PDF Print Article Send to a FriendSend to a Friend
Mindfulness: Making Moments Matter

By: Glen R. Horst MDiv, DMin, BA

Mindfulness is a practice that helps you connect with what you are experiencing in the present. Research has shown that mindfulness can positively affect your sense of well-being, even in the midst of illness. By focusing on your breath, you can find balance in the midst of distractions, demands and suffering. Mindfulness can help you live fully in the moment without getting stuck in it.

Mindfulness comes from the spiritual traditions of the East, where it has been taught and practiced for thousands of years. In the West, mindfulness has played a greater role in healthcare, especially during the past three decades.

How will mindfulness help me?

Mindfulness will help you pay attention to what you are experiencing moment by moment. When you are mindful, you are aware of your thoughts, feelings and body sensations. You notice the thoughts that are flitting through your mind and the feelings that go with them. You notice the sensations in your body.

When you are mindful, you are observing what is happening around and inside you without judgment. You are both fully in your experience and slightly removed from it. You notice and accept all the thoughts, feelings and sensations you are experiencing in the moment. But you know that another fresh moment is coming that will bring other thoughts, feelings and sensations.

The power of noticing

Getting stuck in certain ways of thinking or feeling occurs when you are not fully in the moment. Your mind is on something in the future, or your feelings are caught up in something from the past. In moments like these, you are unaware of the richness and possibilities available to you in the present. When you are mindful, you notice the ongoing stream of your sensations, thoughts and emotions. You notice what you push away, what you hold on to, and what you desire. You notice the choices you are making, and you are no longer on automatic pilot. Noticing can help you wake up to what you are experiencing.

Why is the breath important?

Your breath is with you wherever you go. Sometimes it is rapid and shallow; sometimes, it is slow and deep. The changing rhythms of your breath reflect what is happening around and inside you. It connects you to what you are experiencing in your body and mind. Paying attention to your breath is a way of coming home to yourself and is a key to living mindfully. Noticing your breath can help you stay in touch with your mind and body in the here and now.

Observing your thoughts

When you focus on your breath, sooner or later (usually sooner) thoughts will arise. This is normal. This is what minds do. When you become aware that your attention has shifted from your breath to your thoughts, you can observe what your thoughts are about and what feelings arise with these thoughts. Then you can guide your attention back to your breath. In this way, you create a sense of inner spaciousness in which you can notice your thoughts without becoming preoccupied by them.

Observing sensations in your body

Staying in touch with your breath can help you observe sensations in your body. When you use your breath to ground yourself in the moment, you can enhance the quality of what your body experiences. For example, if you are aware in each moment of what you eat, you may increase your pleasure in the sight, texture and taste of your food. Taking a mindful walk can also heighten your senses. You are more likely to feel a breeze or sunshine on your skin; see how clouds and trees move against the sky; hear bird songs and children at play; or feel your muscles moving and heart beating. You can even mindfully brush your teeth, wash the dishes, pause at a red light, take a shower or enter a room. Mindfulness helps you to live in your body more fully and to be grateful for all that your body allows you to experience.

Breathing through physical discomfort

Your breath can also help you cope with uncomfortable body sensations. If you are experiencing physical discomfort, you may want to try one of the following:

  • Turn your attention to your breath. By focusing on your breath, you may be able to take a step back from your discomfort. When you withdraw your attention from your physical symptoms and give them their own space, they may become less overwhelming.
  • Use your breath as an anchor to focus your attention on the discomfort itself. Become aware of the thoughts and feelings you have about your discomfort with a sense of gentle curiosity. Accept distressing sensations and your thoughts and feelings about them as part of where you are right now. Remember that what you are experiencing in your body in this moment could be different in the next.
  • Focus on your breath to create a quiet inner space for noticing the uncomfortable sensations in your body. What is your body trying to tell you? How do you feel about what is happening in your body? Are you rejecting how you are feeling or judging how you are reacting? Honour your body by listening to the messages it is trying to send you.

How do I practice mindfulness?

Practicing mindfulness starts with an intention to make each moment matter. The next step is a commitment to set aside time for mindfulness meditations and exercises. Embracing attitudes and practices for cultivating mindfulness will enhance your development and experience of mindfulness.

