PDF Print Article Send to a FriendSend to a Friend
Sending Condolences

When someone you know dies, you are affected in one way or another. The depth of your relationship with the person who has died or their family or friends affects how you might offer support. By offering condolences, or expressions of comfort and support, you reassure those who are grieving that they are not alone. Your words and gestures can help them through the grieving process.

Many people struggle with knowing ‘the right thing to say’ when someone close to them dies. Some people worry that their words may not truly express their sentiments or sound insincere. One of the most thoughtful and caring things you can do to support a friend is to be in touch and acknowledge their loss. The way you choose to make contact will vary depending on your relationship. There is no one right or wrong way.

  • Sending a card or letter:  Traditionally, people have sent a handwritten card or letter to offer condolences.  Many individuals still prefer this approach as they see it as more personal. 
     
  • Electronic messaging:  With the increased use of electronic media, you might find it appropriate to send a text message or email, or to post a message on a Facebook page or an online memorial site affiliated with a funeral home or newspaper. Use what seems to be the best ‘fit’ for both of you.
     
  • Other ideas: Some people send flowers, fruit, or a gift basket. Delivering home-cooked or commercially prepared meals which can be saved in the freezer is also a thoughtful option. Attach a card or note with cooking or reheating instructions, including whether the item can be frozen. Add a few words to express your care and support. In some circumstances, you might want to make a donation to a charity in the name of the person who has died or to a fund for dependent children.

Regardless of the method of communication or support that you choose, a few lines expressing your sympathy, sadness or concern can be very comforting. 

  • Use language that your friend or family member would be comfortable with. Some people prefer terms such as ‘passing’ when referring to someone’s death. More and more, however, those who study grief and loss recommend the use of plainer language (e.g. ‘death’, ‘dying’) as a clearer way of acknowledging someone’s loss.
     
  • Acknowledge the loss of the person and include the person’s name. For example, ‘I am sorry to hear of the death of your brother, Tom.’ Naming the person specifically makes your note more personal and heartfelt.  
     
  • Be sincere.  Your message does not need to be lengthy to express your feelings of sympathy.  Simply write what is in your heart. 
     
  • When in doubt, keep it simple.
    • ‘I/ we are thinking of you at this difficult time.’
    • ‘You are in our thoughts and prayers.” (If you and the recipient are of a religious faith.)
    • ‘We will miss your mother dearly.’
    • ‘We are saddened to hear of the death (passing) of your mother.’
       
  • Share a special memory of the person who has died and consider including how this memory makes you feel. Hearing or reading about your memories reassures loved ones that their family member will not be forgotten. It can help those who are grieving to reflect on their own memories and work through their grief.

  • Offer your time or assistance with the many tasks and errands faced by someone who has lost a loved one. Sometimes, those left behind just need someone to talk to about their experiences and feelings. If you are comfortable being available to babysit, go for a walk or provide a shoulder to cry on, offer this in your note. Just be sure you are offering something that you are truly prepared to do.

Things to avoid writing

  • Avoid giving advice or saying things such as ‘I know how you feel’, even if you have experienced the death of a loved one yourself. Every loss is unique and we never truly ‘know’ how someone else feels. These words are meant to express understanding and bring you closer but can have the opposite effect.
     
  • Avoid using words such as ‘you should’ or ‘you will’. Strong statements that begin with ‘you should’ or ‘you will’ may be perceived as unwelcome judgments of their feelings and decisions. Everyone copes differently with death and dying, and the decisions they make are usually what they feel to be best for them. Being supportive of decisions, as long as they are not harmful, is usually the best approach. If you want to engage someone in a conversation about their loss, consider asking open-ended questions that offer an opportunity to share thoughts and stories.
     
  • Avoid talking about yourself. Keep the focus on your friend.  If you were also especially close to the person who has died and are overwhelmed with your own grief, providing support can be challenging. You will want to offer condolences, but you cannot expect your friend to comfort you. Seek support for yourself from other friends or support systems.
     
  • Avoid trying to write about the positive aspects of the person’s death. Sometimes in trying to make someone feel better, people may say things such as, ‘They are in a better place now’, or ‘At least they are not suffering anymore’. This is seldom helpful and may be perceived as minimizing the loss of the loved one.

When you have forgotten to send your card

Life is so busy that you might not send a card or note as quickly you would have liked. When this happens, you may feel that by sending a card later, you are only stirring things up for the family by bringing up memories of their loved one’s death. In reality, when you lose someone through death, they are never really forgotten. 

Friends and family may have appeared to have moved forward and be carrying on with their lives, but their loss will be with them always. Even though they may not be talking about it, the memories and grief can continue for a long time. Your thoughts and support will be appreciated at any stage. It is never too late to send a card, letter or message to offer support and condolences to your friend or family member.

Content reviewed July 15, 2015

PDF Imprimer article EnvoyerEnvoyer
L’art d’exprimer des condoléances

Le décès d’une personne que vous connaissez vous affecte, et la relation que vous entreteniez avec elle ou avec sa famille ou ses amis détermine le soutien que vous leur offrez. En présentant vos condoléances ou votre désir de réconforter, vous dites aux personnes endeuillées qu’elles ne sont pas seules. En effet, vos mots et vos gestes les aideront à mieux vivre leur épreuve.

Nous avons souvent du mal à décider quoi dire et comment quand un proche meurt. Le doute plane : Est-ce que nos mots expriment bien nos sentiments? Est-ce qu’ils semblent vraiment sincères? N’empêche, votre compassion brille le plus lorsque vous prenez tout simplement contact avec la personne éprouvée et reconnaissez son deuil. Comment vous communiquez avec elle dépend bien sûr de votre relation. Bref, aucune façon ne l’emporte toujours sur toutes les autres. 

