PDF Print Article Send to a FriendSend to a Friend
Physician-Assisted Suicide and Euthanasia: The Issues

By: Romayne Gallagher MD, CCFP

Physician-assisted suicide or euthanasia seem like reasonable options for people who are suffering because of an incurable condition and cannot get relief.  And so they attract intense interest and discussion.

See also: Physician-Assisted Suicide and Euthanasia: Introduction

Doing whatever it takes to relieve suffering seems humane.  Yet the right to legally end life must be balanced by the responsibility to ensure the right is not abused.

The challenge of finding adequate safeguards against abuse is one of the major debates in physician-assisted suicide and euthanasia. Safeguards must ensure that the decision to seek death is made only by people who can understand such decisions, and who choose of their own free will. Vulnerable people must be protected from influence by others to choose death.

Other debates centre on questions of the "slippery slope" and how to balance physician-assisted dying with expanding quality palliative care. It is important to debate these fundamental issues, as the way we treat the most vulnerable among us says a lot about what our society values.
 

Why some people ask to die

Many people with a life-limiting illness talk about wanting to die. It is part of coming to terms with the illness. It does not mean they are asking for death sooner than later. People who suffer from uncontrolled symptoms such as pain, shortness of breath, nausea and anxiety may also say they want to die. This usually means they don’t want to live the way they do and are not aware of options other than death. Yet evidence shows that when symptoms are controlled with quality palliative care, the wish to die usually goes away.

People who ask to die may not have all the information they need to make a fully informed decision. They may not be aware of palliative care that can alleviate symptoms and remove the wish to die, or those options may not be offered or available where they live. Much work needs to be done to ensure quality palliative care is widely available for all people with a serious illness.

See also: What Is Palliative Care?
 

Ability to make decisions and the request to die

A major concern about assisted death is that person asking to die may not be mentally capable of making such a complex decision. He or she must be able to:

  • remember and understand information;
  • understand the consequences of the options being considered;
  • judge what is best for his or her circumstances;
  • give reasons for the request that are consistent with his or her known beliefs and values.

Effects of illness

Illness can have several effects on the ability to make a medical decision:

  • Dementia, stroke or trauma may damage brain function.
  • Medication may affect the ability to think and reason.
  • Failing organs such as kidney, liver, lung or heart may increase toxins or decrease oxygen in the body, which will make the brain foggy.

Older patients are more likely to develop problems with brain function. Their brains are more fragile than those of younger people, which makes them less resistant to toxins, and more likely to be injured by illnesses such as stroke or dementia.

A sudden change in brain function caused by illness is called delirium. A person’s ability to think and make decisions may change within hours or days. It is easy to spot delirium when a person is agitated, doesn't make sense, or doesn't respond to reason. It is hard to spot delirium when a person is quiet and withdrawn, or when there are no family or friends to report a change in behaviour.

See also: Confusion

Delirium or problems with thinking are common in the last months or weeks of life. When this happens, people may not be capable of making complex medical decisions. Research has shown that health care providers often can't identify those patients. In one study (1), more than 150 hospital patients who appeared normal were given a decision-making test. Of those patients, 50 could not make standard medical decisions. Of the 50 patients, the medical team identified only 12 as unable to make decisions.

Other studies (2) show that memory and judgment problems can last long after the causes of delirium have been treated and the delirium reversed. Often, health care providers don’t detect these difficulties, especially if patients have good social skills and are not asked questions to test their judgment.

Effects of depression

Depression can affect decisions. Up to 25% of people with serious chronic illness are depressed, but often it is not identified and not treated because of the assumption that it is normal to feel depressed with a life-limiting illness. Many people feel down when they get bad news or their health gets worse. But feeling depressed enough to want to die is not normal even with a life-limiting illness. Neither is feeling hopeless, helpless or worthless. These are signs of depression.

In one study (3), 200 terminally ill patients were asked about their desire to die. Researchers found that of those who had a strong desire to die, 59% were depressed. Studies have also shown that anxiety can make people want to die. Treatment of mood and anxiety disorders can often help people feel much better and change their minds about hastening death.

