PDF Print Article Send to a FriendSend to a Friend
Malignant Wounds

By: Sarah Brown BSc, RN, MN, CNS

 

What is a malignant wound?

A malignant wound is an open cancerous lesion of the skin, which may be draining. It may look like a cavity or open area on the surface of the skin. It may also appear as skin bumps or irregular-looking growths on the skin’s surface. The wound may result because of a primary cancer, or may spread to the skin from another site. Cancers such as breast, head and neck, primary skin, anal-rectal, gastrointestinal and lymphoma are the most common types that cause malignant wounds.

Malignant wounds result from cancerous cells invading the skin and its lymph and blood vessels. They cause tissue to die, which can lead to inflammation and result in infection, bleeding, odour and drainage from the wound. Sometimes the wound becomes very painful.

Malignant wounds can affect a person’s overall quality of life. They can limit independence and cause emotional distress. Continuously assessing these wounds is important because they can change frequently. Unfortunately, advanced malignant wounds often do not heal and are associated with poor prognosis. Treatment is generally directed at managing wound-related pain and symptom issues.

 

What your health care team might ask

Your health care team may ask some questions to assess you, your malignant wound and how it affects you. They will also measure your wound and take a history of your other medical conditions and medications. The team might ask you:

  • How long have you had the wound?
  • Do you know what caused the wound?
  • Have you had any previous treatment such as surgery, radiation or chemotherapy for the wound?
  • What treatments or dressings for your wound have you tried before?
  • Do you have other diseases or health problems such as diabetes, a bleeding disorder and/or a loss of sensation?
  • What medications are you on?  Medications may include something for pain, depression, or infection?
  • Have you lost weight? How is your appetite?
  • Do you have concerns about how you look to others?
  • Does your wound make it difficult for you to go out or socialize with others? Do you feel depressed?
  • Does the wound affect your walking, sitting and/or lying down? Does the wound affect your day-to-day activities?
  • Is your wound painful? Does it hurt to have your dressings changed?
  • How much is the wound draining?
  • What kind of drainage is coming out of the wound? What colour is it? Is it bloody?
  • Is there any odour? How bad is the odour?
  • What does the skin around the wound look or feel like? Is there any redness, swelling, pain or warmth?
  • What are you most concerned about?

 

What your health care team can do

Your health care team may suggest treating malignant wounds with surgery, radiation or chemotherapy. But this may not be an option if your health status is poor, if the wound is bleeding and/or if it involves nearby parts of the body. Palliative radiation, however, may reduce the size of a malignant lesion and improve symptoms such as bleeding or drainage.

Managing malignant wounds includes the following goals: preventing infection, promoting comfort and optimizing your quality of life. Your health care team will focus on addressing issues such as pain, bleeding, odour, infection, too much drainage and emotional distress. They will provide a special wound dressing to help you manage these symptoms.

 

Pain

Pain assessment and management of malignant wounds are important. If you have constant pain, it is likely because the lesion is pressing on nerves or blood vessels. Your health care provider may prescribe a pain medication, such as an opioid, that works around the clock. If you have pain only when your dressing is changed, your doctor and nurse may suggest that you:

  • receive pain medication before the dressing change;
  • have fewer dressing changes, if appropriate (your health care team can advise you);
  • help with the dressing change;
  • use special wound dressings that cause less pain when they are removed; and
  • distract yourself by watching TV or listening to music.

See also: Pain

 

Bleeding

Bleeding is common with malignant wounds. The lesion may erode into blood vessels, or the surface of the wound may be easily damaged and start to bleed. Any dressing that contacts the surface of the wound may stick and can tear the wound when it is pulled off. Blood thinners (such as aspirin, warfarin, or heparin) also increase your risk of bleeding. If bleeding persists, your health care team may consider stopping the blood thinners. Your team may suggest these management options for decreasing bleeding:

  • removing the dressing carefully;
  • using special wound dressings that don’t stick or that help blood clot; and/or
  • soaking the dressing with water before removal.

