Chair, Canadian Virtual Hospice Member of the Canadian Virtual Hospice Executive Committee Member of the National Advisory Committee
The Patient Dignity Inventory: A Novel Way of Measuring Dignity-Related Distress in Palliative Care

Authors: Chochinov HM1,2, Hassard T1, McClement S1,2, Hack T1, Kristjanson LJ3, Harlos M1,4, Sinclair S5,6, Murray A7

Affiliations: 1. University of Manitoba; 2. Manitoba Palliative Care Research Unit, CancerCare Manitoba; 3. Curtin University of Technology, Perth, Australia; 4. St. Boniface General Hospital, Winnipeg; 5. Tom Baker Cancer Centre; 6. University of Calgary; 7. Calgary Health Region

Source: Journal of Pain and Symptom Management. 2008;36(6):559-571.

What we did: Our research team developed a novel self-report distress measure, based on empirical work we have done on the issue of dignity within the context of palliative care.

Why we did this: Patients with life threatening or life limiting conditions can experience a variety of kinds of physical, psychological, psychosocial, existential and spiritual distress. The more health care providers are aware of this distress, the more likely they are able to respond to it. While some kinds of distress are more obvious than others, they can all contribute to the patient’s overall sense of suffering. Therefore, we thought it important to develop a tool that could be easily administered (either as a self report or an instrument that could be read aloud), that would be brief; that would quantify the extent to which the patient felt any aspect of their distress was a problem and that would cover a broad spectrum of distress commonly seen within this clinical setting.

How we did this: Our research team has extensively studied the issue of dignity and palliative care.1-3 Based on these studies, we published a model of dignity in the terminally ill, which summarizes many different areas that might influence a patient’s sense of dignity.4 The model consists of three major themes including illness related concerns, the dignity conserving repertoire and the social dignity inventory. This model provided the basis for a 25-item instrument, with each item corresponding to a major model theme or sub-theme. Each item, for example ‘feeling a burden to others’ was designed to be rated on a five-point scale (1=not a problem; 2=a slight problem; 3=a problem; 4=a major problem; 5=an overwhelming problem).

After extensive feedback from professionals and patients alike, this instrument, coined the Patient Dignity Inventory (PDI) was formally test in a group of 253 patients receiving palliative care in Winnipeg, Calgary and Perth, Australia. Patients were asked to complete the PDI along with several other measures in order to establish its reliability, its validity and its factor structure (i.e. the main, broad areas of distress that this instrument is able to capture).

What we found: We found that the PDI was readily understood and easily completed (with or without assistance) by patients receiving palliative care. The PDI appears to consist of five main factors. These include:

  • Symptom distress: primarily addressing physical as well as psychological matters.
  • Existential distress: includes feeling a burden, loss of meaning and purpose, no longer feeling ‘like who I was’ and not feeling worthwhile or valued.
  • Dependency: not being able to perform tasks of daily living, attend to bodily functions and reduced privacy.
  • Peace of mind: unlike existential issues, peace of mind includes items that not even death itself might be anticipated to resolve i.e. feeling one has not made a meaningful contribution, unfinished business or spiritual concerns.
  • Social support: pertaining to feeling supported by friends, family, health care providers or being treated with respect.

Further statistical testing also established that the PDI is reliable and valid (that is, it measures the kind of distress it purports to measure).

Why might this study matter: Improving palliative care depends on being able to understand, recognize and respond to patient distress. The Patient Dignity Inventory represents a novel way to enable each of these important goals. It offers a way for patients to disclose their distress, rate it and perhaps even initiate a conversation about what they are feeling. The fact that each of the 25-items are based on previous patient data regarding what can affect sense of dignity helps explain this instruments breadth and scope, as well as its suitability for this patient population.

What are our next steps: This Exchange article reports on one study establishing the psychometric properties of the PDI. Obviously, further testing and refining of this instrument are required. While our own experience amongst well over 500 patients has been overwhelmingly positive, other clinicians will now have the opportunity to try the PDI and form their own opinions about how it might inform their care.

We currently have funding from the Canadian Cancer Society/National Cancer Institute of Canada to carry out some further testing. One-hundred thirty psychosocial oncology clinicians from across the country are now enrolled in a study to see how the PDI might apply to their practice and how the information this yields informs the work they do.