Seven attitudes for cultivating mindfulness

In his groundbreaking books (see Resources), Jon Kabat-Zinn describes seven attitudes that are important for cultivating mindfulness:

  • Non-judging – letting each moment be just what it is without labelling it as “good” or “bad”
  • Patience – letting your life unfold in its own time and way
  • Beginner’s mind – seeing everything as if for the first time
  • Trust – feeling confident about your ability to learn from observing your experience
  • Non-striving – backing off from striving for results
  • Acceptance – seeing things as they actually are in the present, moment by moment
  • Letting go – putting aside the tendency to cling to some experiences and reject others

Practices for cultivating mindfulness

There are many practices for cultivating mindfulness, and it may take a while to find which work best for you. The ones you choose will affect the amount of time you need each day for them. Generally you may wish to spend 15 to 45 minutes a day on the practices that suit you. Regular practice will gradually begin to affect how you experience life. You may begin to notice moments of centredness or inner spaciousness. These are not things to strive for, but they may occur as you practice.

The following briefly describe a variety of practices for cultivating mindfulness:

Belly breathing
Sit or lie in a comfortable position (with your eyes closed, if you wish). Bring your attention to your belly. As you inhale, feel how your belly expands. When you exhale, feel how your belly relaxes. Continue to be with each in-breath and out-breath, riding the waves of your breathing. When you notice that your mind has wandered, bring your attention back to your breath and the rising and falling of your belly. Continue practicing for at least five minutes.

You can also tune into your breathing from time to time during the day. Become aware of your thoughts and feelings at these moments, without judging them or yourself.

Sitting meditation
Sit on a chair with your feet flat on the floor, your spine straight, and your hands on your thighs or touching lightly in your lap. Begin by focusing on your breath. When your mind wanders, notice where it goes and gently bring your attention back to your belly and your breath. Continue for at least 10 minutes.

When keeping your attention on your breath becomes easier, you can expand your sitting meditation in any of the following ways:

  • Sitting with the body as a whole: Bring your awareness to your body as a whole as you sit.
  • Sitting with sound: Listen to sounds without labelling or judging them. Hear the silences between sounds, too.
  • Sitting with thoughts and feelings: Notice your thoughts come and go. Observe them as objects or events in your mind without getting caught up in their content. Note what each thought is about and what feelings go with it. Be aware of how thoughts move on if you don’t get involved in them and how some thoughts keep coming back.
  • Sitting with choiceless awareness: Just sit without focus or expectation. Be completely open to whatever comes into your awareness. Let it come and go, observing in stillness. Allow yourself simply to “be,” moment by moment.

Body scan
Lie or sit in a comfortable place and allow your eyes to close gently. Feel the rising and falling of your belly with each in-breath and out-breath.

Begin the body scan by feeling your body’s points of contact with what you are lying or sitting on. Then bring your attention to your toes of your left foot, feeling the sensations in that region. If you don’t feel anything, just be aware of that. Slowly bring your attention to each region of your body – left toes, left foot, left calf, left thigh, left buttocks, right toes, right foot, right calf, right thigh, right buttocks, pelvis, lower back and abdomen, upper back and chest, both shoulders, fingers on each hand, both arms, neck and throat, face, back of the head, and top of the head.

Breathe into and out of each region of your body, observing the sensations you are experiencing. When you notice that your attention has wandered, bring your mind back to your breath and the region you are focusing on.

Walking meditation
Stand with your feet about shoulder-width apart and bring your attention to your breath for a few moments. As you begin to walk, notice how your weight shifts as you raise one foot and step forward. Be fully aware of that foot contacting the ground and your weight shifting to it, while you lift your other foot and step forward.

If possible, coordinate your footsteps with your breathing. Try inhaling while you raise the heel of one foot, exhaling when it is raised, inhaling as you move the foot forward, and exhaling as you place it firmly on the ground. Then repeat inhaling and exhaling as you raise, pause, move and plant your other foot.

