PDF Print Article Send to a FriendSend to a Friend
Physician-Assisted Suicide and Euthanasia: Introduction

By: Romayne Gallagher MD, CCFP

Many people have seen someone in pain and suffering. Physician-assisted suicide and euthanasia offer an immediate end to suffering, which makes them seem attractive options when life is coming to an end. From a distance this looks like a time of loss and suffering only. Yet many people who have helped care for a dying person whose symptoms are controlled have found that this can be an intense and rewarding experience.

It is important to discuss and debate these very fundamental issues, as the way we treat the most vulnerable among us says a lot about what our society values. It's useful to start by making sure we understand the terms of the debate.

See also: Physician-assisted Suicide and Euthanasia: The Issues

Euthanasia and physician-assisted suicide are deaths caused by a lethal drug prescribed by a physician. The drug causes the death, not the illness. In physician-assisted suicide, the patient takes the drug directly. In euthanasia, the physician administers the drug. Usually this is a barbiturate, given at a dosage that first causes sleepiness, and then leads to a coma and death.

In places where physician-assisted suicide is legal, there are processes to evaluate people who ask to end their life, to see if they are eligible for the programs. These processes usually involve in-depth talks between the patient and at least one physician. A second physician is often consulted as well. If the physician or physicians think the person meets the conditions of the program, then the physician prescribes a lethal dose of a drug.
 

Physician-assisted suicide

In physician-assisted suicide a doctor writes a prescription for a lethal dose of a drug that is intended to cause a patient's death. The patient is responsible for taking the prescription to a pharmacy to have it filled. Then the patient decides if or when to take the medication to end his or her life. The doctor does not administer the drug.

Here are two examples of people who asked for physician-assisted suicide.

 

Jean's story: Decreasing quality of life

Jean has advancing amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS) or Lou Gehrig’s disease. It is a progressive disease that affects the nervous system and eventually decreases mobility, communication, swallowing and breathing, and independent functioning. Jean has been married for 45 years and her husband also has health problems. Jean is now having trouble walking because of leg weakness. Her arms are getting weaker also, and she now needs help with bathing, dressing and preparing meals. She gets daily support from community services and from her children, but she sees that this is causing her children hardship and stress. This weighs on her mind, because she knows that the burden on her children will only get heavier as she and her husband become even more dependent. The loss of independence and the knowledge that she is a source of difficulty and stress makes Jean feel her quality of life is decreasing and everything is over.

Jean talks at length with her family about this distress and how it leads her to seek physician-assisted suicide. The family is upset about this, but try hard to understand her reasons. Jean researches the process with her physician and submits a request to be considered for the program. After a thorough investigation, she is found to be eligible, and she gets a prescription for a lethal dose of drug. While she may still have had many more months to live, she decides to take the drug and dies.

Gary's story: Worries about unbearable pain

Gary has had advanced lung cancer for five months. He has had chemotherapy and radiation treatments for his disease. Despite treatments, Gary's cancer is progressing. He is losing weight and feeling weaker.  His cough has returned, he is having trouble sleeping at night, and he is increasingly short of breath. Gary still can shower and dress himself, and can get out of the house for short visits with his friends, but his pain is becoming more constant and intense, and he wonders how long he can continue these activities. His family helps by preparing meals, but Gary is worried that soon he will be completely dependent on them. He also feels his pain is becoming untreatable and is afraid his life will become  unbearable. Both these worries cause him great distress.

Gary tells his family he wants physician-assisted suicide. They are upset, but they support him. Gary investigates his government's process for physician-assisted suicide. He meets with two physicians who work with him to decide if he is eligible. After their decision, and a required waiting period, Gary is given a prescription for the drug. At the same time, Gary’s regular doctor refers him to palliative care and symptom management teams. They learn that the main reason Gary is asking to die is the intensity of his pain and shortness of breath, and his fear it will get worse. The symptom management team prescribes medication that helps relieve Gary’s pain. Gradually, Gary starts to move more easily and without becoming short of breath.  Gary meets regularly with a specialist who helps him talk about his fears and anxieties. Gary learns what he can control, and finds he can enjoy time with his family.  He decides not to take the medication prescribed for physician- assisted suicide for the moment. Gary keeps the prescription in case he needs it in the future. The symptom management team will work with Gary regularly to keep up his quality of life as long as possible.