Exchange author information: Dr. Harvey Max Chochinov. Director, Manitoba Palliative Care Research Unit. Distinguished Professor of Psychiatry, University of Manitoba. Canada Research Chair in Palliative Care. CancerCare Manitoba 3017-675 McDermot Avenue. Winnipeg. R3E 0V9
harvey.chochinov@cancercare.mb.ca.



References

  1. Chochinov HM, Hack T, Hassard T, Kristjanson LJ, McClement S, Harlos M. Dignity in the terminally ill: a cross-sectional, cohort study. Lancet. 2002;360:2026-30
  2. Chochinov HM. Dignity Conserving Care: A New Model for Palliative Care. JAMA. 2002;287:2253-2260.
  3. Chochinov HM. Dignity and the essence of medicine: the A, B, C and D of Dignity Conserving Care. British Medical Journal. 2007;335(7612):184-187.
  4. Chochinov HM, Hack T, McClement S, Harlos M, Kristjanson L. Dignity in the Terminally Ill: A Developing Empirical Model. Social Science and Medicine. 2002;54:433-443.
  5. Chochinov HM, Hassard T, McClement S, Hack T, Kristjanson LJ, Harlos M, Sinclair S, Murray A. The Patient Dignity Inventory: A Novel Way of Measuring Dignity-Related Distress in Palliative Care Journal of Pain and Symptom Management. 2008;36:559-571.

OM, MD, PhD, FRCPC, FRSC Président, Portail canadien en soins palliatifs
Le Portrait de la dignité du patient : un nouvel outil pour mesurer la détresse liée à la perte de dignité chez les patients en soins palliatifs


Auteurs : Chochinov HM1,2, Hassard T1, McClement S1,2, Hack T1, Kristjanson LJ3, Harlos M1,4, Sinclair S5,6, Murray A7


Affiliations : 1. University of Manitoba; 2. Unité de recherche en soins palliatifs du Manitoba, CancerCare Manitoba; 3. Curtin University of Technology, Perth, Australie; 4. Hôpital général de Saint-Boniface, Winnipeg; 5. Tom Baker Cancer Centre; 6. University of Calgary; 7. Calgary Health Region


Source : Journal of Pain and Symptom Management. 2008;36(6):559-571.


Les résultats de nos travaux : Notre équipe de recherche a mis au point un nouvel outil d’autodéclaration et de mesure de la détresse basé sur nos travaux empiriques sur la question de la dignité dans le contexte des soins palliatifs.


Nos motivations : Diverses formes de détresse physique, psychologique, psychosociale, existentielle et spirituelle guettent les patients atteints d’une maladie mortelle ou potentiellement mortelle. Plus les fournisseurs de soins de santé prendront conscience de cette détresse, plus ils seront à même de la soulager. Certaines formes de détresse sont plus apparentes que d’autres, mais toutes peuvent exacerber le sentiment de souffrance du patient. C’est pourquoi nous avons jugé important de trouver un moyen simple (questionnaire d’autodéclaration ou questions orales) et rapide de mesurer l’importance qu’un patient accorde à un quelconque aspect de sa détresse et qui couvrirait les principales formes de détresse observées chez les patients en soins palliatifs.


Notre méthodologie : Notre équipe de recherche a étudié en profondeur la question de la dignité dans le contexte des soins palliatifs1-3. Ces études ont mené à la publication d’un modèle sur la dignité des malades en phase terminale, qui présente sommairement de nombreux éléments qui affectent le sentiment de dignité d’un patient4. Ce modèle repose sur trois grands thèmes, soit les inquiétudes liées à la maladie, la conservation de la dignité et la dignité sociale. Ce modèle a servi de base à un questionnaire axé sur 25 éléments correspondant chacun à un grand thème du modèle ou à un sous-thème. Chaque élément, par exemple l’impression d’être un fardeau pour les autres, pouvait être évalué sur une échelle de 1 à 5 (1=pas un problème; 2=un petit problème; 3=un problème; 4=un gros problème; 5=un problème accablant).

Suite aux nombreux commentaires de professionnels et de patients, nous avons procédé à un essai formel du questionnaire – baptisé Portrait de la dignité du patient (PDP) – auprès de 253 patients en soins palliatifs à Winnipeg, Calgary et Perth (Australie). Le questionnaire a été soumis aux patients, et plusieurs autres mesures ont été prises pour établir sa fiabilité, sa validité et sa structure factorielle (c.-à-d. les principales formes de détresse que le questionnaire permettra d’observer).


