Quick Consults


    Symptoms

    When weighing end-of-life interventions in progressive life-limiting illness, it is usually helpful to consider the hoped-for goals and whether the intervention is expected to achieve them. With feeding, there are various goals people might seek, such as: Preventing hunger. Preventing malnutrition―Malnutrition is a physiological term and does... read more...
    Refractory edema in advanced metastatic cancer is one of the more challenging clinical problems. Diuretic therapy tends not to be particularly effective. Occasionally, there may be contributing factors that can be fully or partially addressed. There may be inferior or superior vena cava obstruction by clot (for which anticoagulation may be... read more...
    Odour from wounds results from bacteria that reside in necrotic wound tissue. Odour associated with malignant fungating wounds can be upsetting and may contribute to the suffering of the patient and the family. Fungating wounds also present challenging management issues for health care providers.   Based on clinical practice and a review of... read more...
    There are no specific best practice guidelines on the use of oxygen at the end of life. The first distinction that must be made is between the use of oxygen in unconscious and conscious patients. Frequently, oxygen is continued in patients who are deeply unconscious and in their final hours of life. As with all interventions, it is important... read more...
    Constipation is a very common symptom in patients with advanced disease of any kind, including cancer. Patients at the end of life have many reasons for becoming constipated, including immobility, reduced fluid intake, and the use of a number of medications. Patients frequently need to have bowel movements in inconvenient and unfamiliar places,... read more...
    Information is limited regarding the long-term use of polyethylene glycol (PEG). Some of the information available suggests that it is the most effective for the first 14 days of treatment. However, geriatric resources produced by the American Society of Consultant Pharmacists suggest continuing the use of PEG if it still meets your therapeutic... read more...
    First, there is room to increase the Senokot dose to eight tablets daily at bedtime. If this is not effective, it is possible to introduce polyethylene glycol and decrease the daily Senokot dosage. Sennosides (such as Senokot) and osmotic laxatives (such as polyethylene glycol or Lactulose) have a different mechanism of action. If the response... read more...
    Dyspnea is a common symptom in end-stage heart failure, and, in addition to optimizing cardiac medications, opioids can be very effective in reducing the sensation of air hunger. However, there is often some reluctance to prescribe opioids in patients with respiratory compromise, and there is some conflicting information about the safety of... read more...
    Bisacodyl (Dulcolax) belongs to the same therapeutic class as sennosides (a stimulant laxative that acts on the intestinal wall to promote motility and bowel movement). The onset of action for bisacodyl tablets is approximately 10―12 hrs, and the bisacodyl suppository is approximately 15 minutes. If you are using the tablets, use a similar... read more...
    Polyethylene glycol (PEG) is an osmotic laxative . It acts by absorbing more moisture into the stool, increasing the fecal volume, and inducing a laxative effect. The typical onset of action for Miralax is 1―2 days for constipation and 1―3 days for fecal impaction . It is contraindicated in severe inflammatory intestinal conditions and intestinal... read more...
    Sennosides is a mixture of two naturally occurring plant glycosides (sennosides A and B). It works in the large intestine, acting directly on the submucosal plexus and the deeper myenteric plexus to stimulate propulsive waves. The typical onset of action for sennosides is 6―12 hours. Ideally, it should be taken at bedtime, with an expectation... read more...
    Docusate is a surface-wetting agent, more commonly known as a stool softener . If prescribed, it should always be combined with a stimulant like Senokot. Current published literature indicates that patients usually respond as well to sennosides alone as they do when sennosides are combined with docusate. One of the few times when docusate... read more...
    Fever is a common symptom at the end of life. It can mean there is an infection, which often indicates an end-of-life pneumonia. But fever may also be associated with other causes, such as a cytokine-induced fever produced by a cancer, which is referred to as “tumour fever.” The investigation and/or treatment of fever is based on life expectancy... read more...
    If reversible issues may be causing or contributing to nausea, these will need to be addressed if possible and appropriate. These may include the following: medication side effects (consider switching from hydromorphone to a fentanyl patch); severe constipation (consider an abdominal X-ray if one has not been done); metabolic abnormalities... read more...
    End-stage secretions (commonly referred to as “death rattle”) is known to occur in between 12 and 92 percent of patients, with the median time from onset of death rattle until death between 11 and 28 hours. A question around secretions is whether they originate from the throat and salivary glands, or from the lower respiratory tract, possibly... read more...