You could also take two or more steps with each in-breath and out-breath. Choose a pace that allows you to pay attention to both your breathing and your walking. A suitable pace helps you to be fully present with each step and each breath. When your mind wanders, draw your attention back to what you are experiencing while you breath and walk.

Observing the sensations that arise from breathing and walking is at the heart of this meditation and is a good place to start. However, you can expand the meditation by opening your senses to everything around you. Using your breathing and walking as an anchor, bring your awareness to everything you see, touch and sense. Notice the thoughts and feelings that arise from these connections.

Loving-kindness meditation
Begin by calming your mind with mindful breathing. Then consciously offer love and kindness toward yourself by inwardly saying words such as: “May I be at peace. May I be free from anger. May my heart be open. May I be filled with compassion. May I be healed. May I be a source of healing for others.”

Continue by wishing other people well. Picture a person in your mind’s eye and hold him or her in your heart. Inwardly direct words, such as the following, toward that person: “May you be happy. May you be free from pain and suffering. May you experience love and joy.”

End by coming back to your own body and breath. Enjoy the sense of connection you have with yourself and others.
 

Resources
Jon Kabat-Zinn introduced mindfulness into healthcare at the University of Massachusetts Medical Centre in 1979. The Mindfulness-Based Stress Reduction program he started has benefited thousands of people. Kabat-Zinn’s books continue to be some of the most helpful for anyone wanting to learn about mindfulness.

  • Full Catastrophe Living: Using the Wisdom of Your Body and Mind to Face Stress, Pain, and Illness is a bestseller that captures the essence of his teaching and program. CDs with the book’s guided meditations are also available.
  • Wherever You Go There You Are: Mindfulness Meditation in Everyday Life is a helpful guide for both the beginner and the long-time practitioner.
  • Mindfulness for Beginners comes with a CD that includes five guided mindfulness meditations.

Mindfulness programs are available in many communities. They can be a helpful way to learn about mindfulness and to develop mindful practices in your life. The guidance and encouragement of leaders, the support of other group members, and the structure of the program can keep your motivation high and answer your questions as they arise.

Content reviewed September 26, 2017

PDF Imprimer article EnvoyerEnvoyer
La conscience aiguë de chaque instant

Par : Rév.Glen R. Horst

La « pleine conscience » est une manière de vivre pleinement le présent. La recherche montre qu’elle peut par ailleurs améliorer votre sensation de bien-être, même si vous êtes malade. En vous concentrant sur votre respiration, vous pouvez atteindre un équilibre entre les distractions, les attentes et la souffrance. La pleine conscience peut vous aider à vivre pleinement un moment, sans vous y enfermer.

La méthode est issue des traditions spirituelles de l’Orient, où elle est enseignée et pratiquée depuis des milliers d’années. En Occident, elle joue un rôle croissant en santé, surtout depuis les trente dernières années.

Que puis-je attendre de la pleine conscience?

La pleine conscience aide à prêter davantage attention, instant par instant, à ce qui vous arrive. Être pleinement conscient, c’est être sensible à vos pensées, à vos émotions et à vos sensations physiques. Vous remarquez les pensées qui vous traversent l’esprit et les émotions qui les accompagnent. Vous percevez aussi les sensations qui affectent votre corps.

Quand vous êtes pleinement conscient du moment, vous observez sans juger ce qui se passe autour de vous et en vous. Vous êtes tout à votre expérience, mais un peu distant tout à la fois. Vous observez et vous acceptez toutes les pensées, toutes les émotions et toutes les sensations que vous vivez en cet instant particulier. Mais vous savez qu’un autre instant suit déjà, assorti d’autres pensées, d’autres émotions et d’autres sensations.

La perception

Faute d’être assez attentif à l’instant qui passe, vous risquez de rester enfermé dans certains modes de pensée ou dans certaines émotions. Votre esprit se concentre sur l’avenir ou vos émotions sont coincées dans un moment déjà passé. Vous n’êtes donc pas en mesure de vous rendre compte de la richesse et des possibilités du présent. La pleine conscience, en revanche, vous permet de percevoir le flux continu de vos sensations, de vos pensées et de vos émotions. Vous avez conscience de ce que vous repoussez, de ce à quoi vous vous accrochez et de ce que vous désirez. Vous êtes conscient des choix que vous faites et vous n’agissez plus en automate. Cette perception vous éveille à ce que vous vivez.