  

Euthanasia

Euthanasia occurs when a doctor or other health professional administers a drug that ends a patient's life.  Voluntary euthanasia is when a patient requests the lethal drug. Involuntary euthanasia is when someone else decides the drug should be used to end the patient’s life. That person could be a family member, friend, substitute decision-maker or physician. If a person with dementia has no family, friend, or substitute decision maker to speak for them, then a physician may be the one who makes decisions on the patient's behalf.

The first story below is an example of voluntary euthanasia. The second illustrates involuntary euthanasia.
 

Dave's story:  Voluntary euthanasia when life feels not worth living

Dave is 32 and suffered a spinal cord injury in an accident eight months ago. He is a quadriplegic, which means his four limbs are paralyzed. He can breathe without the help of a ventilator (breathing machine) and he can move his shoulders. He has little movement in his hands and no movement in his legs. Since his accident he has learned to use a motorized wheelchair and can go out on his own. He can speak and hear normally and can use a computer directed by head movement. At the time of his accident, Dave was estranged from his family and has not let them know about his condition. He is divorced and has no children. His work and his sports friends were his life. Dave’s friends have been very supportive and he has visitors every day. Despite his recovery, Dave still feels life is not worth living. He can't play sports—something he did every day before his accident—and he needs help with dressing, bathing and toileting.

Dave lives in an area where physician-assisted suicide and euthanasia are legal. He cannot take lethal medication himself, so he investigates the process for being considered for euthanasia. After a careful investigation, Dave is considered eligible. Several weeks later a doctor administers the lethal dose of a drug and Dave dies about 40 minutes after receiving it. He likely had many years to live despite the complications from his quadriplegia.

Louise's story: Involuntary euthanasia for someone incapable of making medical decisions

Involuntary euthanasia for someone incapable of making medical decisions
Louise has advanced dementia. She can no longer understand the pros and cons of medical treatments. She is considered incapable of making medical decisions for herself. She has two daughters who know her well and are active in her life. They are her substitute decision makers. When Louise was in the early stages of dementia, she told her daughters she felt she would not have the quality of life she needed if she had to live in a nursing home and could not make her own decisions. Louise asked her daughters to respect her desire not to live like that and to help "put me out of my misery" if that situation came up.

Louise is being cared for in her apartment in a seniors’ complex. She needs help to dress herself and can only walk a few steps. She eats well if someone helps feed her, and she seems to enjoy music therapy sessions and visits. Her daughters talk often about what to do for their mother now that she needs more care and a transfer to the nursing home side of the complex is likely. Louise’s health care providers tell  her daughters that studies show people with dementia have a better quality of life than their families think. The daughters agonize over what's best for their mother and her gradual decline, and wonder how to balance possible quality of life with the wishes she expressed in the early stages of dementia. After several month's of watching Louise decline, the daughters ask that she be considered for euthanasia. After an evaluation process, which considers Louise's earlier wishes, she is judged to be a candidate for involuntary euthanasia. A doctor administers a lethal dose of medication to Louise with her daughters by her side. There is no way of knowing how long Louise may have lived without euthanasia.


Every person's story is different, and each has to be considered carefully. Society's role is to ensure all options are considered for those final days, and that decisions are carefully made.


Physician-assisted suicide and euthanasia in Canada

Physician assisted suicide and euthanasia in Canada has been termed medical assistance in dying (MAID). Medical assistance in dying in Canada applies only to people who are fully able to make an informed decision, who have a serious illness, are in an advanced state of decline, are suffering unbearably from their illness, and are at a point where their natural death has become reasonably foreseeable.

A Supreme Court of Canada decision has made medical assistance in dying legal in Canada starting in February 2016.  Bill C-14, legislation on medical assistance in dying in Canada, received royal assent on June 17, 2016.

Decision-making about MAID and provision of medical assistance in dying lies outside the palliative care focus of CVH. 
Information about medical assistance in dying can be found on the Government of Canada’s website. 

The Canadian Virtual Hospice (CVH) provides information and support to manage illness through a palliative approach to care. This website has many valuable articles and videos about serious illness as well as grief and loss. Please search our website for information and supportive ways to cope.

Content Reviewed August 31, 2016

PDF Imprimer article EnvoyerEnvoyer
Suicide médicalement assisté et euthanasie : introduction

Par : Romayne Gallagher MD, CCFP

Nous sommes nombreux à avoir vu des gens souffrir. Comme le suicide médicalement assisté et l’euthanasie promettent la fin immédiate de la souffrance, ce sont des solutions attrayantes en fin de vie. Certes, à distance, on ne voit que la perte et la souffrance, mais beaucoup de ceux qui ont pris soin d’une personne mourante dont les symptômes étaient maîtrisés ont constaté que cette période peut aussi être une expérience intense et enrichissante.

