Asked and Answered


    Decision Making

    A health care directive is a document that describes the treatment decisions that a person wants made in the future. It’s used to guide care if the patient can’t communicate in any other way at when a decision has to be made. A person needs to consider what others will need to know about his or her wishes. These wishes can be general or specific. read more...
    Several factors are taken into account when deciding whether to continue radiation treatments: the wishes of the person who’s ill; the amount of radiation already delivered to the target area; the overall strength and energy of the person who’s ill. Patient’s wishes The main consideration is what the patient wants. If the person doesn’t want... read more...
    Your current situation must seem overwhelming. So it’s natural to want to take control. In hospice, you can have a lot of control over your own health care. Before you enter hospice, it’s a good idea to meet with your health care team. They are the doctors and nurses who will provide your care. Review how you are feeling now and what might... read more...
    Discontinuing life support is one of the most difficult and complex decisions a family can make. It may help to go through these steps in making your decision: Learn as much as you can about the medical situation and the likelihood of improvement. If your loved one prepared a health care directive , then use this to guide care decisions. If... read more...
    It can be very difficult to make decisions about feeding when people can’t eat on their own. Tube feeding is not considered a basic part of care. Health care providers, ethicists and the courts consider it to be artificial nutrition and a medical treatment. This makes it comparable to other medical treatments such as dialysis or assisted breathing. read more...
    Resuscitation can mean different things. Here it’s taken to mean cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR). This is defined as the attempt to restore a heartbeat in someone whose heart has stopped beating and the attempt to restore breathing in someone who has stopped breathing. Decisions about resuscitation take into account many factors, a major... read more...

Questions-réponses


    La prise de décisions

    Une directive anticipée est un document qui décrit les décisions relatives aux traitements qu’une personne veut recevoir plus tard. Elle oriente les soins à donner au patient si ce dernier ne peut communiquer d’aucune autre façon au moment où se prend la décision. Le patient doit penser à informer les autres de ses souhaits, qu’ils soient... lire davantage...
    Plusieurs facteurs sont pris en compte dans la décision de poursuivre ou non la radiothérapie : les souhaits de la personne malade; la dose de radiothérapie déjà appliquée à la région cible; la force et l’énergie générales de la personne malade. Les souhaits de la personne malade Il faut avant tout tenir compte de ce que souhaite le patient. lire davantage...
    La situation actuelle doit vous paraître insurmontable. Sachez que dans une maison de soins palliatifs, le patient a beaucoup de pouvoir sur ses soins de santé. Avant d’entrer dans une maison de soins palliatifs, il serait bon de rencontrer votre équipe soignante, autrement dit, les médecins et le personnel infirmer qui s’occupent de vous. lire davantage...
    L’interruption du maintien des fonctions vitales est l’une des décisions les plus difficiles et complexes qu’une famille ait à prendre. Voici quelques étapes qui pourraient vous aider à prendre votre décision : Renseignez-vous le plus possible sur l’état de la maladie et sur les possibilités d’amélioration. Si votre proche a rédigé une directive... lire davantage...
    Il est parfois très difficile de prendre des décisions sur l’alimentation lorsqu’une personne ne peut se nourrir seule. Le gavage ne fait pas partie des soins de base. Les prestataires de soins, les éthiciens et les tribunaux considèrent le gavage comme de l’alimentation artificielle et un traitement médical. Le gavage est donc comparable... lire davantage...
    La réanimation couvre plusieurs éléments, mais on l’entend généralement au sens de « réanimation cardiorespiratoire » (RCR). Il s’agit essentiellement de rétablir les battements cardiaques d’une personne dont le cœur a cessé de battre et de tenter de rétablir sa respiration si elle a cessé de respirer. La décision de réanimer un patient dépend... lire davantage...