Communicating with the Patient
My husband is nearing the end. How can I calm his fears about dying?

It may help to start by asking your husband what his fears are. It’s important to understand them and talk about them. Some fears are about what will happen physically. These fears may be eased if he understands what’s ahead, and what the health care team can do for him in his final days. Other fears may be more spiritual or emotional, as he struggles with the unknown and how to respond to the changes that are happening.

It may valuable for both of you to meet with someone from a hospice or palliative care program, or to meet with his physician or another health care provider. You can learn what services are available, and it may help your husband talk about his fears and get answers to questions. Sometimes meeting with a member of the health care team such as a social worker or spiritual care provider can help in talking about existential fears and concerns.

People who are dying can be afraid of pain or other symptoms. Let your husband know that the health care team can address the symptoms, and will do all it can to control them. He may be afraid of specific symptoms. If that’s so, you need to work with the health care team to develop a plan to address them. If certain symptoms are expected, the plan can include things such as having medications available for possible emergencies. If your husband knows his symptoms will be addressed, this may help ease some of his fears.

People who are dying may have other fears. It’s important to talk about them, to understand what they are and what a patient needs to know. Ask your husband how much information he wants about what commonly happens to people who are dying. He may want to know everything, or nothing, or only what’s important to him. Knowing this helps you know how best to help him.

Suggested Reading

Dying Well: Peace and Possibilities at the End of Life
by Ira Byock, M.D.

Handbook for Mortals: Guidance for People facing Serious Illness
by Joanne Lynn and Joan Harrold

Rituals for Patients and Families

Communiquer avec le patient
Mon mari s’approche de la fin. Comment puis-je calmer ses peurs au sujet de la mort?

Ça peut aider si vous commencez par demander de quoi il a peur. Il est important de comprendre ses peurs et d’en parler. Certaines craintes relèvent des changements physiques. Ses craintes peuvent se dissiper s’il comprend ce qui va arriver et comment les soignants médicaux vont prendre soin de lui faire pendant ses derniers jours. D’autres peurs peuvent être spirituelles ou émotionnelles; quand on lutte contre l’inconnu, comment répondre à tout ce qui se passe?

Il sera peut-être avantageux si les deux, vous faites connaissance avec un travailleur d’hospice ou d’un programme en soins palliatifs ou si vous parlez avec son médecin ou avec un autre aide en soins médicaux. Vous pouvez noter les services disponibles et cela peut aider à votre mari à parler de ses peurs et d’obtenir les réponses à ses questions. Parfois, rencontrer et parler avec un membre de l’équipe des soins de santé tel un travailleur social ou un conseiller spirituel peut aider à parler des craintes et des soucis existentiels.

Les gens qui meurent peuvent avoir peur de la douleur ou d’autres symptômes. Laissez savoir à votre mari que l’équipe des soins médicaux peut voir aux symptômes et les contrôler. Dans le cas où il a peur de symptômes spécifiques, vous devez travailler avec l’équipe des soins médicaux pour développer un plan pour l’aborder. Si on prévoit certains symptômes, le plan peut comprendre avoir assez de médicaments en cas d’urgence. Si votre mari sait qu’on va s’occuper de tels symptômes, cela pourrait apaiser ces peurs.

Les gens qui meurent ont peut-être d’autres craintes. Il est important d’en parler pour comprendre ce qu’elles sont et ce que le patient doit savoir. Demandez à votre mari combien de renseignements il veut savoir au sujet des gens qui meurent. Il peut vouloir tout savoir ou ne rien savoir, ou encore, rien que ce qui lui est important. Savoir cela vous aide à comprendre la meilleure façon de l’aider.

Consultez:

Dying Well: Peace and Possibilities at the End of Life,
par Ira Byock, M.D. et

Handbook for Mortals: Guidance for People Facing Serious Illness
par Joanne Lynn et Joan Harrold

Rituels pour les patients et les familles