Communication

    By: Lysa Toye MSW, RSW, DipEXAT (An explanatory note: Adults caring for children are not always their parents. They may be grandparents, aunts and uncles, siblings or foster parents - particularly when the person in a family who is dying, or... read more...

    By: Brenda Hearson RN, MN, CHPCN(C), CNS and Cornelius Woelk MD, CCFP, FCFP Good communication is an important part of good health care. Some people find it hard to talk to their doctor or health care team, especially about serious illness or... read more...

    By:   CVH Team Visits from friends can be uplifting, both for the person who is ill and their families. However, as the person becomes weaker, or as caregiving becomes more demanding, families may not have enough energy to meet with visitors. read more...

    By:   Susan McClement RN, PhD and Simone Stenekes RN, MN, CHPCN(C), CNS Explaining the serious illness of a family member or friend to a child or youth can seem overwhelming. Adults who are themselves feeling emotions related to a family member’s... read more...

    By: Andrea Warnick RN, MA Parents want to protect their children from emotional pain and suffering. This natural parental urge can be difficult to balance with the desire to be honest and upfront about harsh realities, such as talking about... read more...

    By:   CVH Team You may be nervous about talking to someone who is not expected to live much longer. The big question is often whether to be up front and talk about the illness or try to ignore it. The best advice is to be yourself. Be open to... read more...

    By: Glen R. Horst MDiv, DMin, BA Knowing what to say to someone who is dying and when to say it can be difficult. The following tips may be useful at any point during a serious illness, but especially when the person is not expected to live... read more...

    When someone you know dies, you are affected in one way or another. The depth of your relationship with the person who has died or their family or friends affects how you might offer support. By offering condolences, or expressions of comfort... read more...

Communication

    Par : Lysa Toye (Un mot d’explication : Les adultes qui prennent soin des enfants ne sont pas toujours leurs parents. Ce sont parfois leurs grands-parents, tantes et oncles, frères, sœurs ou parents de famille d’accueil, surtout si la personne... lire davantage...

    Par : Brenda Hearson inf. aut., MN, CHPCN(C), CNS et Cornelius Woelk MD, CCMF, FCFP La qualité de la communication compte pour beaucoup dans la qualité des soins de santé. Malheureusement, on a parfois du mal à parler avec le médecin ou l’équipe... lire davantage...

    Par :   CVH Team Des visites des amis peuvent remonter le moral des patients et de leur famille. Par contre, à mesure que le patient s’affaiblit ou que les soins prennent plus de place, il se pourrait que les familles manquent d’énergie pour... lire davantage...

    Par : Susan McClement RN, PhD et Simone Stenekes inf. aut., MN, CHPCN(c) Parler aux enfants et aux adolescents de la maladie grave d'un membre de la famille peut être difficile. Les adultes qui vivent de fortes émotions par rapport à la maladie... lire davantage...

    Par : Andrea Warnick inf. aut., M. A. Comme parents, vous tenez à protéger vos enfants de la souffrance émotionnelle. Il est donc difficile de trouver le juste milieu entre cet instinct naturel et votre désir de leur parler honnêtement et ouvertement... lire davantage...

    Par :   CVH Team Vous serez peut-être nerveux quand vous parlerez à une personne qui va bientôt mourir. La grande question : doit-on parler ouvertement de la maladie, ou faire comme si elle n'existait pas? On conseille généralement aux gens d’être... lire davantage...

    Par : Glen R. Horst, M. Div., D. Min., B. A. Il n'est pas toujours facile de savoir quoi dire à une personne mourante. Les conseils qui suivent peuvent s'avérer utiles à tout moment durant une maladie grave, mais en particulier lorsque la personne... lire davantage...

    Le décès d’une personne que vous connaissez vous affecte, et la relation que vous entreteniez avec elle ou avec sa famille ou ses amis détermine le soutien que vous leur offrez. En présentant vos condoléances ou votre désir de réconforter, vous... lire davantage...