PDF Print Article Send to a FriendSend to a Friend
Caring for Hair and Face

By: CVH Team

Caring for hair

Illness tends to make people perspire, making their hair damp and sometimes tangled. Brushing someone’s hair regularly can be a thoughtful gesture. Hair can be washed in the shower or tub, at the kitchen table with a basin, or in bed surrounded by soaker pads to prevent the bed from getting wet.

To wash a person’s hair in bed:

  • Organize towels, containers to hold clean and dirty water, shampoo and the patient’s regular comb or brush.
     
  • Gently move the person to the head of the bed so that their head is slightly over the edge.
     
  • Cover the bed with garbage bags or ‘soaker pads’ to keep it from getting wet and place a pail on the floor below to catch the dirty water.
     
  • Wet the person’s hair with clean warm water, gently shampoo and massage the person’s head.
     
  • Rinse well using warm water, collecting the water in the pail on the floor.

Another option for washing hair in bed is to use commercial shampoo caps. These products are often available in pharmacies or shops that sell medical equipment. Shampoo caps are infused with a rinse-free shampoo and conditioner for single use. The cap is warmed in the microwave. The hair is then massaged through the cap for several minutes then removed. There is no rinsing required.

Haircuts can also be given at home, in hospice, or in hospital. Consider asking the person’s regular hairdresser to come out to cut or style the person’s hair.

Care of the face

Some people feel better when they follow their regular routines. Women who regularly wear make-up may want assistance in putting it on. Men who normally shave every day will likely appreciate remaining clean shaven. Always use caution if shaving someone with a safety razor.

Some medications cause women to grow more facial hair and they may want this to be removed. Some people may want to check their appearance with the help of a small hand mirror, while others may be less concerned about how they look.

 

Care of the nose

If the person is receiving oxygen through tubes placed just inside each nostril, the inside of the nose may feel dry. Using a water-based lubricant can help make the nose feel better. Clipping and trimming nasal hairs may also be helpful.

Petroleum based lubricants such as Vaseline® are not recommended for nose care when oxygen tubing is being used.

See Video
Personal Hygiene - Caring for hair
Personal Hygiene - Caring for the skin
 

Content reviewed July 15, 2015

PDF Imprimer article EnvoyerEnvoyer
Soin des cheveux et du visage

Par : CVH Team

Soin des cheveux
 

Les personnes malades ont tendance à transpirer, ce qui rend leurs cheveux humides et emmêlés. Brosser les cheveux régulièrement est un geste plein de délicatesse. Les cheveux peuvent être lavés dans la douche ou le bain, à la table de cuisine avec une cuvette ou dans le lit avec des piqués épais.

Pour laver les cheveux dans le lit :

  • Soyez bien organisé avec serviettes, récipients pour l’eau propre et l’eau usée, shampooing et brosse ou peigne du patient.
     
  • Déplacez lentement le patient vers la tête du lit afin que le cou en dépasse légèrement.
     
  • Couvrez le lit avec des sacs à ordures ou piqués afin d’empêcher de tout mouiller le lit et placez des seaux par terre pour recueillir l’eau usée.
     
  • Mouillez les cheveux de la personne avec de l'eau tiède, shampouinez lentement la tête en massant.
     
  • Rincez bien à l’eau propre et faites tomber l’eau dans un sceau sur le plancher.

Une autre façon de laver les cheveux dans le lit est d’utiliser un bonnet pour soins capillaires. Ces produits sont souvent disponibles dans les pharmacies ou d’autres établissements qui vendent des produits médicaux. Les bonnets pour soins capillaires sont imprégnés de shampooing et de revitalisant. Le bonnet est chauffé au four micro-ondes. On fait le massage des cheveux à travers le bonnet pour plusieurs minutes et on l’enlève… le tour est joué. Aucun rinçage requis.

La coupe de cheveux peut se faire à la maison, dans un centre de soins palliatifs ou un hôpital. Vous pouvez demander à la coiffeuse de se rendre auprès du patient pour faire une coupe ou une mise en plis.

 

Soin du visage

Certaines personnes aiment leur routine. Les femmes qui aiment se maquiller peuvent avoir besoin d'aide. Les hommes qui se rasent chaque jour vont vouloir continuer à le faire. Faites bien attention si vous offrez de faire la barbe à un patient.

Certains médicaments peuvent augmenter la pilosité chez les femmes. Certaines personnes peuvent soigner leur apparence à l’aide d’un petit miroir alors que d'autres en sont moins préoccupées.


Soin du nez

Si la personne reçoit de l'oxygène à l’aide de tubes placés à l’intérieur de chaque narine, la cavité nasale peut s’assécher. Un lubrifiant à base d’eau peut aider à soulager le nez. Coupez les poils du nez pour faciliter vos soins.

Les lubrifiants à base de pétrole, dont la Vaseline®, sont déconseillés pour les soins du nez requérant l'utilisation d'un tube à oxygène

Voir la vidéo
Hygiène personnelle - Soins des cheveux
Hygiène personnelle - Soins de la peau

Contenu revu en novembre 2017