Quick Consults


    Communication

    It is difficult to know how to respond to a child when he or she says, “I don’t want to die.”   Children often understand much more than we give them credit for. Children often say things to or ask questions of the people they trust and know will be honest with them. This child feels comfortable broaching this subject with you and has opened... read more...
    Talking about death and dying is difficult for many patients, families and health care providers. Death is not often talked about openly in society, so when faced with having to start that difficult discussion, many feel lost, worried and uncertain about how to begin. To complicate matters, all patients have their own coping and communication... read more...
    Racist comments can be both discouraging and hurtful for a caregiver. They shift the focus from the quality of the care you provide to who you are as a person in a way that dishonours both. One way of responding is to make a simple statement about how the comment makes you feel and then shift the attention back to the care the patient is receiving. read more...
    Communication between team members requires ongoing attention and effort to make it work in the best way possible. Any conflict can create barriers to effective communication. This affects the team as well patients and their families. A good place to start is with self-examination and reflection. Be aware of what you are thinking, how you... read more...
    Many professionals struggle with initiating conversations about end-of-life care. Some common barriers include finding the right moment, choosing words that will open the door, and being informative and empowering but not threatening to the person’s sense of hope. In our experience, people who are living with the diagnosis of a terminal condition... read more...
    People working in healthcare commonly find themselves providing care to someone they know. In some settings it may be possible to switch assignments. However, when the patient is known to staff, or the community is small, this won’t be an option. Depending on the relationship that former colleagues had with the patient, caring for her may... read more...

Questions-réponses


    Communication

    Il est difficile de répondre à l’enfant qui dit « je ne veux pas mourir ». Les enfants comprennent bien mieux que nous le croyons. Les enfants parlent ou posent des questions aux gens en qui ils ont confiance et dont ils attendent des réponses honnêtes. L’enfant qui se sent à l’aise d’aborder ce sujet avec vous ouvre la porte au dialogue. lire davantage...
    Les questions entourant la mort ne sont pas toujours des sujets faciles à discuter pour les patients, les familles et les prestataires de soins. La mort n’est pas un sujet dont on parle très ouvertement dans notre société, de sorte que lorsque les circonstances les obligent à aborder ce sujet difficile, beaucoup de gens se sentent perdus ou... lire davantage...
    Les propos racistes peuvent blesser et décourager le personnel soignant. Ils détournent l’attention autrement portée à la qualité des soins pour la diriger vers vous en tant que personne. Un double déshonneur. Cela dit, vous pouvez dans un premier temps expliquer le malaise que le commentaire vous fait ressentir et ensuite ramener l’attention... lire davantage...
    La communication au sein de l’équipe exige une attention et des efforts soutenus. Or tout conflit peut nuire à son efficacité. Le cas échéant, tout le monde en souffre : l’équipe, le patient et sa famille. En cas de conflit, l’une des meilleures stratégies consiste à réfléchir d’abord à ce que vous-même pensez de la situation, à votre façon... lire davantage...
    Bon nombre de professionnels ont de la difficulté à engager une discussion sur les soins de fin de vie . Ils n’arrivent pas trouver un moment propice ou les mots qu’il faut pour aborder le sujet, ou encore à donner de l’information et à outiller le patient, sans toutefois lui faire perdre l’espoir qu’il lui reste. Nous avons constaté que les... lire davantage...
    Il arrive souvent que des travailleurs de la santé soient appelés à donner des soins à quelqu’un qu’ils connaissent. Dans certains établissements, on peut parfois modifier l’affectation des tâches. Mais lorsque le personnel connaît le patient, ou que les ressources sont limitées, cette solution n’est pas une option. Prodiguer des soins à un... lire davantage...