L’importance de la respiration

Où que vous soyez, vous respirez. Votre respiration est parfois rapide et courte, parfois lente et profonde. Son rythme changeant reflète ce qui se passe autour de vous et en vous. Elle vous met en contact avec ce qu’éprouvent votre corps et votre esprit. Lui prêter attention, c’est en quelque sorte revenir à vous; c’est la clé d’une vie pleinement consciente. Essayez de suivre votre respiration pour rester présent à votre esprit et à votre corps, à l’instant même, là où vous êtes.

Observer ses pensées

Concentrez-vous sur votre respiration et tôt ou tard (souvent plus tôt que tard) : des pensées jailliront dans votre esprit. C’est le rôle normal de l’esprit. Si vous constatez que votre attention se détourne de votre respiration et que vous vous concentrez plutôt sur vos pensées, notez sur quoi portent celles-ci et notez les émotions qui les accompagnent. Ensuite, ramenez votre attention sur votre respiration. Vous créez ainsi un grand espace intérieur où vous pouvez prendre conscience de vos pensées sans qu’elles soient un fardeau.

Observer ses sensations corporelles

Restez sensible à votre respiration pour observer les sensations qu’éprouve votre corps. Utilisez votre respiration pour bien vous camper dans l’instant présent et améliorer la qualité de ces sensations. Si par exemple vous restez conscient de ce que vous mangez à chaque instant d’un repas, vous pouvez accroître du coup le plaisir que vous procurent la vue, la texture et le goût des aliments. Faire une promenade consciente peut aussi accentuer les sensations : vous sentirez plus probablement la brise ou le soleil sur votre peau; en levant les yeux, vous verrez le mouvement des nuages et le balancement des arbres contre le ciel; vous entendrez les oiseaux chanter et les enfants jouer; vous sentirez vos muscles bouger et votre cœur battre. Vous pouvez même faire cet exercice de pleine conscience en vous brossant les dents, en lavant la vaisselle, au feu rouge, en prenant une douche ou en entrant dans une pièce. La pleine conscience vous aide à vivre plus intensément dans votre corps et à être reconnaissant de tout ce que votre corps vous permet de vivre.

La respiration et les malaises physiques

La respiration peut aussi aider à surmonter une sensation corporelle inconfortable. Si vous éprouvez un malaise physique, essayez l’une des méthodes suivantes :

  • Concentrez-vous sur votre respiration; vous arriverez peut-être à vous distancier du malaise. Si vous détournez votre attention de vos symptômes pour leur donner leur espace propre, ils vous sembleront peut-être moins accablants.
  • Utilisez la respiration pour ancrer votre attention sur le malaise même. Efforcez-vous d’être sensible aux pensées et aux émotions que génère votre malaise, et de leur accorder une saine curiosité. Acceptez les sensations pénibles de même que les pensées et les émotions qui les accompagnent comme une partie de ce que vous êtes à cet instant précis. Rappelez-vous que ce que vous vivez dans votre corps à cet instant pourrait être différent de ce que vous vivrez l’instant suivant.
  • Concentrez-vous sur votre respiration pour ménager un espace intérieur tranquille où vous pourrez observer les sensations inconfortables qu’éprouve votre corps. Qu’est-ce que votre corps tente de vous dire? Que ressentez-vous à l’égard de ce qui se passe dans votre corps? Rejetez-vous ces sensations? Portez-vous un jugement sur votre réaction? Honorez votre corps en écoutant ce qu’il tente de vous faire comprendre.

S’exercer à la pleine conscience

Pour accéder à la pleine conscience, vous devez d’abord vouloir sincèrement que chaque instant compte. Il faut ensuite réserver du temps à la méditation et aux exercices. Adoptez une attitude et des méthodes qui vous permettent de cultiver la pleine conscience : l’expérience et la progression vous sembleront plus simples.

