Asked and Answered


    Medications

    The health care team, the patient and the family together need to consider several factors before making any change in medications. All these questions need to be answered: What are the patient’s or family’s goals for care? This may be the most important question. The goals must be realistic and achievable. For example, it may not be realistic... read more...
    Many people worry about the use of morphine in palliative care . Morphine and other medications in the morphine family, such as hydromorphone, codeine and fentanyl, are called opioids. These medications may be used to control pain or shortness of breath throughout an illness or at the end of life.   Patients and families sometimes worry that... read more...
    There are several options that can be considered for pain relief with bone pain. Tylenol® is the brand name of acetaminophen . It’s a good painkiller for bone pain, but it may not be strong enough to relieve completely the pain of cancer in the bones. The maximum dose of acetaminophen is 4, 000 mg a day. It’s very important to check with the... read more...
    If your mother was receiving regular pain medication at home, the same dosage needs to continue in hospital. It’s rare that a pain medication regimen is stopped altogether and given just "as needed" (what health care providers call “prn”). One of two different things may be happening. Your mother may in fact be getting medications just as... read more...
    Dexamethasone (Decadron®) is one of a group of medications called corticosteroids. This group of medications has a set of side effects that together are known as Cushing’s syndrome. The common side effects include weight gain, increased appetite, bloating, filling of the face (called moon face) and filling of the abdominal area. These side... read more...
    Morphine and other opioid medications generally have these side effects: Sleepiness Some level of sleepiness or drowsiness is common when the medication is first started or the dosage increased. It usually lasts about two to three days.   Fatigue     Nausea This may occur with the drowsiness. It too tends to subside after a few days, as the... read more...
    It’s not a good idea to flush leftover medications down the toilet, as this pollutes the environment. It’s not a good idea either to keep medications at home, as this can be a safety issue. It is a good idea to take leftover medications to a pharmacy, so someone there can dispose of the medications properly. Most pharmacies take leftover medications... read more...
    The amount of morphine that can cause an overdose or death depends on what a person’s body is used to. It takes more morphine to cause an overdose in someone who is already taking morphine than in someone who has never had it before. Morphine and other opioids are given to control pain . When taking morphine for pain, the body may develop... read more...
    Hydromorphone (Dilaudid®) is a painkiller in the opioid family, as is morphine. Hydromorphone is chemically related to morphine, and very commonly used for moderate to severe pain . Often people are switched from morphine to hydromorphone to treat possible side effects from ongoing use of morphine, such as confusion or uncontrolled jerking... read more...
    All these medications are opioids. This is a group of medications that target certain receptors in the body in order to relieve pain . When treating pain with opioids it’s typical to start with a low dosage, monitor to see how it’s working, and gradually increase the dosage until the person is comfortable. The monitoring is needed to check... read more...
    Your current situation must seem overwhelming. So it’s natural to want to take control. In hospice, you can have a lot of control over your own health care. Before you enter hospice, it’s a good idea to meet with your health care team. They are the doctors and nurses who will provide your care. Review how you are feeling now and what might... read more...
    Fentanyl patches contain strong medication and are placed on the skin to help relieve pain. The patches should be applied and removed as ordered by the doctor and only on the person for whom they were prescribed. Pain patches should not be placed in the garbage! There is still medication left in used patches when they are taken off the skin. read more...
    Fentanyl is a medication that’s been in the media a great deal recently. It plays a large part in the current opioid overdose crisis. It’s important to remember that this crisis is mainly due to illegal opioids being used for non-medical reasons . Street drugs can contain a variety of medications with unknown strengths mixed together. This... read more...