If you notice a lot of bleeding, apply pressure to the wound for 10–15 minutes and contact your health care team.

 

Odour and infection

The impact of odour from a malignant wound can be very upsetting for you and your family. The odour is caused when bacteria break down proteins in the dead tissue. Bacteria or fungus can also cause a wound infection. Odour and puss-filled drainage are often the first signs of infection. A serious infection may require the appropriate antibiotic or antifungal medication. Your health care team may suggest these management options for wound odour:

  • cleaning the wound by showering or using saline solution;
  • using dressings containing charcoal to cover the wound or using an antifungal medication;
  • placing a container of dry kitty litter under the bed and changing it every few days;
  • using aromatherapy in the room, such as 5–6 drops of vanilla oil, peppermint oil, citronella oil or lemon grass oil on a gauze swab (changing it 3–4 times a day); and/or
  • removing dirty dressings and linens from the room right away.

 

Drainage

You may experience a lot of drainage from a malignant wound. The amount of drainage depends on a number of factors including blood flow or edema in the area. Infection from bacteria in the wound can cause more drainage to occur. Drainage varies in amount and type in malignant wounds. The goal is to prevent drainage from softening the skin surrounding the wound, which can make the skin fragile. To protect the surrounding skin, your health care team may use special dressings to absorb the drainage and reduce the number of times the dressing needs to be changed. They may also use skin barrier creams, sprays and wipes to help protect the surrounding skin.

 

Emotional distress

The presence of a malignant wound can be a constant visual reminder of your cancer. It can be emotionally upsetting and affect your body image and quality of life. A malignant wound can change your relationships with family and friends and make you feel isolated and depressed. A growing lesion often is a sign that your disease is progressing. This can make you feel vulnerable and not in control because you cannot predict what will happen with the wound. Talk to your health care team about the difficulties you are experiencing and what might be helpful. Your health care team may suggest:

  • connecting you with a social worker, counselor, or spiritual care provider who can offer counseling, emotional support, education, and other practical suggestions;
  • a referral for additional help in your home; and/or
  • medications that can help relieve anxiety and depression.

See also: Stress and Distress

See also: Depression

See also: Anxiety

 

When to meet with the health care team

Call your doctor or nurse if you experience any of the following:

  • You notice signs of possible infection, such as increased odour, increased amount or appearance of drainage, increased pain, swelling, redness and warmth in the skin around the wound, or fever. 
  • Your pain medication is not working.
  • You notice more bleeding from the wound or during dressing changes.
  • You are feeling emotionally overwhelmed or depressed.

 

Reviewed by Dr. Vincent Maida, Consultant in Palliative Medicine and Wound Management, William Osler Health System and Associate Professor, Division of Palliative Care, University of Toronto. August 2014.

Content reviewed October 2017

PDF Imprimer article EnvoyerEnvoyer
Les plaies malignes

Par : Sarah Brown B.Sc., inf. aut., MN, ICS

Qu’est-ce qu’une plaie maligne?

Il s’agit d’une lésion ouverte cancéreuse de la peau qui peut couler et prendre la forme d’une cavité, de bosses ou d’excroissances de forme irrégulière. La plaie peut résulter d’un cancer primaire dans la peau comme telle ou d’un cancer qui s’y répand (métastase) d’ailleurs. Outre le cancer de la peau, voici les cancers qui s’accompagnent le plus souvent de plaies malignes : sein, cou, tête, anal-rectal, gastro-intestinal et lymphome.

Les plaies malignes sont causées par des cellules cancéreuses qui envahissent la peau et ses vaisseaux sanguins et lymphatiques. Les cellules détruisent les tissus, provoquant ainsi de l’inflammation, des infections, des saignements, des odeurs, des écoulements et, parfois, une douleur intense.

