PDF Print Article Send to a FriendSend to a Friend
Help with Eating

By: CVH Team

A person living with an advancing illness will not eat as much as they once did. While it is important not to become too focused on increasing the amount of food a person eats, there are a number of strategies that can be used to increase interest in eating.

One of the simplest tactics is to offer small snacks throughout the day, and to make these snacks high in protein and calories. Cream soups and ice cream are good choices. If the person doesn’t want to eat meat, then look for high protein alternatives such as eggs and fish.

Recognize that people with serious illnesses often become full quickly, sometimes after just a few bites of food. Do not push people to eat more, as nausea and vomiting may result. Despite your concern, focus on making mealtime a social occasion, and avoid making mealtimes a battle ground about eating. Relying on favourite foods can be a good way to ensure the person will be more likely to eat. If the person is being cared for in a hospital or other facility away from the home, ask the medical team about bringing in foods that are not available in that setting. Above all, remember that rejection of food is not a rejection of you.

Here are practical tips to help someone at meal-time:

  • Ensure the person is sitting comfortably and upright to make swallowing comfortable.
     
  • Provide finger foods when eating with cutlery has become difficult.
     
  • Use a spoon whenever practical as opposed to a fork.
     
  • Offer small amounts of food, placed at the front of the mouth, allowing the person time to swallow before offering another bite.

See also: Lack of Appetite and Loss of Weight

Content reviewed July 15, 2015

PDF Imprimer article EnvoyerEnvoyer
Aider une personne à se nourrir

Par : CVH Team

Une personne vivant avec une maladie grave verra son appétit diminuer. Malgré qu’il est important de ne pas trop se concentrer sur l’augmentation de la quantité de nourriture qu’une personne consomme, il y a plusieurs façons de créer un intérêt pour la nourriture.

Un truc fort simple est de faire manger des collations tout au cours de la journée et de s’assurer que ces goûters soient riches en protéines et en calories. Des soupes à base de crème ou de la crème glacée sont de bons choix. Si la personne ne veut pas manger de viande, il y a toujours d’autres aliments riches en protéines (par exemple, les œufs, le poisson).

Il est important de savoir que les personnes malades mangent peu et peuvent se sentir repues après quelques bouchées. Ne les forcez jamais à manger, car elles pourraient avoir des nausées ou vomir. Malgré vos préoccupations, faites du repas un moment agréable et évitez de stresser le patient avec son alimentation. Lui donner de la nourriture qu’il aime peut l’encourager à manger. Si le patient est dans un hôpital ou autre établissement de soins de santé, demandez à l’équipe médicale si vous pouvez apporter des aliments qui ne sont pas disponibles à cet endroit. Sachez que le refus de manger n'est pas un refus de vous voir.

Voici quelques conseils pour les repas :

  • Assurez-vous que la personne est confortablement installée et peut avaler sa nourriture aisément.
     
  • Donnez des aliments qui se mangent avec les mains lorsque le patient commence à avoir de la difficulté à manger avec des ustensiles.
     
  • Utilisez une cuillère plutôt qu’une fourchette.
     
  • Donnez au patient de petites quantités de nourriture, mettez la nourriture devant sa bouche et permettez-lui de bien avaler avant de lui présenter une autre bouchée.

Voir aussi : Le manque d’appétit et la perte de poids

Contenu revu en novembre 2017