PDF Print Article Send to a FriendSend to a Friend
Wills

By: CVH Team

What is a will?

A will is a legal, written document that sets out how you want your property and possessions to be distributed after your death. A will also names an executor – the person who will look after your estate after your death and make sure your assets are distributed in the manner set out in your will. If you have young children, your will can name a guardian to look after them in the event of your death.

Provincial and territorial law sets out the requirements for a valid will. A formal will generally has to be signed, dated, and witnessed, and the writer must be of sound mind and have reached a certain age (often 18 year old).

 

Why make a will?
 

A will ensures that your wishes will be carried out with a minimum of expense and delay after your death. Without a will, provincial or territorial legislation will determine how your assets are to be distributed to your family members.

 

Can a will be changed?

Yes, a will can be changed as often as you like. However, changing a will is not as simple as stroking parts out and inserting new text. You will need either to create a new will (making clear that the old will is revoked), or add what’s called a codicil that sets out the change. Codicils must be signed, dated, and witnessed in the same way as a will.

 

What does an executor do?

The role of the executor is to represent your interests after your death. This person will be responsible for paying outstanding debts and carrying out the instructions you have left in your will. The executor will also be responsible for filing a final tax return after your death. Factors to consider in choosing an executor include the age and the health of the person, where they live, their financial stability and their ability to manage the concerns of others and be impartial.

 

What is probate?

To probate a will is to review or test it before a court of law. Probate ensures that the will being used to distribute assets is the "true" last will and testament. Your executor will be required to submit a number of documents to the court registry in order to complete the probate process. Once probate is complete, the executor will receive a formal certificate verifying that the will has been proven. The executor then has the legal authority to distribute the assets as laid out in the will. If the value of the estate is very small, the will may not have to be probated, as some institutions may be willing to transfer small amounts of money or assets directly to your executor.

 

Are some assets dealt with outside the will?

Yes. If you own property as a joint tenant with someone else, for example, the property will be transferred automatically to the surviving partner after your death. All that is needed is for the provincial or territorial land registry office to receive the death certificate naming the deceased property owner. Then, title of the property is transferred solely into the survivor’s name. In addition, life insurance policies and Registered Retirement Savings Plans (RRSPs) allow you to name a beneficiary in the event of your death and these monies are also transferred directly to the named beneficiary upon proof of death.

 

How do I prepare a will?

Most people will get help drawing up a will. Common options include using a lawyer or getting help from a standardized will kit. In addition to actually drawing up a will, a lawyer can provide advice on ways to reduce the amount of tax paid out in the process of distributing your assets.

Whatever path you decide to follow, there are some basic decisions that you will need to make in order to complete your will. You will need to make a list of your assets and liabilities, determine who your beneficiaries will be (who you will leave your assets to), and choose an executor of your estate.

 

Documentation

If you wish to prepare information that will assist survivors or the executor of your estate, the following documents could be useful to have on hand:

  • will
  • birth certificate or proof of citizenship
  • social insurance number
  • marriage license
  • insurance policies
  • bank statements
  • details of any trust accounts
  • deeds to real estate
  • vehicle ownership
  • list of all assets (property, investments, etc.)
  • list of all pension and retirement accounts, including Registered Retirement Savings Plans (RRSPs) and Registered Retirement Income Funds (RRIFs)
  • list of living relatives.

Content reviewed July 15, 2015

PDF Imprimer article EnvoyerEnvoyer
Les testaments

Par : CVH Team

Qu’est-ce qu’un testment?

Le testament est un document juridique qui stipule comment votre propriété et vos biens seront répartis après votre décès. Le document désigne aussi l’exécuteur testamentaire qui verra à ce que votre succession et vos biens soient répartis de la manière prévue au testament. Un tuteur peut aussi y être nommé pour assurer la garde de vos jeunes enfants après votre décès.

Les lois provinciales et territoriales établissent les critères d’un testament officiel. Le testament formel est généralement signé, daté, et attesté par un témoin sensé et compétent ayant atteint un certain âge (le plus souvent 18 ans).
 

Pourquoi faire un testament?

