Asked and Answered


    Communicating with Children

    It’s very important to talk with children honestly about illness and death. Children can sense when something’s wrong and may worry more if no one talks to them openly about it. Explain to your son in simple terms what’s happening with his grandmother. Tell him that she won’t be getting better. Don’t be afraid to use the words "cancer, " "death"... read more...
    It’s not surprising that we have trouble finding the best way to talk and think about death when we face it in our own lives. Few of us have gone through it or seen others go through it. Some general concepts can help people and families find the approach that suits them the best. It’s important to remember that there’s no one right or wrong... read more...
    Research suggests that children should go to funerals if they want to. It gives children a chance to see grief and learn about it. If your son will attend a service, talk with him ahead of time about what he can expect. For example, if there will be an open casket, let him know he will be seeing his grandmother’s body. He may have many questions,... read more...
    Discussion with children about death and the rituals around death need to be honest and open. Children need this because they can sense what’s going on around them. Honest answers to their questions can minimize their fears. Before you discuss cremation, talk about death in simple terms. You may say that death means someone is no longer breathing,... read more...

Questions-réponses


    Communiquer avec les enfants

    Il est très important de parler ouvertement aux enfants de la maladie et de la mort. Les enfants reconnaissent un problème et ils pourraient s’inquiéter si personne ne leur en parle sincèrement. Expliquez à votre fils en termes simples ce qui arrive à sa grand-mère. Dites-lui qu’elle ne s’améliorera pas. N’ayez pas peur d’utiliser les mots... lire davantage...
    Il n’est pas surprenant que nous ayons du trouble à trouver la meilleure façon de parler de la mort et de penser à la mort quand nous la rencontrons dans notre propre vie. Peu d’entre nous sommes passés par là ou avons vu d’autres qui en ont fait l’expérience. Quelques concepts généraux peuvent aider les gens et les familles à trouver une... lire davantage...
    Les recherches démontrent que les enfants devraient aller aux funérailles s’ils le désirent. Cela permet aux enfants de voir le deuil et d’en faire ses découvertes. Si votre fils va assister au service, parlez-lui d’avance de ce qu’il pourra y voir et à quoi s’attendre. Par exemple, si au service le cercueil est ouvert, laissez-lui savoir... lire davantage...
    La discussion avec les enfants au sujet de la mort et des rituels concernant la mort doit être honnête et ouverte. Les enfants en ont besoin car ils peuvent ressentir ce qui se passe autour d’eux. Les réponses honnêtes à leurs questions peuvent minimiser leurs craintes. Avant de discuter l’incinération, parlez de la mort en phrases simples. lire davantage...