See also: Depression

Effects of external factors

People who ask for death may do it because of the influence of other people.  It may be that they have trouble adjusting to being dependent on others. They may feel they are placing too big a burden on their family and that their death would relieve that burden. They may not have told their family about these concerns.  In most situations the family doesn’t consider caregiving a burden and really wants to help. Some people find the experience of caring for someone enriches their lives.

Patients who have no close family or friends may worry that they will have no help as their illness progresses. They may see death as a way to escape their fear and loneliness.

Concerns about money may make some people ask  to die. While fees for health care are mostly covered in Canada, there are still costs to being ill, which can be a hardship.
 

Safeguards

Safeguards are intended to make sure that people make free, informed decisions, and that they consider all possible options.

In most places where physician-assisted death is legal, two physicians are involved in each request. One physician makes the initial assessment and recommendation, the second physician reviews the recommendation. To safeguard against decisions driven by depression, people with signs and symptoms of depression must be referred to a psychiatrist. Yet some have concerns these safeguards are not always followed. Often only one physician assesses a request for death, and depressed patients are not always referred to a psychiatrist.

All doctors would like to think that they recommend treatment in an unbiased way, with the patient’s best interests in mind. Yet studies (4) show that doctors’ decisions are shaped by a variety of values and concerns that have less to do with the patient than with the doctor. These findings emphasize the need for independent safeguards.
 

“Slippery slope”

Physician-assisted suicide and euthanasia are considered a rare exception and last resort after all other options are exhausted. Yet there are worries that the criteria used to approve assisted death will broaden over time. This could make physician-assisted suicide and euthanasia a first choice rather than last resort in some situations. Another worry is that opening the door to physician-assisted suicide and euthanasia may lead to acceptance of forms of death currently not acceptable. This is the issue of the “slippery slope.”

In the Netherlands and Belgium, physician-assisted suicide initially applied only to patients with a terminal illness. Now the rule is that a person must be “suffering hopelessly and unbearably,” and that the suffering may be physical or psychological. The revised rules have opened the way for people with depression or chronic conditions to ask for death. It is very difficult to define hopeless and unbearable suffering, as studies (5) have shown these can vary over time. This is especially true when there are symptoms such as anxiety, depression or pain.
 

Health care providers' concerns

Studies (6) show that attitudes of health care providers to physician-assisted suicide and euthanasia vary greatly. In general, the health care providers with the most experience in palliative care are the least likely to support physician-assisted suicide and euthanasia, and generally do not provide these services. This may be because doctors have the right to refuse to provide a service they are ethically opposed to, or it may be because they are aware of the many ways to alleviate suffering.

Many health care providers are concerned that allowing physicians to prescribe or administer drugs to end a patient’s life will change the nature of the doctor-patient relationship. Some believe it will lead to a lack of trust in physicians and the medical profession, especially of those working in palliative care.
 

Alternatives to physician-assisted suicide or euthanasia

Palliative care does not try to prolong life or hasten death. The goal of palliative care is to give comfort - to control the patient’s symptoms and support the patient's family. While the goal is to relieve suffering, palliative care professionals recognize that not all suffering can be controlled.  Yet it does not follow that the only response to uncontrolled suffering is to end the person's life. We need to understand more about the nature of suffering. We need research to help us understand what makes suffering tolerable for some people and unbearable for others. We need to understand how we can help to maintain dignity and control to the end of life.

See also: Dignity in Care

We need to ensure that palliative care continues to give patients and their families the best possible quality of life and support. The goal must continue to be respect people's desire to control their lives and maintain their dignity during the dying process. This includes respect for their questions about physician-assisted suicide and euthanasia. It is important that we continue to explore these questions in the context of all options for care at the end of life.