Sept attitudes favorables à la pleine conscience

Dans ses ouvrages révolutionnaires (voir la section « Ressources »), Jon Kabat-Zinn décrit sept attitudes propices à cette culture de la pleine conscience :

  • Ne pas juger : laisser chaque instant être ce qu’il est, sans le qualifier de « bon » ou de « mauvais ».
  • Faire preuve de patience : laisser la vie se dérouler selon son rythme et à sa manière propres.
  • Retrouver l’esprit du débutant : tout voir comme si c’était la première fois.
  • Faire confiance : croire en sa capacité d’apprendre en étant conscient de son expérience.
  • Ne pas lutter : éviter de se battre pour obtenir un résultat donné.
  • Accepter : voir les choses comme elles sont au présent, instant par instant.
  • Laisser aller : ne pas s’accrocher à certaines expériences et ne pas en rejeter.

Méthodes

Il existe de nombreuses manières de cultiver la pleine conscience et il vous faudra peut-être un peu de temps pour découvrir celle qui vous convient le mieux. La durée de l’exercice quotidien dépend de la méthode choisie. En règle générale, il vous faudra de 15 à 45 minutes par jour. La pratique régulière changera progressivement la façon dont vous vivez votre vie. Peut-être commencerez-vous par constater des instants de centralité ou d’espace intérieur. Ce n’est pas un objectif à atteindre, mais il se peut que la pratique vous y amène naturellement.

Voici quelques méthodes, en bref.

Respiration ventrale
Installez-vous confortablement (assis ou autrement). Fermez les yeux si vous le souhaitez. Concentrez-vous sur votre ventre. Sentez votre ventre se gonfler quand vous inspirez. Sentez-le se détendre quand vous expirez. Restez présent à chaque inspiration et à chaque expiration en suivant les ondes de votre respiration. Si vous constatez que votre esprit vagabonde, ramenez-le à votre respiration et à votre ventre qui se soulève et s’abaisse. Continuez pendant au moins cinq minutes.

Concentrez-vous de cette manière sur votre respiration quelques fois pendant la journée. Prenez conscience de vos pensées et de vos émotions à ce moment, sans les juger ni vous juger.

Méditation en position assise
Assoyez-vous sur une chaise, pieds bien à plat au sol, dos droit, mains sur les cuisses, voire légèrement en contact avec votre ventre. Concentrez-vous sur votre respiration. Si votre esprit vagabonde, notez où il va et ramenez-le doucement à votre ventre et à votre respiration. Continuez pendant au moins 10 minutes. 

Quand il devient plus facile de vous concentrer sur votre attention, vous pouvez enrichir votre méditation en position assise de diverses manières :

  • L’intégralité du corps : Soyez conscient de votre corps entier au moment de vous asseoir.
  • Le son : Écoutez les sons sans les nommer ni les juger. Écoutez aussi le silence entre les sons.
  • Pensées et émotions : Observez les pensées qui vont et viennent. Observez-les comme des objets ou des activités de votre esprit, sans vous laisser piéger par leur contenu. Notez sur quoi porte chaque pensée ainsi que les émotions qui les accompagnent. Notez que les pensées ne font que passer si vous ne vous y laissez pas prendre. Notez aussi que certaines pensées reviennent sans cesse.
  • Libre conscience : Assoyez-vous simplement, sans vous concentrer sur quoi que ce soit et sans attendre quoi que ce soit. Restez totalement ouvert à ce qui se présente à votre conscience. Laissez aller et venir; observez dans le calme. Laissez-vous simplement « être », instant par instant.

Balayage corporel
Couché ou assis dans un endroit confortable, laissez vos yeux se fermer doucement. Sentez votre ventre s’élever et s’abaisser à chaque inspiration et chaque expiration.

Commencez le balayage corporel en vous ouvrant à la sensation de contact entre votre corps et la surface où vous êtes couché ou assis. Amenez votre attention sur les orteils de votre pied gauche et sur les sensations que vous éprouvez dans cette région. Si vous ne sentez rien, contentez-vous de le noter au passage. Amenez lentement votre attention sur chaque région de votre corps : orteils du pied gauche, pied gauche, mollet gauche, cuisse gauche, fesse gauche, orteils du pied droit, pied droit, mollet droit, cuisse droite, fesse droite, bassin, bas du dos et abdomen, haut du dos et poitrine, épaules, doigts de chaque main, bras, nuque et gorge, visage, l’arrière, puis le dessus de la tête.