Il est important de discuter et de débattre de ces questions primordiales, puisque la façon dont nous traitons les plus vulnérables d’entre nous en dit long sur les valeurs de notre société. Mais d’abord, assurons-nous de comprendre les termes du débat.

Voir aussi « Suicide médicalement assisté et euthanasie : questions fondamentales »

Le suicide médicalement assisté et l’euthanasie désignent tous deux un décès causé par un médicament létal prescrit par un médecin. C’est le médicament et non la maladie qui provoque le décès, et le patient prend lui-même le médicament. Dans le cas de l’euthanasie, en revanche, c’est le médecin qui l’administre. Il s’agit généralement d’un barbiturique à dose suffisante pour provoquer d’abord la somnolence, puis un coma et la mort.

Là où cet acte est légal, il existe un protocole pour évaluer la personne qui a demandé à mettre fin à sa vie et pour déterminer si elle est admissible au programme. Il s'agit généralement de discussions approfondies entre le patient et au moins un médecin, souvent deux. Si le ou les médecins estiment que la personne satisfait aux conditions du programme, l'un d'eux prescrit la dose mortelle.
 

Le suicide médicalement assisté

Le médecin prescrit un médicament dont la dose est mesurée pour provoquer la mort. Le patient fait exécuter l’ordonnance par une pharmacie et détermine ensuite si ou quand il va prendre le médicament pour mettre fin à ses jours. Le médecin ne le lui administre pas.

Voici deux exemples.

 

L’histoire de Jeanne : perdre sa qualité de vie

Jeanne souffrait d’une sclérose latérale amyotrophique (SLA), ou maladie de Lou Gehrig, à un stade avancé. Il s’agit d’une maladie évolutive, qui attaque le système nerveux et affecte peu à peu la mobilité, la communication, la déglutition et la respiration. Elle empêche le patient de fonctionner de manière autonome. Jeanne était mariée depuis 45 ans, et son mari avait aussi des problèmes de santé. Elle avait du mal à marcher parce que l’une de ses jambes était faible. Comme ses bras s’affaiblissaient aussi, elle a eu ensuite besoin d’aide pour prendre son bain, s’habiller et préparer les repas. Certes, elle bénéficiait chaque jour de services de proximité et de l’aide de ses enfants, mais elle voyait bien que cette situation imposait faisait souffrir ses enfants et les stressait. Elle était tourmentée à l’idée que le fardeau qu’elle représentait pour eux irait en augmentant puisque son mari et elle allaient devenir de plus en plus dépendants. Cela étant, Jeanne constatait que sa qualité de vie diminuait et avait l’impression que tout était fini.

Elle a beaucoup parlé à sa famille de sa détresse et de sa volonté de recourir au suicide médicalement assisté. Troublée, sa famille a néanmoins essayé de comprendre ses motifs. Jeanne a fait des recherches avec l’aide de son médecin et présenté une demande. Après investigation, elle a été déclarée admissible et a obtenu le médicament nécessaire. Peut-être avait-elle encore de nombreux mois à vivre, mais elle a décidé de prendre le médicament et est morte.

L’histoire de Gilles : des souffrances insupportables

Gilles souffre depuis cinq mois d’un cancer des poumons avancé, qui progresse malgré la chimiothérapie et la radiothérapie. Gilles maigrit et faiblit. Il tousse à nouveau, a du mal à dormir la nuit et est de plus en plus essoufflé. Il peut encore se doucher et se vêtir seul, et rendre brièvement visite à ses amis, mais la douleur s’intensifie et lui laisse peu de répit. Il se demande combien de temps encore il pourra continuer. Sa famille l’aide en préparant ses repas, mais il s’inquiète à l’idée de dépendre bientôt totalement de ses proches. Il a également l’impression qu’il est impossible de faire disparaître la douleur et craint que la vie ne devienne insupportable, ce qui lui cause une profonde détresse.