Physician-assisted suicide and euthanasia in Canada

Physician assisted suicide and euthanasia in Canada has been termed medical assistance in dying (MAID). Medical assistance in dying in Canada applies only to people who are fully able to make an informed decision, who have a serious illness, are in an advanced state of decline, are suffering unbearably from their illness, and are at a point where their natural death has become reasonably foreseeable.

A Supreme Court of Canada decision has made medical assistance in dying legal in Canada starting in February 2016.  Bill C-14, legislation on medical assistance in dying in Canada, received royal assent on June 17, 2016.

Decision-making about MAID and provision of medical assistance in dying lies outside the palliative care focus of CVH. 

Information about medical assistance in dying can be found on the Government of Canada’s website. 

The Canadian Virtual Hospice (CVH) provides information and support to manage illness through a palliative approach to care. This website has many valuable articles and videos about serious illness as well as grief and loss. Please search our website for information and supportive ways to cope.
 

References

(1) Raymont V, Bingley W, Buchanan A, David A, Hayward P, Wessely S et al. Lancet 2004; 364:1421-27.

(2) Cole M. Persistent delirium in older hospital patients. Current Opinion Psychiatry 2010: 250-54.

(3) Wilson KG, Chochinov HM, McPherson CJ, et al. Desire for euthanasia or physician-assisted suicide in palliative cancer care. Health Psychol. 2007;26(3):314-323.

(4) Teriman J, Berry D, Cochrane B, Doorenbos A, Schepp K. Physician, patient, and contextual factors affecting treatment decisions in older adults with cancer and models of decision making: a literature review. Oncol Nurs Forum. 2012 Jan;39(1):E70-83.

(5) Chochinov H, Tartaryn D , Clinch J, Dudgeon D. Will to live in the terminally ill. Lancet 1999; 354: 816-19.

(6) Portenoy R, Coyle N, Kash K, et al. Determinants of the willingness to endorse assisted suicide: a survey of physicians, nurses and social workers. Psychosomatics. 1997;38:277-287.

Content Reviewed August 31, 2016

PDF Imprimer article EnvoyerEnvoyer
Suicide médicalement assisté et euthanasie : questions fondamentales

Par : Romayne Gallagher MD, CCFP

Le suicide médicalement assisté ou l’euthanasie semblent des solutions raisonnables pour qui souffre d’une maladie incurable sans soulagement possible. Ils suscitent donc beaucoup d’intérêt et de discussion.

Voir aussi « Suicide médicalement assisté et euthanasie : introduction »

Il semble humain de tout faire pour soulager sa souffrance. Pourtant, il faut trouver l’équilibre entre le droit de mettre légalement fin à sa vie et la responsabilité de veiller à ce que ce droit ne soit pas exercé de manière abusive.

La difficulté d’instaurer des sauvegardes contre l’abus est le principal objet des débats sur le suicide médicalement assisté et l’euthanasie. Il faut en effet s’assurer que la décision de demander la mort ne sera prise que par des gens qui en comprennent les tenants et les aboutissants et qui choisissent librement. Il faut par ailleurs protéger les personnes vulnérables de l’influence des autres à cet égard.

Les débats portent également sur la « pente glissante » et le nécessaire équilibre entre la mort médicalement assistée et le développement de soins palliatifs de qualité. Ce sont des questions fondamentales dont il faut absolument débattre, puisque la façon dont nous traitons les plus vulnérables d’entre nous en dit long sur les valeurs de notre société.

Pourquoi demander la mort?

Nombre de personnes atteintes d’une maladie grave et incurable expriment la volonté de mourir. C’est une façon d’accepter la maladie. Il ne faut pas en déduire qu’elles demandent à mourir le plus tôt possible. Certains patients dont les symptômes, comme la douleur, l’essoufflement, la nausée et l’anxiété, ne sont pas maîtrisés disent aussi vouloir mourir. Il faut comprendre qu’ils ne veulent plus vivre de cette façon et qu’ils ne connaissent pas d’autre solution que la mort. Il est pourtant démontré que lorsque des soins palliatifs de qualité permettent de supprimer les symptômes, la volonté de mourir disparaît généralement.

