Final Days

    By Andrea Warnick RN, MA When a family member or friend is dying, many parents struggle with how much of the dying process they should allow their children to witness. It is not uncommon for a dying adult, who lives with their children or grandchildren,... read more...

    By: Mike Harlos MD, CCFP(PC), FCFP Overview In the final phase of progressive life-limiting illness, patients and families face changes, challenges and choices that are unfamiliar and can seem overwhelming. This article offers information about... read more...

    By: CVH Team When an expected death occurs after a long illness, it can seem unbelievable. The whole situation may feel unreal, and difficult to grasp what has actually happened. Even if you think you have prepared yourself – at least intellectually... read more...

    By: Glen R. Horst MDiv, DMin, BA Family members or close friends may choose to be involved in washing and dressing the body after death has occurred. Caring for a body is not easy and can stir up strong emotions. See Moments After a Death . read more...

    Our Partners
    Asked and Answered
    Asked and Answered

    Find out what Canadians
    are asking

    Ask a Professional
    Ask a Professional

    Our team of experts answers
    your questions about
    life-threatening illness and loss.

    Just want to talk?
    Just want to talk?

    Join the Discussion
    Forums

    Books, Links, and More
    Books, Links, and More

    Recommended by our team

    Programs and Services
    Programs and Services

    Find local, regional,
    and national services

Derniers jours

    Par : Andrea Warnick inf. aut., M. A. Lorsqu’une famille est sur le point de perdre un des siens ou un ami, les parents se torturent souvent l’esprit à savoir jusqu’à quel point leurs enfants devraient être exposés au processus de la mort. Il... lire davantage...

    Par : Mike Harlos MD, CCFP, FCFP Tour d’horizon Aux derniers stades d’une maladie évolutive terminale, les patients et leurs proches sont confrontés à des changements et à des choix inhabituels, voire bouleversants. Ce texte explique ce à quoi... lire davantage...

    Par :   CVH Team Lorsque la mort survient après une longue maladie, il arrive que l'entourage n’arrive pas à y croire et comprenne difficilement ce qui est vraiment arrivé. La situation semble parfois irréelle. Même les personnes qui se croient... lire davantage...

    Par : Rév. Glen R. Horst Il arrive que les proches et amis veuillent prendre part à la toilette et à l’habillage du défunt. Donner des soins mortuaires à un défunt n'est pas une tâche facile et peut déclencher de vives émotions. Voir : Après... lire davantage...