Asked and Answered


    Communicating with the Patient

    Our society generally discourages talk about death, dying and illness. For some people this kind of discussion is most difficult with family. You can try several strategies to help your father open up and talk. It’s possible that no matter what you try your dad may be unwilling to talk. This can be hard for you, and if it is, it may help to... read more...
    It’s sometimes hard to know why people respond the way they do to their illness. There could be a lot going on inside your friend that can’t be seen on the outside. He may not seem to be declining rapidly, but may feel inside that things are changing. These changes can include pain , fatigue or lack of appetite, which aren’t necessarily visible... read more...
    Most palliative care programs require people to accept that the programs offer comfort-focused care rather than efforts to cure the underlying illness. This is hard for many people to accept. Even if deep down they are aware of their situation, it’s hard to let go of hope for a cure. This can be frustrating and upsetting for others, but people... read more...
    It may help to start by asking your husband what his fears are. It’s important to understand them and talk about them. Some fears are about what will happen physically. These fears may be eased if he understands what’s ahead, and what the health care team can do for him in his final days. Other fears may be more spiritual or emotional, as... read more...
    It can be very hard to watch someone suffer. Physical, emotional and spiritual suffering are intertwined, and they affect each other. All aspects of suffering need to be acknowledged and addressed. Your mom’s pain is likely a major factor in the distress she’s feeling. It may be this pain that’s making her say she wants to die. Pain can be... read more...
    Your presence and support is the greatest gift you can give your wife. This time can offer you both a chance to talk about things that matter to you. You may want to talk about memorable moments in your lives, share stories about people, or review important events. Let your wife know the positive effect she’s had on you. Encourage family and... read more...
    It’s normal to feel anxious about visiting someone who is dying. Our society discourages talk about death, dying and illness, and few of us have much experience with it. It’s important to remember that even though your friend is dying, she’s still the same person you’ve always known. She’d likely prefer that you treat her as you always have. read more...
    This is a difficult and yet very common experience of caregivers. When someone is not well, they often take out their frustrations and anger on the person who is closest to them. Perhaps they feel it is a safe place to “just be themselves.” In terms of how to respond, it’s important to recognize that anger is a natural and powerful emotion... read more...

Questions-réponses


    Communiquer avec le patient

    Notre société en général ne veut pas parler de la mort, de l’acte de mourir ou de la maladie. Pour certaines gens, ce genre de discussion est plus difficile avec la famille. Vous pouvez essayer plusieurs stratégies pour aider votre père à se détendre pour en parler. Il est possible que peu importe ce que vous faites, votre père ne voudra pas... lire davantage...
    Il est parfois difficile de savoir pourquoi les gens réagissent comme ils le font vis-à-vis de leur maladie. Peut-être qu’il y a beaucoup qui se passe chez votre ami qui ne parait pas à l’extérieur. Il peut ne pas sembler être en déclin rapide, mais peut se sentir les changements à l’intérieur. Ces changements peuvent être la douleur , la... lire davantage...
    La plupart des services palliatifs exigent que les gens acceptent que leurs programmes soient centrés sur le confort plutôt qu’aux efforts de guérir leur maladie. C’est difficile à accepter pour beaucoup de gens. Même s’ils comprennent bien leur situation médicale, il est difficile d’abandonner tout espoir de trouver une guérison. Ceci peut... lire davantage...
    Ça peut aider si vous commencez par demander de quoi il a peur. Il est important de comprendre ses peurs et d’en parler. Certaines craintes relèvent des changements physiques. Ses craintes peuvent se dissiper s’il comprend ce qui va arriver et comment les soignants médicaux vont prendre soin de lui faire pendant ses derniers jours. D’autres... lire davantage...
    Il peut être très dur de voir quelqu’un souffrir. Les souffrances physiques, émotionnelles et spirituelles sont entremêlées et elles s’affectent les unes les autres. Tous les aspects de la souffrance doivent être reconnus et considérés. La douleur de votre mère est sans doute un facteur déterminant dans la détresse qu’elle éprouve. Et c’est... lire davantage...
    Votre présence et votre appui sont les plus grands cadeaux que vous pouvez faire à votre femme. Ce temps peut vous offrir aux deux l’occasion de parler des choses qui vous sont chères. Vous pourriez vouloir parler des moments inoubliables dans votre vie, partager les histoires personnelles des gens ou les souvenirs d’événements importants. lire davantage...
    Il est normal de s’inquiéter avant de rendre visite à un mourant. Notre société décourage la discussion sur la mort, l’acte de mourir et la maladie. Et peu d’entre nous avons de l’expérience avec ces sujets. Il est important de se rappeler que bien que votre amie meure, elle est toujours la personne que vous connaissiez depuis toujours. Elle... lire davantage...
    Cette expérience désagréable est pourtant bien commune pour les personnes aidantes. Les gens malades s’en prennent régulièrement à leurs intimes pour faire passer l’amertume, cette intimité leur donnant peut-être l’impression qu’ils n’ont pas à se retenir. Quant à votre réaction, rappelons que la colère, émotion vive mais naturelle, affecte... lire davantage...