La personne qui demande à mourir n’a peut-être pas toute l’information dont elle a besoin pour prendre une décision éclairée. Peut-être ne sait-elle pas que les soins palliatifs peuvent la soulager et contrer la volonté de mourir ou peut-être ces services ne sont-ils pas offerts là où elle vit. Il y a beaucoup à faire pour que tous ceux qui souffrent d’une maladie grave aient accès à des soins palliatifs de qualité.

Voir aussi « Que sont les soins palliatifs? »

Capacité de décider et de demander à mourir

L’aide à mourir soulève entre autres graves problèmes celui de la capacité mentale de prendre une décision aussi complexe. La personne qui la demande doit en effet :

  • comprendre et se rappeler l’information fournie;
  • comprendre les conséquences des solutions envisagées;
  • déterminer la solution la mieux adaptée à sa situation;
  • justifier sa demande en évoquant des motifs compatibles avec ses convictions et ses valeurs habituelles.

Les effets de la maladie

Les effets de la maladie sur la capacité de prendre une décision d’ordre médical sont divers :

  • la démence, un accident vasculaire cérébral (AVC) ou un traumatisme portent atteinte aux fonctions cérébrales;
  • la médication peut affecter la capacité de réfléchir et de raisonner;
  • la défaillance d’un organe tels que les reins, le foie, les poumons ou le cœur peut augmenter la quantité de toxines ou diminuer la quantité d’oxygène dans le cœur et, par conséquent, entraîner la confusion.

Les patients âgés sont plus exposés aux troubles cognitifs. Leur cerveau est plus fragile, ce qui les rend plus vulnérable aux toxines et aux atteintes de maladies comme l’AVC ou la démence.

L’altération soudaine des fonctions cognitives provoquée par une maladie s’appelle délire. La capacité de réfléchir et de décider peut changer d’un jour à l’autre, voire en une heure. Le délire est aisément détectable chez une personne agitée, dont les propos sont insensés et qui ne se laisse pas raisonner. Il l’est moins, en revanche, chez une personne qui est calme et réservée ou qui n’a pas de parents ni d’amis pour constater un changement de comportement.

Voir aussi « La confusion »

Le délire et les problèmes cognitifs sont fréquents pendant les dernières semaines ou même les derniers mois de vie. Les personnes touchées ne seront sans doute pas capables de prendre des décisions complexes sur le plan médical. Or, la recherche montre que le problème passe souvent inaperçu des prestataires de soins. Des chercheurs (1) ont soumis à un test décisionnel plus de 150 patients hospitalisés, d’apparence normale. Au total, 50 n’ont pas pu prendre une décision médicale de base, mais l’équipe médicale n’avait reconnu le problème que chez 12 d’entre eux.

D’autres études (2) montrent que les problèmes de mémoire et de jugement persistent parfois longtemps après que les causes du délire ont été traitées et que le délire s’est résorbé. Souvent, les prestataires de soins ne remarquent pas ces difficultés, surtout si les patients ont de bonnes aptitudes sociales et qu’on ne leur pose pas de questions pour évaluer leur jugement.

Les effets de la dépression

La dépression peut également affecter les décisions. Or, elle touche jusqu’à 25 % des personnes souffrant d’une maladie chronique grave, mais elle passe souvent inaperçue et n’est pas traitée, l’hypothèse étant que la déprime est normale chez une personne atteinte d’une maladie grave et incurable. Certes, beaucoup sont déprimés s’ils reçoivent une mauvaise nouvelle ou si leur santé se dégrade. Mais être déprimé au point de vouloir mourir n’est pas normal, même en cas de maladie grave et incurable, pas plus que de perdre espoir, de se sentir démuni ou inutile. Ce sont là des symptômes de dépression.