  • Carte ou lettre : La tradition, c’est de poster une carte ou une lettre de condoléances manuscrite. Bon nombre de gens y tiennent encore, car cela leur semble plus personnel. 

  • Message électronique : La percée des médias électroniques vous incitera peut-être à envoyer un texto ou un courriel, ou de mettre un message soit sur une page Facebook, soit sur un site in memoriam d’un salon funéraire ou d’un journal. Choisissez selon ce qui convient le mieux à vous et à la personne en deuil.

  • Autres expressions : Vous pouvez envoyer des fleurs ou un panier rempli de fruits ou d’autres petites douceurs. Un autre geste chaleureux : apporter un repas maison ou un plat pré-cuisiné qui se congèle bien. Joignez-y une carte ou une note qui comprend non seulement le mode de cuisson et de congélation, s’il y a lieu, mais aussi vos condoléances et votre témoignage d’appui. Parfois, il y a lieu aussi de faire un don commémoratif à un organisme caritatif ou à un fond pour les enfants à charge de la personne défunte.

Peu importe l’approche que vous choisissez, écrire quelques mots pour exprimer votre sympathie, votre tristesse ou votre tendresse peut apporter un grand réconfort.   

  • Employez un langage qui met la personne endeuillée à l’aise. Dans certains cas, les gens préfèrent des termes plus abstraits comme disparition pour parler de la mort. De plus en plus, toutefois, les études sur le deuil révèlent qu’un langage plus simple et plus concret est à préférer (décès, par exemple).

  • Reconnaissez l’épreuve de la personne et intégrez son nom à votre message; par exemple,  C’est avec tristesse, cher Pascal, que j’ai appris que ton frère est décédé. Lorsque vous ajoutez le nom de la personne visée, la spontanéité et l’intimité de votre message y gagnent.  

  • Soyez sincère. Pas besoin de pondre un long message pour que votre sympathie ressorte. Laissez parler votre cœur.

  • En cas de doute, la simplicité est d’or.
    • Nos pensées vous accompagnent pendant ces moments difficiles. 
    • Nous prions pour vous et votre famille pendant cette épreuve. (si vous partagez des croyances religieuses)
    • Nous nous ennuierons beaucoup de ta mère.
    • La nouvelle du décès de ta mère nous a bien attristés.

  • Décrivez comment un certain souvenir de la personne décédée vous touche. Les personnes éprouvées sauront ainsi que leur être cher reste dans le cœur des autres, et elles puiseront peut-être dans leurs propres souvenirs pour surmonter leur deuil.

  • Offrez d’aider, car les gens qui perdent un être cher ont beaucoup de tâches et détails à régler. Mais parfois, il leur suffit de pouvoir se confier à quelqu’un aussi.  Bref, si vous pouvez garder les enfants, faire une ballade relaxante ou tout simplement écouter pour consoler, dites-le dans votre note. Assurez-vous, toutefois, que vous pouvez vraiment donner suite, le cas échéant.

Quoi ne pas écrire…

  • D’abord, ne donnez pas de conseils; ensuite, évitez de dire Je sais comment tu te sens, même si vous avez-vous-même perdu un être cher. Chaque deuil est unique, et nous ne pouvons pas vraiment savoir ce que l’autre éprouve. Plutôt que de consoler et rassurer, cette phrase peut aliéner.

  • Évitez des tournures comme tu devrais et tu verras que… La personne qui lit ces affirmations imposantes peut penser que vous jugez à tort ses sentiments et décisions. Nous composons tous différemment avec la mort, et nous prenons habituellement des décisions à la mesure de nos besoins. Vaut donc mieux appuyer ces choix, dans la mesure où ils ne nuisent vraiment pas. Si vous voulez parler à quelqu’un de son deuil, allez-y de questions ouvertes qui font ressortir les anecdotes et les réflexions tonifiantes.

  • Ne parlez pas de vous-même. Concentrez-vous sur la personne en deuil. Si la personne décédée vous était à ce point chère que votre propre peine vous bouleverse, vous aurez peut-être beaucoup de mal à offrir un soutien efficace. Vous pouvez quand même présenter vos condoléances, mais la personne éprouvée n’a pas à vous réconforter, elle. Confiez-vous plutôt à d’autres amis ou personnes-ressources.

  • Ne parlez pas des aspects supposément « positifs » du décès. Parfois, pour tenter de consoler les autres, on écrit des choses comme Au moins elle ne souffre plus ou Il est dans un bien meilleur monde maintenant. À vrai dire, ces pensées réconfortent rarement et, de fait, peuvent laisser entendre que vous minimisez l’impact du décès.

Si vous avez oublié ou omis d’envoyer vos souhaits

La frénésie du quotidien vous empêchera peut-être d’envoyer une carte ou une note rapidement. Le cas échéant, vous aurez peut-être l’impression de ranimer le deuil de la famille en évoquant le souvenir de leur être cher. En réalité, la mort n’efface pas le souvenir de la personne.   

Il est normal de penser que les personnes éprouvées ont repris le cours normal de la vie, mais sachez que le décès reste à tout jamais gravé dans leur mémoire. Même si elles n’en parlent pas, la douleur peut perdurer. Vos s pensées et votre appui seront toujours un baume, alors il n’est jamais trop tard pour les exprimer.

Contenu revu en novembre 2017