PDF Print Article Send to a FriendSend to a Friend
Advance Care Planning Across Canada

Each of us is encouraged to think about, talk about and tell people our wishes for the type of health care we want to receive at some point in the future. This process is called advance care planning.

If you are living with a serious health problem or illness, it is even more important that you talk to the doctors and nurses providing your care, as well as your family and friends. The discussion needs to include these points:

  • what may lay ahead
  • what your care needs might be
  • what might be the choices for your care
  • the type of decisions that may be required in the future.

If you take the time to talk about possible scenarios with your health care team and your family, and you let them know your wishes about care, they will feel more comfortable and confident in making decisions on your behalf and guiding your care if you become unable to do so.

In addition to having these conversations, you are encouraged to write down your wishes or instructions regarding your health care. In the past, this document was commonly called a living will. Now it is more often called an advance care plan. An advance care plan may be considered a legal document in your province or territory. The actual form or written document may be given a different name, again depending on where you live.

Another important step in advance care planning is to choose someone you can trust who will speak for you if you are too ill to speak for yourself. Your doctors and nurses will look to this person to help make decisions and guide your care. This person is usually called your ‘substitute decision maker’. Again, depending on where you live, your substitute decision maker may be given a different name, such as your health care proxy.

It is very important to talk to your substitute decision maker about what your wishes are for your future health care. It is also important to include in your advance care plan the name of the person you have chosen to be your substitute decision maker. Once you've chosen the person, written the name in your advance care plan, and completed the plan, give a copy to your health care providers, your family and/or your substitute decision maker.

It is important to know that you can make changes to your advance care plan at any time, even after you have given it to others. If you change any part of it, be sure to put the date and your initials or signature beside the changes, and share the updated copy with your substitute decision maker and health care providers.

The words used in health care are often confusing and overwhelming for someone who is ill, as well as the person's family and friends. The words used in advance care planning are especially varied across Canada. To help you and your family find the words that are used where you live, go to the link for your province or territory in the following list. It provides the common terms used in your area for substitute decision maker and advance care plan. It also provides links for more information about how you can record your instructions for future health care.

The website, Speak Up, is a useful resource for advance care planning, and also offers information for different parts of Canada.

British Columbia (pdf)
Advance directive
Substitute decision maker - can be a personal guardian (committee of the person), representative and/or temporary substitute decision maker.

Alberta (pdf)
Personal directive
Agent

Saskatchewan
Health care directive
Substitute decision maker - or proxy

Manitoba
Health care directive
Proxy

Ontario (pdf)
Advance care plan
Substitute decision maker

Quebec
My mandate in case of incapacity
Mandatary

New Brunswick (pdf)
Advance directive
Substitute decision maker - if the directive is prepared by a lawyer, the substitute decision maker is called a 'power of attorney for health'

Nova Scotia
Personal directive
Substitute decision maker

Prince Edward Island
Health care directive
Proxy

Newfoundland and Labrador (pdf)
Health care directive
Substitute decision maker

Nunavut
Contact your local health care providers, or the office at the link above for more information.

Northwest Territories
Personal directive
Agent

Yukon
Advance directive
Proxy
 

Content reviewed July 15, 2015

PDF Imprimer article EnvoyerEnvoyer
La planification préalable des soins au Canada

Nous sommes tous invités à réfléchir au type de soins de santé que nous aimerions recevoir dans l’avenir, à en discuter entre nous et à faire part de nos souhaits à nos proches. Ce processus s’appelle la planification préalable des soins.

Si vous avez un problème de santé ou une maladie grave, il est encore plus important d’en parler aux médecins et au personnel infirmier qui s’occupent de vous, ainsi qu’à vos parents et amis. Vous devez notamment aborder les questions suivantes :

  • Qu’est-ce qui s’en vient?
  • De quels soins pourriez-vous avoir besoin?
  • Quels pourraient être vos choix par rapport à vos soins?
  • Quel type de décisions pourrait-on être appelé à prendre?

