses de la main ou l’écoute de votre voix peuvent réconforter le patient. Ce qui importe, c'est d’agir conformément aux demandes du patient ou de la famille.

Il arrive parfois aux personnes gravement malades de ne vouloir que des visites de la famille immédiate. Même les visites d’amis de longue date peuvent être déconseillées. Il se peut que le patient se sente trop fatigué ou qu’il soit gêné par les changements physiques qu'il a subis. Même si les amis bien intentionnés trouveront peut-être cette réalité troublante, ils ne doivent pas l’interpréter comme un jugement sur l’intimité de leur relation. Les désirs du patient doivent être respectés puisque leur bien-être passe avant tout. S’il n’est pas possible de visiter le patient, il existe d`autres façons d’indiquer que vous pensez au patient ou à sa famille. Par exemple, vous pouvez lui envoyer une carte ou un courriel, ou encore lui passer un coup de fil.

Contenu revu en novembre 2017