Questions-réponses


    Symptômes

    Lorsqu’on envisage une intervention à l’égard d’un patient atteint d’une maladie progressive à issue fatale, il est généralement utile de se demander si ladite intervention permettra d’atteindre les objectifs voulus. En ce qui concerne l’alimentation, les objectifs peuvent être nombreux : Prévenir la faim. Prévenir la malnutrition – Le terme... lire davantage...
    L’œdème réfractaire chez les patients atteints d’un cancer métastatique avancé est l’un des problèmes cliniques les plus compliqués. Les diurétiques ont tendance à ne pas être très efficaces. Parfois, il est possible d’agir entièrement ou partiellement sur les facteurs contributifs. La veine cave supérieure ou inférieure peut être obstruée... lire davantage...
    L’odeur qui émane d’une plaie est causée par une invasion bactérienne des tissus nécrotiques. L’odeur liée aux plaies malignes peut déranger et exacerber la souffrance du patient et de sa famille et poser un problème de prise en charge aux prestataires de soins. La pratique clinique et la littérature courante fournissent quelques suggestions... lire davantage...
    Il n’y a pas de guides des bonnes pratiques consacré expressément à l’usage de l’oxygène en fin de vie. La première distinction qui s’impose concerne l’état de conscience du patient. Souvent, on continue de donner de l’oxygène à un patient profondément inconscient, qui n’a plus que quelques heures à vivre. Or, comme pour toute intervention,... lire davantage...
    La constipation est un symptôme très courant chez les patients atteints d’une maladie avancée, quelle qu’elle soit, y compris le cancer. Les causes de la constipation chez les patients en fin de vie sont nombreuses, notamment l’immobilité, la diminution de l’apport hydrique et la consommation de plusieurs médicaments. Les patients ont fréquemment... lire davantage...
    L’information sur l’utilisation à long terme du glycol polyéthylénique (PEG) est limitée. Certaines informations suggèrent que c’est le traitement le plus efficace pendant les 14 premiers jours. Cependant, certaines ressources gériatriques produites par l’American Society of Consultant Pharmacists suggèrent de continuer à utiliser les PEG... lire davantage...
    Premièrement, il est possible d’augmenter la dose de Senokot jusqu’à 8 comprimés par jour au coucher. Si cette dose n’est pas efficace, on peut introduire du glycol polyéthylénique et diminuer la dose quotidienne de Senokot. Les sennosides (comme le Senokot) et les laxatifs osmotiques (comme le glycol polyéthylénique ou le lactulose) ont un... lire davantage...
    La dyspnée est un symptôme courant en cas d’insuffisance cardiaque terminale. En plus d’optimiser les médicaments cardiaques, les opioïdes peuvent s’avérer très efficaces pour réduire la sensation de respiration de Kussmaul. Cependant, on observe souvent une réticence à prescrire des opioïdes aux patients souffrant d’insuffisance respiratoire,... lire davantage...
    Le bisacodyl (Dulcolax) appartient à la même classe thérapeutique que les sennosides (un laxatif stimulant qui agit sur la paroi intestinale en facilitant la motilité et l’évacuation des selles). Les comprimés de bisacodyl commencent à agir environ 10 à 12 heures après la prise et le suppositoire après environ 15 minutes. Si vous utilisez... lire davantage...
    Le glycol polyéthylénique (PEG) est un laxatif osmotique. Il absorbe plus d’humidité dans les selles, augmente le volume fécal et produit un effet laxatif. Le Miralax commence généralement à agir après 1 à 2 jours en cas de constipation et après 1 à 3 jours en cas de fécalome . Il est contre-indiqué en cas de manifestations intestinales inflammatoires... lire davantage...
    Les sennosides sont une combinaison de deux plantes contenant des glycosides naturels (sennosides A et B). Ils agissent dans le gros intestin, directement sur le plexus sous-muqueux et sur la couche plus profonde, le plexus myentérique, et stimulent les ondes propulsives. Généralement, les sennosides commencent à agir de 6 à 12 heures après... lire davantage...
    Le docusate est un agent mouillant mieux connu sous le nom d’émollient fécal. On devrait toujours le combiner à un stimulant comme le Senokot. La littérature publiée actuellement indique que les patients répondent généralement aussi bien aux sennosides pris isolément qu’aux sennodises combinés avec le docusate. Le docusate peut être utilisé... lire davantage...
    La fièvre est un symptôme courant en fin de vie. Elle peut être causée par une infection et donner lieu, dans bien des cas à une pneumonie de fin de vie. Mais une fièvre peut aussi trouver sa source ailleurs; chez les cancéreux, par exemple, une fièvre peut-être induite par les cytokines (on parle alors de « fièvre tumorale »). L’analyse et... lire davantage...
    Si des problèmes réversibles provoquent des nausées ou y contribuent, il faudra les traiter adéquatement si possible. Il peut s’agir : d’effets secondaires des médicaments (envisager de remplacer l’hydromorphone par un timbre de fentanyl); de constipation grave (envisager une radiographie de l’abdomen si le patient n’en a pas déjà passé une);... lire davantage...
    La prévalence des sécrétions terminales (aussi appelée « râles agoniques ») chez les patients se situe entre 12 et 92 %, selon les auteurs, et le temps médian écoulé entre l’apparition des râles agoniques et la mort se situe entre 11 et 28 heures. Il est bon de savoir si les sécrétions proviennent de la gorge et des glandes salivaires ou des... lire davantage...