Inspirez dans chaque région de votre corps et expirez depuis chacune d’elle, tout en observant les sensations que vous éprouvez. Si vous constatez que votre attention dévie, ramenez-la à votre respiration et à la région sur laquelle vous vous concentriez juste avant.

Méditation en marche
En position debout, écartez les pieds à la largeur des épaules. Concentrez votre attention sur votre respiration pendant quelques instants. Commencez à marcher et observez le déplacement de votre poids quand vous levez un pied et que vous faites un pas. Soyez pleinement conscient du moment où ce pied reprend contact avec le sol et où votre poids se déplace de ce côté quand vous soulevez l’autre pied pour faire un autre pas.

Si possible, coordonnez vos pas et votre respiration. Essayez d’inspirer quand vous levez le talon et d’expirer une fois le pied levé, d’inspirer à nouveau en avançant le pied, puis d’expirer au moment de le reposer fermement au sol. Répétez ensuite la séquence inspiration-expiration pendant que vous soulevez l’autre talon, faites une pause, avancez, puis reposez le pied au sol.

Si vous préférez, faites deux pas ou plus à chaque séquence inspiration-expiration. Choisissez un rythme qui vous permet de prêter attention à votre respiration et à la marche; un rythme qui vous aide à être totalement présent à chaque pas et à chaque respiration. Si votre esprit vagabonde, reportez votre attention sur ce que vous éprouvez en respirant et en marchant.

La perception des sensations qui émanent de votre respiration et de la marche est au cœur de ce type de méditation. C’est aussi un bon point de départ. Vous pouvez l’enrichir en ouvrant vos sens à tout ce qui vous entoure. Utilisez la respiration et la marche comme un ancrage qui retiendrait votre attention sur tout ce que vous voyez, tout ce que vous touchez et tout ce que vous ressentez. Notez les pensées et les émotions qui se dégagent de ces liens.

Méditation de l’amour et de la gentillesse
D’abord, apaisez votre esprit en prenant pleinement conscience de votre respiration. Ensuite, offrez-vous consciemment amour et gentillesse en prononçant intérieurement des mots comme « Que la paix soit en moi. Que je sois libre de toute colère. Que mon cœur soit ouvert. Que je sois empli de compassion. Que je sois guéri. Que je sois source de guérison pour d’autres. »

Continuez en formulant des vœux pour les autres. Imaginez une personne et faites-lui une place dans votre cœur. Adressez-lui intérieurement des mots comme « Puisses-tu être heureux. Puisses-tu te libérer de la douleur et de la souffrance. Puisses-tu vivre l’amour et la joie. »

Terminez en revenant dans votre propre corps et à votre propre respiration. Profitez de la sensation de ce lien qui vous unit à vous et aux autres.

Ressources
C’est au Centre médical de l’Université du Massachusetts, en 1979, que Jon Kabat-Zinn a intégré pour la première fois pleine conscience et soins de santé. Des milliers de personnes ont bénéficié de son Mindfulness-Based Stress Reduction Program (maîtrise du stress par la pleine conscience). Ses livres sont encore parmi les plus utiles pour quiconque veut aborder et approfondir le sujet.

  • Au cœur de la tourmente, la pleine conscience est un best-seller qui contient l’essence de son enseignement et du programme. Il est aussi possible de se procurer les cédéroms qui accompagnent ces méditations guidées.
  • Où tu vas, tu es : apprendre à méditer pour se libérer du stress et des tensions profondes est un guide utile pour débutants et praticiens de longue date.
  • Mindfulness for Beginners est accompagné d’un cédérom pour cinq méditations en pleine conscience.

Il existe de nombreux programmes de pleine conscience un peu partout. Ils peuvent vous aider à comprendre le sujet et adopter certaines méthodes. Les conseils et les encouragements de l’animateur, le soutien des autres membres du groupe et la structure du programme entretiendront votre motivation et répondront aux questions qui ne manqueront pas de vous venir.

Contenu revu en septembre 2017