Questions-réponses


    Les médicaments

    L’équipe de soins de santé, le patient et la famille ensemble doivent considérer plusieurs facteurs avant de faire des changements de médicaments. Il faut répondre à toutes ces questions: Quels sont les objectifs du patient ou de la famille quant aux soins médicaux? C’est peut-être la question la plus importante. Le but doit être réaliste... lire davantage...
    Beaucoup de gens s’inquiètent de l’utilisation de la morphine en soins palliatifs . La morphine et d’autres médicaments de la même famille – comme l’hydromorphone, la codéine et le fentanyl – sont appelés opioïdes . Ces médicaments s’utilisent pour soulager la douleur ou la détresse respiratoire durant une maladie ou en fin de vie. Les patients... lire davantage...
    Il y a plusieurs choix à prendre en considération pour le soulagement de la douleur des os. Le Tylenol est la marque d’acétaminophène. C’est un bon médicament analgésique pour soulager la douleur des os, mais il n’est peut-être pas assez puissant pour soulager complètement la douleur du cancer des os. La dose maximale d’acétaminophène est... lire davantage...
    Si votre mère recevait des médicaments réguliers pour la douleur à la maison, on doit continuer avec la même dose à l’hôpital. Il est rare qu’on cesse d’utiliser un médicament pour douleur de façon régulière et passer à un régime « au besoin » (ce que les fournisseurs de soins de santé appellent « prn »). Une de deux choses peut se passer. lire davantage...
    La dexaméthasone (Décadron®) est un des groupes des médicaments appelé corticostéroïdes. Ce groupe de médicaments a des effets secondaires qui ensemble sont connus comme le syndrome de Cushing. Les effets secondaires communs comprennent l’augmentation de poids, une augmentation de l’appétit, le gonflement, le visage rond (appelé visage de... lire davantage...
    La morphine et d’autres médicaments opioïdes ont les effets secondaires suivants: Somnolence Un certain niveau de somnolence est commun quand les médicaments sont commencés ou si on augmente la dose de médicaments. Cela peut durer de deux à trois jours.   La fatigue     Nausée Ceci peut arriver avec la somnolence. Elle a tendance à s’abaisser... lire davantage...
    Ce n’est pas une bonne idée de jeter es médicaments qui ne servent plus dans les toilettes car cela a un impact négatif sur l’environnement. Ce n’est pas une bonne idée non plus de garder les médicaments à la maison; ceci peut menacer la sécurité. C’est une bonne idée d’apporter les médicaments qui restent dans une pharmacie ou quelqu’un en... lire davantage...
    La quantité de morphine susceptible de causer une surdose, ou même la mort, dépend du degré d'accoutumance de la personne qui la reçoit. Autrement dit, il faut plus de morphine pour causer une surdose chez une personne habituée à la morphine que chez une personne qui en prend pour la première fois. On administre la morphine et autres opioïdes... lire davantage...
    L’hydromporphone (Diloaudid) est un médicament analgésique de la famille opioïde, comme la morphine. L’hydromorphone est un dérivé chimique de la morphine et est utilisé souvent pour modérer la douleur sévère. Souvent on passe de la morphine à l’hydromorphone pour traiter les effets secondaires possibles de l’emploi continuel de morphine,... lire davantage...
    Tous ces médicaments sont des opioïdes. C’est un groupe de médicaments qui vise certains récepteurs de corps pour soulager la douleur . Le traitement de la douleur avec des opioïdes doit débuter avec une faible dose et on doit surveiller son efficacité et augmenter graduellement la dose jusqu’à ce la personne soit confortable. La surveillance... lire davantage...
    La situation actuelle doit vous paraître insurmontable. Sachez que dans une maison de soins palliatifs, le patient a beaucoup de pouvoir sur ses soins de santé. Avant d’entrer dans une maison de soins palliatifs, il serait bon de rencontrer votre équipe soignante, autrement dit, les médecins et le personnel infirmer qui s’occupent de vous. lire davantage...
    Les timbres de fentanyl sont appliqués sur la peau pour soulager la douleur . Ils contiennent un puissant analgésique et doivent donc être utilisés et retirés suivant les prescriptions du médecin. D’ailleurs, seule la personne à qui ils ont été prescrits doit s’en servir. Ne jamais jeter les timbres analgésiques aux ordures! Même quand ils... lire davantage...
    Le fentanyl est un médicament qui fait la manchette depuis quelque temps. Il joue un grand rôle dans la crise actuelle des surdoses d’opioïdes. Il importe de se rappeler que cette crise est principalement attribuable à l’utilisation illégale d’opioïdes à des fins non médicales . Les drogues vendues dans la rue peuvent contenir un mélange de... lire davantage...