Chose certaine, ces plaies peuvent miner votre qualité de vie, limiter votre autonomie personnelle et entraîner une détresse émotive. Malheureusement, les plaies dites « avancées » guérissent rarement et sont liées à un pronostic sombre. On vise donc à en gérer la douleur et les autres symptômes, d’où l’importance d’analyser les plaies assidûment, car elles peuvent changer très souvent.

 

Les questions de votre équipe de soins

Votre équipe soignante vous posera probablement des questions pour évaluer votre état, la plaie comme telle et ses impacts sur vous. De plus, elle mesurera la plaie et documentera vos autres troubles de santé et les médicaments que vous prenez. Voici des exemples de questions : 

  • Depuis quand avez-vous la plaie?
  • Savez-vous ce qui l’a causée?
  • Avez-vous déjà fait traiter la plaie au moyen de chirurgie, de radiothérapie ou de chimiothérapie?
  • Quels traitements ou pansements y avez-vous déjà appliqués?
  • Avez-vous d’autres maladies ou affections comme le diabète, des troubles de saignement ou des pertes de sensation?
  • Quels médicaments prenez-vous, par exemple pour la douleur, l’infection ou la dépression?
  • Avez-vous perdu du poids? Comment décririez-vous votre appétit?
  • Est-ce que votre apparence vous préoccupe?
  • Avez-vous du mal à sortir ou à socialiser à cause de votre plaie? Pensez-vous souffrir de dépression?
  • Est-ce que la plaie vous nuit quand vous essayez de marcher, de vous asseoir ou de vous coucher?
  • Est-ce qu’elle dérange vos activités quotidiennes?
  • La plaie est-elle douloureuse? Avez-vous des douleurs quand on en change les pansements?
  • Dans quelle mesure est-ce que la plaie coule?
  • Décrivez-moi l’écoulement. Quelle couleur? Y a-t-il du sang?
  • Y a-t-il une odeur? Est-elle forte ou faible?
  • Décrivez-moi la peau autour de la plaie. Est-elle rouge, enflée, douloureuse ou chaude?
  • Qu’est-ce qui vous inquiète le plus?

 

Comment l’équipe soignante peut vous aider

On peut vous recommander une chirurgie, de la radiothérapie ou de la chimiothérapie, mais pas si votre état de santé n’est pas assez bon, si la plaie saigne ou si elle affecte d’autres parties de votre corps à proximité. La radiothérapie palliative peut cependant réduire la taille de la plaie et contrer le saignement ou l’écoulement.

Le traitement de plaies malignes a divers buts, y compris de prévenir les infections, d’augmenter votre confort et d’optimiser votre qualité de vie. Votre équipe médicale s’attaquera à la douleur, aux saignements, aux odeurs, aux infections, à l’écoulement excessif et à la détresse émotive. Elle vous donnera aussi un pansement spécial pour vous aider à combattre les symptômes.

 

La douleur

Il est important d’évaluer et de gérer la douleur des plaies malignes. Une douleur constante, par exemple, veut probablement dire que la lésion atteint vos nerfs ou vos vaisseaux sanguins. On peut donc vous prescrire un antidouleur qui fonctionne jour et nuit, tel un opioïde. Si vous avez de la douleur au moment de changer le pansement, on peut vous recommander :

  • de recevoir un antidouleur avant;
  • de changer le pansement moins souvent, si possible (votre équipe soignante vous conseillera);
  • qu’une autre personne vous aide avec cette tâche;
  • d’employer des pansements spéciaux moins collants et, tout simplement;
  • de vous laisser distraire par la télé ou la musique.

