PDF Print Article Send to a FriendSend to a Friend
Swallowing problems in degenerative brain diseases

By: Romayne Gallagher MD, CCFP

Swallowing problems in degenerative brain diseases

People who have degenerative brain diseases, such as Alzheimer’s, other dementias, Parkinson’s disease and Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis (ALS or Lou Gehrig’s disease), often develop swallowing problems as their disease progresses. This is because the degeneration of the nerves and their complex connections often spreads throughout a person’s nervous system. 

Why does swallowing become a problem?

We take swallowing for granted until we have trouble doing it. Most of us have experienced an episode of choking when food or fluids enter the trachea (windpipe). This is called aspiration, and our lungs respond with a fit of coughing to clear our airway.

Swallowing is a complex action that requires the sensory and motor parts of our brain to work together. When we eat and drink, the brain senses food and fluids in our mouth, moves them safely into the esophagus, and protects the trachea at the same time. Food or fluid then moves down the esophagus into the stomach. Swallowing requires 40 muscles working together with both the sensory and motor parts of the brain. A degenerative brain disease can affect a person’s ability to swallow in different ways, depending on which parts of the brain are affected and how quickly the disease progresses. 

Swallowing problems are serious

When swallowing begins to fail, it signals that a person’s degenerative brain disease is at an advanced or life-threatening stage. Serious infections (pneumonia and lung abscess) develop in the lungs when food and fluids are aspirated into the airways. Almost half of patients with dementia who develop “aspiration pneumonia” will die within the next six months. 

Oral or intravenous antibiotics may cure pneumonia, but the more frequently infections occur, the more likely antibiotics will be ineffective. This is because the person is repeatedly aspirating either food and fluids or saliva, which is an indication that the disease is progressing. In order to clear pneumonia, antibiotics need the help of an effective cough and a strong immune system, both of which are lacking in this phase of illness. Also, with each infection, the person becomes weaker and can harbour more resistant organisms. Complications such as a C. difficile infection in the bowel can arise from repeated courses of antibiotics.

How can the risk of infection be reduced?

To reduce the risk of aspiration, a speech language pathologist (speech therapist) or occupational therapist with training in this area first conducts a swallowing assessment. Once the specific swallowing problem is identified, the pathologist or therapist recommends strategies for preventing aspiration.

Ensuring that the person is awake, sitting upright and concentrating on eating or drinking is essential for reducing the risk of aspiration regardless of the swallowing problem. Avoiding foods that are particularly difficult to swallow can prevent choking. Changing the texture of other foods (for example, by mincing or pureeing) and thickening fluids can make them easier to swallow safely. Feeding a person in this way has been called “feeding at risk” but a better name for it is “careful hand feeding.”

Despite these measures and vigilant feeding by family or staff in a facility, aspiration and infection can still occur. This is because swallowing problems worsen over time and a person’s chest muscles become too weak to cough. As a result, he or she cannot expel fluid or food, and the airway is unprotected. When this occurs, it is called “silent aspiration.” Saliva too can be aspirated, and bacteria in the mouth can cause infections in the lungs.

Is a feeding tube helpful?

Recurring infections and more trouble swallowing signal advanced degenerative brain disease. Often by this stage, the person is no longer able to understand his or her medical issues. Family members are often asked to step in to decide whether their loved one would accept a feeding tube.

What is a feeding tube?

A temporary feeding tube is passed through the nose and into the stomach. Rarely is a temporary tube used for more than a few days, because it is uncomfortable and easily pulled out. 

A long-term feeding tube called a PEG tube (percutaneous gastrostomy tube) is surgically inserted. A scope is passed through the mouth and into the stomach. It presses the stomach against the abdominal wall and a tube is passed from outside the patient’s body into the stomach. With PEG tubes, there is a one-in-ten chance of painful ulcers, infection or tube leakage at the abdominal wall. There is a three-in-a-hundred chance of severe complications, such as serious bleeding, perforation of the bowel, secondary pneumonia, or breakdown of the abdominal wall. 

How effective are feeding tubes?

