Asked and Answered


    Cancer

    Someone with brain cancer can expect different kinds of symptoms, all of which change as brain cancer progresses. There’s likely to be an overall decline, which affects the body as whole. There also may be an effect on a specific area of the brain or on the whole brain, which may be caused by swelling and the tumor. Different areas of the... read more...
    Leukemia is different from many cancers, as there is no tumor. Rather, the cancerous cells are found throughout the body, in the blood or in bone marrow. Leukemia interferes with the normal production of red cells, white cells, and platelets in the bone marrow. The medications used to treat this disease may also injure the healthy stem cells... read more...
    Someone with lung cancer may have symptoms specifically related to a tumor in the lungs and may have symptoms caused by the general effects of cancer on the body. When people have a tumor in the lungs, they often cough or are short of breath. Some people experience these throughout the illness. For others these may only become a problem as... read more...
    Each person’s disease progresses in its own way, and it’s not always possible to predict what can happen as a disease progresses. Someone with colon cancer may have symptoms specifically related to the tumor in the colon and may have symptoms caused by the general effects of cancer on the body. When cancer spreads to the lungs and liver the... read more...
    One of the most obvious effects of liver cancer is jaundice. This is a yellow discoloration of the skin and eyes, caused by a buildup of bile in the body. Bile contains a pigment called bilirubin that causes the yellow colour. Jaundice is a sign that the liver is not functioning well, and can’t move the bile to the intestine, where it’s normally... read more...
    When cancer spreads to the liver the metastasis may have direct or indirect effects. This depends on the size and location of the metastatic tumor, and ranges from no visible effects to several serious ones. The person may also experience other symptoms caused by the general effect of cancer on the body. The liver is a large organ with a fair... read more...
    Non-Hodgkin's lymphoma (NHL) is not a single disease. It’s a complex group of cancers that start in the body’s immune system. The diseases have similarities at the cell level, but they have different effects on the body and show different responses to treatment. A person’s experience with NHL will depend on the type of disease, its location... read more...
    Much of what can be expected during cancer treatment depends on the specific individual. Many treatments place some burden on a person’s body. This is usually temporary, but requires a period of recovery. People who generally are doing fairly well are more resilient and recover more quickly. Those who generally are feeling exhausted and without... read more...
    Each person’s illness and situation is unique, and so the person’s health care team is in the best position to provide specific information about what each person can expect. Some of the symptoms result from the type of cancer and where it’s located. Medications may also cause some side effects. As well, there are some general effects of cancer,... read more...
    Learning about what might be expected as part of living with a disease often helps people feel more prepared or in control. There are many great websites that provide information about the various kinds of cancers, and how those cancers are diagnosed and treated. As you try to make sense of the information you find, it is important to remember... read more...

Questions-réponses


    Le cancer

    Une personne atteinte d'un cancer du cerveau peut s'attendre à différents types de symptômes; chacun d'entre eux change au fur et à mesure que le cancer du cerveau évolue. Il est probable qu'un déclin général se produira et qu'il affectera l'organisme tout entier. Il se peut aussi qu'il y ait un effet sur une zone spécifique du cerveau ou... lire davantage...
    La leucémie est différente de beaucoup de cancers étant donné qu'elle ne présente aucune tumeur. Au contraire, les cellules cancéreuses se trouvent dans tout l'organisme, dans le sang ou dans la moelle osseuse. La leucémie interfère avec la production normale de globules rouges, de globules blancs et de plaquettes dans la moelle osseuse. Les... lire davantage...
    Une personne atteinte d'un cancer du poumon peut présenter des symptômes liés spécifiquement à une tumeur des poumons et des symptômes provoqués par les effets généraux du cancer sur l'organisme. Une tumeur dans les poumons provoque en général de la toux et un essoufflement. Certaines personnes les subissent tout au long de la maladie. Pour... lire davantage...
    Chaque maladie évolue de manière différente selon les personnes, et il n'est pas toujours possible de prévoir ce qui va se passer au fur et à mesure que la maladie progresse. Une personne atteinte d'un cancer du côlon peut présenter des symptômes liés spécifiquement à la tumeur du côlon et des symptômes provoqués par les effets généraux du... lire davantage...
    Un des effets les plus évidents du cancer du foie est la jaunisse. C'est une décoloration jaune de la peau et des yeux causée par une accumulation de bile dans l'organisme. La bile contient des pigments appelés bilirubine à l'origine de cette couleur jaune. La jaunisse indique que le foie ne fonctionne pas bien et qu'il ne peut pas évacuer... lire davantage...
    Lorsque le cancer s'étend jusqu'au foie, la métastase peut avoir des effets directs ou indirects. Cela dépend de la taille et de l'emplacement de la tumeur métastatique et peut aller d'effets non visibles à certains effets graves. La personne peut aussi présenter d'autres symptômes provoqués par l'effet général du cancer sur l'organisme. Le... lire davantage...
    Le lymphome non hodgkinien (LNH) n'est pas une seule maladie. C'est un ensemble complexe de cancers qui prend sa source dans le système immunitaire de l'organisme. Les maladies ont des similitudes au niveau cellulaire mais leurs effets sont différents sur l'organisme et elles répondent différemment au traitement. L'approche du LNH dépendra... lire davantage...
    La plupart des choses auxquelles on peut s'attendre pendant le traitement du cancer dépendent de chaque individu. Beaucoup de traitements représentent un poids pour l'organisme d'une personne. C'est en général temporaire mais cela nécessite une période de récupération. Les personnes qui s'en sortent plutôt bien sont plus résistantes et récupèrent... lire davantage...
    C’est parfois très difficile de prévoir le cours de conditions chroniques comme la maladie pulmonaire obstructive chronique (MPOC) ou l’insuffisance cardiaque congestive (ICC). Les maladies chroniques font sans cesse appel aux réserves d’énergie du corps et, lentement, celles-ci finissent par s’épuiser. Aux stades plus avancés d’une maladie,... lire davantage...
    Chaque situation et chaque maladie qui touche une personne est unique, c'est pourquoi l'équipe soignante du patient est la plus à même de fournir des renseignements spécifiques sur les attentes que peut avoir chacune des personnes atteintes. Certains symptômes proviennent du type de cancer et de sa localisation. Les médicaments peuvent également... lire davantage...
    Un patient renseigné sur l’évolution de sa maladie aura plus de facilité à se préparer et à affronter la situation. Il existe beaucoup de sites internet très intéressants sur les divers types de cancers, leur diagnostic et leur traitement.   N’oubliez toutefois pas dans vos lectures que le cancer n’affecte pas tout le monde de la même manière. lire davantage...