Si vous avez le temps d’envisager divers scénarios possibles avec votre équipe soignante et votre famille et de leur faire part de vos choix par rapport à vos soins, ils seront plus à l’aise et sûrs d’eux-mêmes le jour où ils devront prendre des décisions en votre nom si vous devenez incapable de le faire.

Outre ces discussions, nous vous incitons à mettre par écrit vos souhaits ou vos directives par rapport à vos soins de santé. Ce document, qui a porté et porte toutes sortes de noms (testament biologique, testament de vie, directive préalable, etc.), est le plus souvent appelé « mandat en cas d’inaptitude », « directive préalable/personnelle » ou encore « plan de soins ». Il s’agit d’un document ayant force de loi dans votre province ou territoire. Le document comme tel portera un nom différent selon la province ou le territoire où vous vivez.

Une autre étape importante de la planification préalable des soins consiste à nommer une personne de confiance qui vous représentera si vous devenez trop malade pour vous exprimer vous-même. Vos médecins et le personnel infirmier se tourneront vers cette personne pour prendre des décisions par rapport à vos soins si vous ne pouvez plus le faire. Cette personne porte le plus souvent le titre de « mandataire » ou de « fondé de pouvoir », mais, ici encore, la terminologie peut varier d’une province et d’un territoire à l’autre.

Il est très important de faire part à votre mandataire des soins que vous souhaitez recevoir à cette étape là de votre vie. Il importe aussi d’inscrire dans votre mandat ou votre plan de soins le nom de la personne que vous avez choisie comme mandataire. Une fois votre choix arrêté et écrit dans votre mandat, et une fois votre mandat terminé, remettez-en une copie à vos prestataires de soins, aux membres de votre famille et à votre mandataire.

Il est important de savoir que vous pouvez modifier ce document en tout temps, même après l’avoir remis à ces personnes. Si vous le modifiez, n’oubliez pas d’inscrire la date et vos initiales ou votre signature à côté de chacun des changements.

La terminologie des soins de santé n’est pas toujours très claire et peut sembler trop complexe pour une personne malade et ses parents et amis. En particulier, les termes employés pour parler de planification préalable des soins varient beaucoup d’une région à l’autre du pays. Pour vous aider vous et votre famille à vous y retrouver, suivez le lien menant vers votre province ou territoire dans la liste ci-dessous. Ces documents contiennent les termes les plus couramment utilisés dans votre région pour désigner le mandataire et le mandat en cas d’inaptitude. Vous trouverez également dans cette liste de plus amples renseignements sur la façon de consigner vos directives personnelles concernant vos soins de santé.

Le site internet Parlons-en est une ressource utile pour la planification préalable des soins dans toutes les régions du Canada.

Colombie-Britannique (pdf)
Advance directive [Directive préalable]
Substitute decision maker [Mandataire] - aussi : personal guardian  [committee of the person], representative ou temporary substitute decision maker

Alberta (pdf)
Personal directive [Directive personnelle]
Agent [Mandataire]

Saskatchewan
Health care directive [Directive de soins de santé]
Substitute decision maker (proxy) [Mandataire]

Manitoba
Directive en matière de soins de santé
Mandataire

Ontario (pdf)
Plan de soins
Mandataire

Québec
Mandat en cas d’inaptitude
Mandataire

Nouveau-Brunswick (pdf)
Directive à l’égard des soins de santé
Mandataire

Nouvelle-Écosse
Directive personnelle
Mandataire

Île-du-Prince-Édouard
Directive en matière de soins de santé
Mandataire

Terre-Neuve (pdf)
Health care directive [Directive de soins de santé]
Substitute decision maker [Mandataire]

Nunavut
Veuillez contacter vos prestataires de soins locaux ou cliquer sur le lien ci-dessus pour de plus amples renseignements.

Territoires du Nord-Ouest
Directive personnelle
Mandataire

Yukon
Directive préalable
Fondé de pouvoir

Contenu revu en décembre 2017