Des chercheurs (3) ont interrogé 200 malades en phase terminale sur leur désir de mourir. Ils ont constaté que parmi ceux qui souhaitaient ardemment mourir, 59 % étaient déprimés. Des études ont montré par ailleurs que l’anxiété peut également provoquer ce désir de mort. Souvent, le traitement des dérèglements d’humeur et de l’anxiété aide les patients à se sentir beaucoup mieux et à ne plus tant souhaiter une mort accélérée.

Voir aussi « La dépression »

Facteurs externes

Parfois, les personnes qui demandent à mourir sont influencées par d’autres. Certaines ont du mal à accepter l’idée de dépendre d’autrui. Elles ont l’impression qu’elles sont un fardeau pour leur famille et que leur mort soulagerait leurs proches, auxquels elles ne parlent pas nécessairement de ce souci. La plupart du temps, la famille ne considère pas la prestation de soins comme un fardeau et souhaite vraiment aider. Certains trouvent même l’expérience enrichissante sur le plan personnel.

Des patients qui n’ont pas de famille ni d’amis proches craignent de se retrouver sans soutien à mesure que leur maladie progressera. La mort représente un moyen d’échapper à cette crainte et à la solitude.

Enfin, les soucis d’argent en incitent plusieurs à souhaiter la mort. Si le coût des soins de santé est généralement couvert au Canada, la maladie a quand même un prix, trop élevé pour certains.

Sauvegardes

Une sauvegarde est un moyen de faire en sorte que les gens prennent librement une décision éclairée après avoir envisagé toutes les solutions possibles.

Dans la plupart des endroits où l’aide médicale à mourir est légale, chaque demande donne lieu à l’intervention de deux médecins. L’un fait une évaluation initiale et formule une recommandation, et le second examine cette recommandation. Pour éviter que la décision soit motivée par la dépression, la personne qui présente des signes et des symptômes de dépression doit être aiguillée vers un psychiatre. Or, certains s’inquiètent de ce que ces sauvegardes ne soient pas toujours respectées. Il arrive qu’un seul médecin évalue la demande et que les patients ne soient pas évalués par un psychiatre.

Tous les médecins aimeraient croire qu’ils formulent leurs recommandations de manière parfaitement objective et qu’ils ont l’intérêt du patient à cœur. Pourtant, des études (4) montrent que les décisions des médecins sont modulées par une gamme de valeurs et de motifs qui ont moins à voir avec le patient qu’avec le médecin lui-même. Ces résultats confirment la nécessité de sauvegardes distinctes.

Une « pente glissante »

Le suicide médicalement assisté et l’euthanasie sont considérés comme une rare exception et comme un dernier recours, quand toutes les autres solutions ont été tentées. Pourtant, certains craignent que les critères d’autorisation de l’aide à mourir s’élargissent avec le temps. Cela pourrait faire du suicide médicalement assisté et de l’euthanasie un premier choix plutôt qu’une solution de dernier recours. D’autres pensent que c’est une porte ouverte qui inviterait à accepter des formes de mort qui paraissent actuellement inacceptables. C’est le problème de la « pente glissante ».

Aux Pays-Bas et en Belgique, le suicide médicalement assisté n’a d’abord été autorisé que pour les patients dont la maladie était en phase terminale. La règle est maintenant celle de la « souffrance insupportable et sans espoir », physique ou psychologique. Cette modification des règles permet aux personnes en proie à la dépression ou à une maladie chronique de demander la mort. Il est très difficile de définir ce qu’est une souffrance insupportable et sans espoir. Les études (5) montrent en effet que le sens peut varier avec le temps, en particulier en présence de symptômes comme l’anxiété, la dépression ou la douleur.

L’inquiétude des prestataires de soins

Il semble que l’attitude des prestataires de soins à l’égard du suicide médicalement assisté et de l’euthanasie (6) varie énormément. En règle générale, les prestataires de soins qui ont le plus d’expérience en soins palliatifs sont les moins favorables au suicide médicalement assisté et à l’euthanasie, et n’offrent d’ailleurs pas ce genre de service. Ce peut être parce qu’ils ont le droit de refuser de fournir un service auxquels ils sont opposés ou parce qu’ils savent qu’il existe d’autres moyens d’atténuer la souffrance.