Many family members feel a feeding tube may prolong life, improve its quality, and possibly reverse their loved one’s degenerative brain disease. However, multiple studies show that people who have degenerative brain diseases do not live any longer with a feeding tube than a similar group of people who are fed carefully by hand. Studies also show that a feeding tube does not reduce the risk of aspiration. It is still possible to aspirate saliva and develop a serious pneumonia. 

The progressive weakness related to degenerative brain disease isn’t because of lack of intake. It is the outcome of the natural progression of the illness. The tube does not affect the progression of the disease nor does it improve a person’s quality of life

Many family members want a feeding tube for their loved one because they do not wish him or her to feel hunger. However, a person’s desire to eat lessens as end of life approaches. As well, many people with advanced degenerative brain diseases are not very active. They do not need as many calories as they did when they were mobile.

Complications 

While the feeding tube can get food safely to a person’s stomach, it cannot prevent aspiration of saliva into the lungs. As well, the feeding tube cannot prevent aspiration of food into the lungs if the person has gastric reflux (food passing from the stomach back into the esophagus because of a leaky stomach valve). 

Advantages of careful hand feeding 

Careful hand feeding has many advantages over tube feeding. It allows the person to still experience the taste of food and interact with others. Preserving these important parts of eating may result in a higher quality of life for a loved one. Careful hand feeding reduces the use of medications needed to treat the discomfort of the tube.

Careful hand feeding is the simplest and most satisfying way for a person to continue eating. The recommended approach is small amounts of favourite foods. If the person refuses food, then basic mouth care is offered.

See also: Care of the Mouth

How do you make the best decisions?

Dealing with complex decisions in advanced disease can be very stressful for the family. So it is important for family members to support each other through these times. It also is not uncommon for family members to have differing opinions about what is best for their loved one. This is when it is essential for family members to focus on what they believe their loved one would prefer rather than on what they would wish to see happen. The health care team can help support families through these difficult conversations.

Decisions at this time are best made with the health care team and family working together. The health care team can explain the options available for a loved one, given his or her stage of illness. The health care team can also outline what is and isn’t medically possible and appropriate. The family can give insight into what their loved one would prefer if he or she were able to speak for themselves.

See also: Health Care Decisions: An Approach to Decision Making and Advance Care Planning.  

Content reviewed October 2017

PDF Imprimer article EnvoyerEnvoyer
Troubles de déglutition chez les personnes atteintes d’une maladie dégénérative du cerveau

Par : Romayne Gallagher MD, CCFP

Troubles de déglutition chez les personnes atteintes d’une maladie dégénérative du cerveau

Les personnes atteintes d’une maladie dégénérative du cerveau – p. ex. maladie d’Alzheimer ou autres formes de démence, maladie de Parkinson, sclérose latérale amyotrophique (SLA ou maladie de Lou Gehrig) – développent souvent des troubles de déglutition durant leur maladie. Ces troubles sont dus à la dégénérescence des nerfs et de leurs connexions complexes qui se propage au système nerveux de la personne malade.

Pourquoi l’acte d’avaler devient-il problématique?

La déglutition – l’action d’avaler – est un phénomène que l’on tient pour acquis jusqu’à ce qu’il devienne difficile à exécuter. La plupart des gens se sont déjà étouffés parce qu’un morceau de nourriture ou du liquide était entré dans leurs voies respiratoires (la trachée). On parle alors d’« aspiration », phénomène auquel les poumons réagissent en provoquant une toux pour dégager les voies respiratoires.

La déglutition est une action complexe qui nécessite la coordination des parties sensorielles et motrices du cerveau. Lorsque nous mangeons ou buvons, le cerveau ressent les aliments ou les liquides dans notre bouche, et les fait passer de façon sécuritaire dans l’œsophage tout en protégeant la trachée. Les aliments ou les liquides poursuivent alors leur trajet dans l’œsophage jusqu’à l’estomac. La déglutition nécessite la coordination de 40 muscles et des parties sensorielles et motrices du cerveau. Une maladie dégénérative du cerveau peut diminuer de plusieurs façons la capacité d’avaler, selon les parties du cerveau atteintes et la rapidité de la progression de la maladie.