Un testament veille à ce que vos souhaits soient exécutés promptement et sans dépense excessive après votre mort. Sans un testament, vos biens seront distribués à vos proches selon les lois de votre province ou de votre territoire.
 

Peut-on modifier un testament?

On peut le faire aussi souvent qu’on le veut, mais ce n’est pas aussi simple que de rayer des phrases pour les remplacer. Il faudra soit rédiger un nouveau testament (annulant ainsi le précédent), soit y ajouter un codicille, qui énonce la modification. Tout comme un testament, un codicille doit être signé, daté et attesté.
 

Que fait l’exécuteur testamentaire?

Le rôle de l’exécuteur testamentaire es représenter vos intérêts après votre décès. Il aura à payer vos dettes et à assurer l’exécution de vos directives testamentaires. Il aura aussi à faire une dernière déclaration de revenus après votre décès. Au nombre des facteurs à envisager avant de choisir votre exécuteur, mentionnons : l’âge et l’état de santé de la personne, son lieu de résidence, sa stabilité financière et sa capacité de gérer l’intérêt d’autrui sans compromettre son impartialité.
 

Qu’est-ce que l’homologation?

Par homologation testamentaire, on entend le fait de valider le testament de sorte à lui donner force exécutoire. Grâce à l’homologation, on peut veiller à ce que le testament sur lequel on s’appuie pour répartir les biens du défunt est «véritablement» le dernier testament de ce dernier. Il faudra soumettre de la documentation au bureau du greffe de la cour pour mener à bien le processus d’homologation. Lorsque ce processus sera achevé, l’exécuteur recevra un certificat officiel attestant de la validité du testament et du pouvoir juridique dont est investi l’exécuteur pour distribuer les biens tel qu’indiqué dans le testament. Si la valeur de la succession est négligeable, il est possible qu'il ne soit pas nécessaire de faire homologuer votre testament. En effet, certaines institutions financières pourraient être disposées à transférer de petites sommes ou des biens de peu de valeur directement à votre exécuteur.
 

La répartition de certains biens est-elle indépendante du testament?

Oui. Si vous êtes propriétaire conjoint d’un bien immobilier, celui-ci sera automatiquement transféré au partentaire survivant après votre mort. À ce moment-là, on doit faire parvenir au bureau provincial ou territorial des titres fonciers le certificat de décès indiquant le nom du propriétaire décédé du bien immobilier. Le titre est alors transféré exclusivement au détenteur de titre survivant. De plus, les polices d’assurance-vie ainsi que les régimes enregistrés d’épargne-retraite (RÉER) vous permettent de nommer un bénéficiaire en cas de votre décès; les sommes en question sont alors versées directement aux personnes que vous avez désignées, un fois votre décès attesté.
 

Comment rédiger un testament?

La plupart des gens obtiennent de l’aide pour rédiger leur testament. Parmi les options couramment exercées, on note le recours à un avocat ou à une troussse de préparation d’un testament. En plus de vous aider à rédiger votre testament, un avocat peut aussi vous donner des conseils quant aux moyens de réduire les impôts prélevés sur votre succession lors de la répartition de vos biens.

Quoi que vous décidiez, vous aurez à prendre certaines décisions fondamentales afin d’achever votre testament. Vous aurez à dresser une liste de votre actif et de votre passif, à nommer vos bénéficiaires (ceux à qui vous léguerez vos biens) et à choisir l’exécuteur de votre succession.
 

Documentation

Pour aider à vos survivants ou l’exécuteur testamentaire de votre succession, ayez sous la main les documents suivants :

  • testament
  • certificat de naissance ou preuve de citoyenneté
  • numéro d’assurance sociale
  • certificat de mariage
  • polices d’assurance
  • relevés de comptes bancaires
  • détails de comptes en fiducie
  • actes translatifs de biens immobiliers
  • titre de propriété d’un véhicule
  • bilan des actifs (propriétés, investissements, etc.)
  • liste de tous les comptes de pensions et de retraite, y compris les régimes enregistrés d’épargne-retaite (RÉER) et les fonds enregistrés de revenu et de retaite (FERR)
  • liste des survivants de votre parenté.

Contenu revu en décembre 2017