Beaucoup de prestataires de soins craignent que le fait d’autoriser les médecins à prescrire ou à administrer un médicament pour mettre fin à la vie d’un patient change la nature de la relation avec le patient. Certains redoutent une méfiance croissante à l’égard des médecins, de la profession en général et, surtout, à l’égard des soins palliatifs.

D’autres solutions

L’objectif des soins palliatifs n’est pas de prolonger la vie ni d’accélérer la mort. Il est de procurer un peu de confort en supprimant les symptômes et en aidant famille et patients. Les praticiens reconnaissent toutefois qu’il n’est pas possible d’éliminer complètement la souffrance, mais il ne s’ensuit pas que la seule réponse soit alors de mettre fin à la vie du patient. Il faut mieux comprendre la nature de la souffrance, comprendre pourquoi certains tolèrent la souffrance et d’autres pas, et comprendre comment aider les patients à rester dignes et maîtres de la situation.

Voir aussi « Dignité dans les soins »

Il faut faire en sorte que les soins palliatifs procurent aux patients et à leur famille la meilleure qualité de vie et le meilleur soutien possible. Il faut continuer de respecter le souhait du patient de maîtriser sa vie et de conserver sa dignité pendant le processus de la mort, c’est-à-dire, entre autres, prêter attention à ses questions sur le suicide médicalement assisté et sur l’euthanasie. Nous devons continuer d’explorer le sujet en n’écartant aucune des formes de soins possibles en fin de vie.

Le suicide médicalement assisté et l’euthanasie au Canada

Au Canada, on utilise le terme aide médicale à mourir (AMM) pour parler du suicide médicalement assisté et de l’euthanasie. Pour être admissible à l'aide médicale à mourir au Canada, une personne doit être en mesure de donner un consentement éclairé, avoir une maladie grave, être dans un état de déclin avancé, souffrir de manière intolérable de sa maladie et être à un point sa mort naturelle est devenue raisonnablement prévisible.

La Cour suprême du Canada a récemment déterminé que l’aide médicale à mourir serait légale, au Canada, à partir de février 2016. Le projet de loi C-14 sur l’aide médicale à mourir au Canada a reçu la sanction royale le 17 juin 2016.

Les réflexions entourant l'AMM ne cadrent pas avec le propos du Portail palliatif canadien.

Pour vous renseigner sur l'AMM, consultez le site du gouvernement du Canada.

Le Portail palliatif canadien offre de l'information et du soutien sur la prise en charge des malades selon une approche axée sur les soins palliatifs. Il présente une foule d'articles et de vidéos intéressants sur les maladies graves ainsi que la perte et le deuil. Consultez notre moteur de recherche pour trouver des ressources et du soutien pour faire face à la maladie.

Références

(1) Raymont V, Bingley W, Buchanan A, David A, Hayward P, Wessely S et al. Lancet 2004; 364:1421-27.

(2) Cole M. Persistent delirium in older hospital patients. Current Opinion Psychiatry 2010: 250-54.

(3) Wilson KG, Chochinov HM, McPherson CJ, et al. Desire for euthanasia or physician-assisted suicide in palliative cancer care. Health Psychol. 2007;26(3):314-323.

(4) Teriman J, Berry D, Cochrane B, Doorenbos A, Schepp K. Physician, patient, and contextual factors affecting treatment decisions in older adults with cancer and models of decision making: a literature review. Oncol Nurs Forum. 2012 Jan;39(1):E70-83.

(5) Chochinov H, Tartaryn D , Clinch J, Dudgeon D. Will to live in the terminally ill. Lancet 1999; 354: 816-19.

(6) Portenoy R, Coyle N, Kash K, et al. Determinants of the willingness to endorse assisted suicide: a survey of physicians, nurses and social workers. Psychosomatics. 1997;38:277-287.

Contenu révisé le 31 août 2016