Asked and Answered


    When Death Is Near

    As death nears, it’s very common for people to withdraw from social interaction. They may speak very little, even to loved ones, and may seem uninterested in what’s going on around them. Some family members describe this as the person just fading away. Social withdrawal is a natural part of the dying process and is not a judgment on others. read more...
    When someone in the family is diagnosed with a terminal illness, it’s important to do things sooner than later, rather than wait for the right time. The timing of a visit depends on how much visitors will want to talk and interact with your mother. Some people want to visit when the dying person has enough energy to talk and interact. Others... read more...
    There are several signs that can indicate that someone is nearing death: physical condition; eating; breathing; mental condition. Physical condition Deterioration in physical condition is usually the first sign that someone is near the end of life. The deterioration may be gradual or quick, and is reflected in the person’s level of energy... read more...
    Sometimes people who are in their final days or hours of life have a brief period of physical or mental improvement. It’s not clear why this happens, but these are some possible explanations: 1. A person near death may have spent a few days in an unresponsive state. This period without much activity may help the body rest, so the person may... read more...

Questions-réponses


    Quand la mort est proche

    Il n’est pas rare qu’une personne mourante se referme sur elle-même. Certaines parleront très peu, même à leurs proches, et ne manifesteront apparemment aucun intérêt pour ce qui se passe autour d’elles. Parfois, les membres de leur famille diront que la personne est simplement en train de s’effacer. Le retrait social fait naturellement partie... lire davantage...
    Lorsqu’un membre de la famille reçoit un diagnostic de maladie terminale, il vaut mieux prendre ce genre de dispositions plus tôt que tard. Le moment d’une visite dépendra du temps dont le visiteur voudra disposer pour discuter avec votre mère. Certaines personnes veulent visiter une personne mourante pendant qu’elle a assez d’énergie pour... lire davantage...
    Plusieurs changements peuvent indiquer qu’une personne est à l’article de la mort, notamment au niveau de : la condition physique; l’alimentation; la respiration; l’état mental. Condition physique La dégradation de la condition physique est généralement le premier signe qu’une personne va bientôt mourir. Cette détérioration peut être graduelle... lire davantage...
    Il arrive que certaines personnes connaissent une brève période de sursis psychologique ou physique dans les jours ou les heures précédant leur décès. Ce phénomène n’est pas très bien compris, mais voici quelques explications possibles : 1. À l’approche de la mort, certaines personnes ne réagissent plus à rien pendant quelques jours. Cette... lire davantage...