Les troubles de déglutition sont à prendre au sérieux

Quand une personne atteinte d’une maladie dégénérative du cerveau commence à avaler avec difficulté, c’est signe que sa maladie arrive à un stade avancé et que la fin de la vie approche. Une infection grave (pneumonie ou abcès du poumon) risque de toucher les poumons si des aliments ou des liquides sont aspirés par les voies respiratoires. Près de la moitié des patients atteints de démence qui contractent une « pneumonie d’aspiration » meurent au cours des six mois suivants.

La pneumonie se traite avec des antibiotiques oraux ou intraveineux. Toutefois, plus les infections sont fréquentes, mois les antibiotiques seront efficaces. Ce phénomène tient au fait que la personne aspire de la nourriture et du liquide ou de la salive à répétition, ce qui indique que la maladie progresse. Pour guérir la pneumonie, les antibiotiques ont besoin d’une toux efficace et d’un système immunitaire fort, deux éléments qui font défaut à ce stade la maladie. À chaque infection, la personne malade s’affaiblit un peu plus et risque d’accueillir des organismes plus résistants aux traitements. Des complications comme une infection à la bactérie C. difficile dans les selles résultent parfois de la prise d’antibiotiques à répétition.

Comment peut-on réduire le risque d’infection?

Pour réduire les risques de pneumonie d’aspiration, on peut d’abord demander à un orthophoniste ou à un ergothérapeute formé dans ce domaine d’évaluer la déglutition. Une fois les troubles de déglutition identifiés, l’orthophoniste ou l’ergothérapeute recommandera des stratégies pour prévenir le risque de pneumonie.

Voir à ce que la personne malade soit bien éveillée, assise bien droite et bien concentrée sur son alimentation ou son hydratation contribuera à réduire les risques d’aspiration, et ce, qu’elle présente des troubles de déglutition ou non. On réduira de plus les risques d’étouffement en évitant les aliments particulièrement difficiles à avaler. La transformation des aliments (hachés ou réduits en purée) et l’épaississement des liquides facilitent également la tâche du patient.

Malgré toutes ces mesures et la vigilance des membres de la famille ou du personnel, la pneumonie d’aspiration et les infections demeurent possibles. En effet, les troubles de déglutition empirent avec le temps, et les muscles de la poitrine de la personne malade deviennent trop faibles pour lui permettre de tousser. Résultat : elle ne peut plus expulser le liquide ou les aliments, et les voies respiratoires ne sont plus protégées. On parle alors d’« aspiration silencieuse ». Le patient peut aussi aspirer de la salive, et les bactéries présentes dans la bouche risquent de causer des infections aux poumons.

Une sonde d’alimentation pourrait-elle aider?

Les infections à répétition et l’aggravation des troubles de déglutition sont signe que la maladie dégénérative du cerveau a atteint un stade avancé. À ce stade, la personne malade n’est généralement plus en mesure de comprendre ses problèmes médicaux. C’est alors qu’on demande aux membres de la famille d’intervenir pour décider si l’on procède à l’alimentation artificielle par sonde.

Qu’est-ce qu’une sonde d’alimentation?

Une sonde d’alimentation temporaire est introduite par le nez jusqu’à l’estomac. Il est rare qu’une sonde temporaire serve plus que quelques jours parce qu’elle est inconfortable et ne reste pas très bien en place.

Pour le plus long terme, on installera plutôt une sonde de gastrostomie par voie chirurgicale. Il s’agit d’introduire un endoscope dans l’estomac du patient en passant par la bouche. L’endoscope pousse l’estomac contre la paroi abdominale, et la sonde est introduite dans l’estomac par peau de l’abdomen. Chez les patients à qui l’on pose une sonde de gastrostomie, le risque d’abcès grave, d’infection ou de fuite des nutriments dans la paroi abdominale s’élève à un sur dix. Le risque de complication grave – hémorragie, perforation du tube intestinal, pneumonie secondaire, dégradation de la paroi abdominale – s’élève à trois sur cent.

