Asked and Answered

    Grief and Loss

    Many people wonder if their grieving is normal. If you’re not crying you may feel you’re not grieving as you should, and it can make you uncomfortable. Yet, grief can be surprising and unpredictable; you may well feel emotions you hadn’t expected. It’s good to remember that your relationship with the person who died was unique, so the way... read more...
    It’s normal to feel a mix of emotions during bereavement. Feelings of grief can come up at unexpected times, and holidays can be a trigger. The pressure of getting into the spirit of the season can add to the difficulties and churn up even more emotions. Some people who are grieving find it reassuring to participate in traditional holiday... read more...
    Learning to live without your husband, and adapting to a very different life without him is a demanding experience. This period is the most difficult, especially if your loss was sudden or unexpected, and if you didn’t have a proper chance to say goodbye. It’s part of the grieving process to feel immense sadness and miss the person who died. read more...
    Each person in your family has a unique relationship with your mother, so each of you will grieve her in a unique way. Also, each of you is unique in how you cope with stresses. These ways of coping apply to grief also. Sometimes grieving starts before someone dies. This is known as anticipatory grief . It seems that your sister is going through... read more...
    When people are coping with the death of someone significant in their lives, it can be difficult to know whether they are experiencing grief or depression. The Canadian Psychological Association describes the difference between the two: “Grief is often described as a longing for the person, a lack of acceptance of the death, memories that... read more...
    Asked and Answered
    Asked and Answered

    Find out what Canadians
    are asking

    Ask a Professional
    Ask a Professional

    Our team of experts answers
    your questions about
    life-threatening illness and loss.

    Just want to talk?
    Just want to talk?

    Join the Discussion
    Forums

    Books, Links, and More
    Books, Links, and More

    Recommended by our team

    Programs and Services
    Programs and Services

    Find local, regional,
    and national services

    Back to Top

Questions-réponses


    Le deuil et la perte d’un être cher

    Bien des gens se demandent si le chagrin est normal. Si vous ne pleurez pas, peut-être pensez-vous que vous n'êtes pas suffisamment triste, ce qui pourrait vous rendre mal à l'aise. Sachez que le chagrin est parfois surprenant et imprévisible, et que vous pourriez ressentir des émotions inattendues. Il est bon de vous rappeler que votre relation... lire davantage...
    Il est normal de ressentir toutes sortes d’émotions pendant un deuil. Le chagrin peut faire surface à des moments inattendus, et la période des Fêtes sera peut-être l’élément déclencheur. La pression de s’amuser pendant cette période peut augmenter la difficulté et susciter de nombreuses émotions. Certaines personnes en deuil se trouvent rassurées... lire davantage...
    Apprendre à vivre sans votre mari et vous adapter à une vie tout à fait différente est une expérience pénible. Cette période est la plus difficile, surtout si votre perte a été soudaine et inattendue, et si vous n’avez pas eu la chance de faire vos adieux. Toutefois, ressentir une tristesse immense et s'ennuyer de la personne disparue font... lire davantage...
    Chaque membre de la famille a une relation unique avec votre mère. Chacun de vous vivra donc son deuil de façon unique et gérera son stress à sa façon. Les méthodes individuelles de gestion du stress s’appliquent également au deuil. Quelquefois, le deuil commence avant le décès. On parle alors de deuil anticipé . C'est peut-être ce que votre... lire davantage...
    Il est difficile en effet de savoir si une personne qui souffre de la mort d’un proche est en état de deuil normal ou sombre dans la dépression. La Société canadienne de psychologie formule ainsi la différence entre les deux : « Le deuil est souvent décrit comme le manque ressenti à l’égard de la personne décédée, le refus de sa mort, des... lire davantage...