Nos constats : Nous avons constaté que les patients en soins palliatifs n’avaient pas de mal à comprendre et à remplir le questionnaire du PDP (avec ou sans aide). Le PDP s’intéresse à cinq principaux facteurs, à savoir :

  • Détresse liée aux symptômes : notamment les symptômes physiques et psychologiques.
  • Détresse existentielle : impression d’être un fardeau, absence de raison de vivre, sentiment de ne plus être la personne que l’on était, d’être inutile ou mésestimé.
  • Dépendance : incapacité d’accomplir les tâches de la vie quotidienne, de s’occuper de ses besoins naturels et perte d’intimité.
  • Tranquillité d’esprit : contrairement aux questions existentielles, la tranquillité d’esprit touche à des questions que même la mort pourrait ne pas résoudre (par ex., crainte d’avoir fait une contribution insuffisante, projets inachevés ou préoccupations d’ordre spirituel).
  • Soutien social : sentiment d’avoir le soutien de ses amis, de sa famille, des fournisseurs de soins de santé ou d’être traité avec respect.M

Des tests statistiques complémentaires confirment en outre la fiabilité et la validité du PDP (en ce sens qu’il mesure les formes de détresse qu’il prétend pouvoir mesurer).


L’importance de nos travaux : Pour améliorer la qualité des soins palliatifs, il faut pouvoir comprendre, reconnaître et soulager la détresse du patient. Le Portrait de la dignité du patient est un nouveau moyen d’accomplir chacun de ces importants objectifs. Il permet aux patients d’exprimer leur détresse, d’en noter l’intensité, voire d’engager une conversation sur les symptômes qu’ils éprouvent. Le fait que chacun des 25 éléments soit basé sur les antécédents du patient en ce qui a trait aux éléments susceptibles de compromettre la dignité aide à comprendre la portée et le champ d’application de l’outil ainsi que son adéquation pour les patients en soins palliatifs.


Nos prochaines étapes : Le présent article rend compte d’une étude établissant les propriétés psychométriques du PDP. Il est évident que cet outil devra faire l’objet d'autres tests et mises au point. Bien que les résultats que nous avons obtenus dans le cadre de notre expérience auprès d’au moins 500 patients s’avèrent extrêmement positifs, d'autres cliniciens auront désormais la possibilité de mettre le PDP à l’essai et de se former leur propre opinion quant à l’utilité de cet outil dans leur pratique.

Une subvention de la Société canadienne du cancer par l’entremise de l’Institut national du cancer du Canada nous permet actuellement d’effectuer d'autres tests. Cent trente cliniciens en oncologie psychosociale à travers le pays participent donc à présent à une étude visant à évaluer l’utilité du PDP dans leur pratique.


Coordonnées de l’auteur : Dr Harvey Max Chochinov, directeur de l’Unité de recherche en soins palliatifs du Manitoba. Professeur distingué de psychiatrie, University of Manitoba. Chaire de recherche du Canada en soins palliatifs. CancerCare Manitoba 3017-675 McDermot Avenue, Winnipeg R3E 0V9 harvey.chochinov@cancercare.mb.ca.



Références

  1. Chochinov HM, Hack T, Hassard T, Kristjanson LJ, McClement S, Harlos M. Dignity in the terminally ill: a cross-sectional, cohort study. Lancet. 2002;360:2026-30
  2. Chochinov HM. Dignity Conserving Care: A New Model for Palliative Care. JAMA. 2002;287:2253-2260.
  3. Chochinov HM. Dignity and the essence of medicine: the A, B, C and D of Dignity Conserving Care. British Medical Journal. 2007;335(7612):184-187.
  4. Chochinov HM, Hack T, McClement S, Harlos M, Kristjanson L. Dignity in the Terminally Ill: A Developing Empirical Model. Social Science and Medicine. 2002;54:433-443.
  5. Chochinov HM, Hassard T, McClement S, Hack T, Kristjanson LJ, Harlos M, Sinclair S, Murray A. The Patient Dignity Inventory: A Novel Way of Measuring Dignity-Related Distress in Palliative Care Journal of Pain and Symptom Management. 2008;36:559-571.