Quelle est l’efficacité de la sonde d’alimentation?

Bien souvent, les proches croient que l’alimentation artificielle prolongera la vie de leur être cher, améliorera sa qualité de vie ou même renversera la maladie dégénérative du cerveau. Toutefois, de nombreuses études montrent que les gens qui souffrent d’une maladie dégénérative du cerveau ne vivent pas plus longtemps s’ils ont une sonde d’alimentation que s’ils sont nourris oralement avec soin. Des études montrent aussi qu’une sonde d’alimentation ne réduit pas les risques d’aspiration. Il demeure possible que le patient aspire de la salive et contracte une pneumonie grave.

La faiblesse progressive liée à la maladie dégénérative du cerveau n’est pas causée par le fait de ne pas manger; elle est plutôt due à la progression naturelle de la maladie. La pose d’une sonde n’influence pas la progression de la maladie et n’améliore pas la qualité de vie de la personne malade.

Les proches choisissent souvent l’alimentation artificielle parce qu’ils ne veulent pas que la personne malade ressente la faim. Il faut toutefois savoir que le désir de manger diminue à l’approche de la fin de la vie. De plus, les personnes souffrant de maladies dégénératives du cerveau à un stade avancé ne sont pas très actives. Elles n’ont donc pas besoin d’autant de calories qu’à l’époque où elles étaient mobiles.

Complications

Si la sonde d’alimentation achemine les aliments de façon sécuritaire jusqu’à l’estomac de la personne malade, elle n’empêche pas cette dernière d’aspirer de la salive par les poumons. En outre, la sonde d’alimentation ne peut empêcher l’aspiration de nourriture dans les poumons si la personne a des reflux gastriques (remontée d’une partie du contenu de l’estomac dans l’œsophage causée par le mauvais fonctionnement du sphincter œsophagien).

Les avantages de l’alimentation orale prodiguée avec soin

L’alimentation orale prodiguée avec soin comporte de nombreux avantages par rapport à l’alimentation artificielle. Elle permet à la personne malade de continuer à goûter les aliments et d’interagir avec d’autres personnes. Le fait de préserver ces aspects importants de l’alimentation peut avoir pour effet d’améliorer la qualité de vie du patient. Ce mode d’alimentation réduit en outre l’utilisation de médicaments pour réduire l’inconfort de la sonde.

Pour la personne malade, l’alimentation orale est la façon la plus simple et la plus satisfaisante de continuer à manger. On recommande de lui donner de petites quantités de ses aliments préférés; si elle les refuse, on prodigue les soins de la bouche.

Voir aussi : Soins de la bouche

Comment prendre les meilleures décisions possibles?

Prendre des décisions complexes dans le contexte d’une maladie avancée peut être très stressant pour la famille. Il est donc important de s’entraider durant ces moments difficiles. Il n’est pas rare que les opinions divergent quant à ce qui convient le mieux à la personne malade. C’est dans de tels cas que les membres de la famille doivent se concentrer sur ce que la personne malade aurait préféré plutôt que sur leurs choix personnels. Les membres de l’équipe soignante peuvent aider les familles à discuter de ces sujets difficiles.

À cette étape, les décisions se prennent idéalement en collaboration entre la famille et l’équipe soignante. Cette dernière peut expliquer les options qui s’appliquent à la personne malade, compte tenu du stade de sa maladie. Elle peut aussi préciser ce qui est médicalement possible et souhaitable et ce qui ne l’est pas. De son côté, la famille dira ce que la personne malade aurait choisi si elle avait pu le faire elle-même.

Voir aussi : Décisions en matière de soins de santé : Stratégie pour la prise de décision et la planification préalable des soins.

Figure 1. L’insertion d’une sonde de gastrostomie.

Voir l’image au : http://www.gastrosanmarcos.com/peg.html

Figure 2. Comment la sonde de gastrostomie reste en place dans l’estomac.

Voir l’image au : health.rush.edu/HealthInformation/women’s center/3/100125.aspx


Contenu revu en octobre 2017