Voir aussi : Douleur

 

Saignement

Les plaies malignes saignent régulièrement, notamment parce qu’elles écorchent les vaisseaux sanguins ou subissent elles-mêmes des irritations à la surface. Par exemple, les pansements peuvent coller à la surface de la plaie et la déchirer quand on les soulève. De plus, les anticoagulants (qui diluent le sang) comme l’aspirine, la warfarine ou l’héparine augmentent aussi le risque de saignement. Si le trouble persiste, on songe parfois à interrompre les anticoagulants. Voici d’autres suggestions que l’on pourrait vous faire pour combattre le saignement :

  • Enlevez lentement et délicatement les pansements.
  • Employez des pansements spéciaux moins collants qui favorisent la coagulation.
  • Faites tremper le pansement dans l’eau avant de l’enlever.

Si la plaie saigne beaucoup, appliquez-y de la pression pendant 10 à 15 minutes et faites appel à votre équipe soignante.

 

Odeurs et infections

L’odeur d’une plaie maligne peut être bouleversante et embarrassante. Elle est produite lorsque les bactéries décomposent les protéines du tissu mort. De plus, les bactéries ou les champignons peuvent infecter la plaie, les premiers indices étant une odeur et un écoulement purulent (qui contient du pus). Si l’infection est grave, vous aurez peut-être à prendre des antibiotiques ou des antifongiques. Voici ce que votre équipe soignante vous recommandera sans doute pour contrer les odeurs de la plaie:

  • Nettoyez la plaie dans la douche ou à l’aide d’une solution saline.
  • Couvrez la plaie d’un pansement au charbon ou utilisez un antifongique.
  • Mettez un bac de litière pour chat sous le lit et remplacez le tout après quelques jours.
  • Employez l’aromathérapie dans la pièce (p. ex., cinq ou six gouttes d’huile de vanille, de menthe, de citronnelle ou de lemon-grass sur un tampon de gaze).
  • Retirez immédiatement de la pièce la literie et les pansements souillés.

 

Écoulement

Votre plaie maligne risque de couler beaucoup. L’écoulement prend diverses formes et son volume varie selon certains facteurs, y compris la circulation sanguine ou la présence d’un œdème (un excès de fluide). Les infections bactériennes peuvent causer plus d’écoulement aussi. L’objectif consiste à empêcher l’écoulement de ramollir et donc fragiliser la peau dans la zone affectée. À cette fin, votre équipe soignante utilisera des pansements plus absorbants pour limiter le nombre de fois qu’on doit les changer. Elle pourrait aussi appliquer des crèmes, des tampons et des pulvérisateurs protecteurs.

 

Détresse émotive

Votre plaie maligne vous rappelle constamment que vous avez le cancer. Rien d’étonnant, donc, que votre image corporelle et votre qualité de vie en souffrent. De fait, une plaie maligne peut perturber vos relations familiales et sociales et vous faire sombrer dans l’isolement et la dépression. Une lésion qui grossit veut aussi dire que votre maladie progresse, ce qui aggrave vos sentiments d’impuissance et de vulnérabilité parce que vous ne pouvez pas prévoir l’évolution de la plaie. Il importe donc d’en parler à votre équipe soignante pour qu’elle vous prête conseil. Par exemple, l’équipe pourrait :

  • vous proposer des services d’assistance sociale, de counseling ou d’aide spirituelle, sources d’appui, d’information et de conseils pratiques;
  • faire une demande de soins supplémentaires à domicile;
  • vous suggérer des médicaments contre l’anxiété et la dépression.

Voir aussi : Stress et détresse

Voir aussi : Dépression

Voir aussi : Anxiété

 

Quand rencontrer votre équipe soignante

Contactez votre médecin ou votre personnel infirmier si :

  • vous pensez avoir une infection (odeur plus forte, écoulement plus abondant ou différent; douleur plus intense, enflure, rougeur, peau plus chaude, fièvre);
  • vos antidouleurs ne font pas effet;
  • la plaie saigne davantage d’elle-même ou quand vous y changez le pansement;
  • votre déprime ou votre détresse devient écrasante.

Relu par le Dr Vincent Maida, expert-conseil en médecine palliative et en gestion des plaies, William Osler Health System, et professeur agrégé, Division de médecine palliative, Université de Toronto, août 2014.