Gilles annonce donc aux membres de sa famille sa volonté de demander le suicide médicalement assisté. Bouleversés, ils l’appuient. Gilles se renseigne sur le protocole prévu par le gouvernement de sa province. Il rencontre deux médecins qui travaillent avec lui pour déterminer s’il est admissible. Une fois la décision rendue et au terme de la période d’attente obligatoire, Gilles obtient une ordonnance pour le médicament létal. Simultanément, son médecin traitant l’oriente vers une équipe de soins palliatifs et de prise en charge des symptômes. Constatant que Gilles est motivé surtout par l’intensité de sa douleur, l’essoufflement et sa crainte que tout empire, l’équipe prescrit un médicament qui atténue la douleur. Graduellement, Gilles recommence à se déplacer plus librement, sans s’essouffler. Il consulte régulièrement un spécialiste qui l’aide à verbaliser ses peurs et son anxiété. Il comprend ce qu’il peut maîtriser et découvre qu’il peut encore passer des moments agréables avec sa famille. Il décide de ne pas prendre tout de suite le médicament prescrit pour le suicide médicalement assisté. Il a gardé l’ordonnance, pour le cas où il en aurait besoin plus tard. L’équipe de prise en charge des symptômes travaillera régulièrement avec lui pour l’aider à maintenir sa qualité de vie le plus longtemps possible.
 

L’euthanasie

L’euthanasie désigne les cas où c’est un médecin ou un autre professionnel de la santé qui administre un médicament pour mettre fin à la vie d’un patient. L’euthanasie est volontaire si le patient lui-même demande le médicament létal. Elle est involontaire si quelqu’un décide qu’il y a lieu d’utiliser le médicament pour mettre fin à la vie du patient. Cette personne peut être un membre de la famille, un ami, un décideur substitut ou un médecin. Si la personne atteinte de démence n’a pas de parent, d’ami ou de décideur substitut qui puisse parler pour elle, le médecin peut prendre la décision en son nom.

Voici deux exemples. Le premier est un cas d’euthanasie volontaire et le second, d’euthanasie involontaire.
 

David et l’euthanasie volontaire : quand la vie ne vaut plus la peine d’être vécue

David a 32 ans. Voici huit mois, il a subi une lésion de la moelle épinière lors d’un accident. Depuis, il est quadriplégique, autrement dit : paralysé des quatre membres. Il respire avec l’aide d’un respirateur (ou insufflateur) et peut bouger les épaules. Ses mains sont très peu mobiles et ses jambes, plus du tout. Il a appris à utiliser un fauteuil roulant motorisé et peut donc se déplacer seul. Il parle et entend normalement, et utilise un ordinateur commandé par les mouvements de sa tête. Au moment de l’accident, David ne voyait plus sa famille et ne l’a donc pas mise au courant de son état. Il est divorcé et n’a pas d’enfants. Sa vie tournait autour de son travail et de ses copains de sport. De fait, ses amis lui apportent un soutien indéfectible et il a encore des visiteurs tous les jours. Bien qu’il ait récupéré, il estime que la vie ne vaut plus la peine d’être vécue. Il ne peut plus faire de sport, lui qui en faisait tous les jours avant l’accident, et il a besoin d’aide pour se vêtir, prendre son bain et faire sa toilette.

David vit dans une région où le suicide médicalement assisté et l’euthanasie sont légaux. Comme il ne peut pas prendre le médicament létal lui-même, il se renseigne sur l’euthanasie. Après une investigation approfondie, il est considéré comme admissible. Quelques semaines plus tard, un médecin lui administre le médicament et David meurt environ 40 minutes après. Il aurait sans doute vécu encore longtemps, malgré les complications inhérentes à la quadriplégie.

L’histoire de Louise : l’euthanasie involontaire pour une personne incapable de prendre des décisions d’ordre médical

Louise est atteinte de démence avancée. Elle ne comprend plus le pour et le contre des traitements. Elle est considérée comme incapable de prendre des décisions d’ordre médical pour elle-même. Elle a deux filles qui la connaissent bien et qui sont très présentes dans sa vie. Ce sont ses décideurs substituts. Dès les premiers stades de la maladie, Louise leur a dit qu’elle craignait de ne plus avoir de qualité de vie si elle était placée dans une maison de soins infirmiers et qu’elle ne pouvait plus prendre ses propres décisions. Elle leur a demandé de respecter sa volonté de ne pas vivre de cette manière et de l’aider à abréger ses souffrances, le cas échéant.

Louise est prise en charge dans son appartement d’un complexe pour personnes âgées. Elle a besoin d’aide pour se vêtir et ne peut faire que quelques pas. Elle mange bien si quelqu’un l’aide et semble apprécier les séances de musicothérapie et les visites. Ses filles se demandent souvent que faire maintenant que leur mère semble nécessiter plus de soins. Le transfert dans l’aile des soins infirmiers semble s’imposer. Les prestataires de soins leur ont dit que la qualité de vie des personnes atteintes de démence serait meilleure que leur famille le croit, d’après les chercheurs. Les filles se tourmentent : comment savoir ce qui convient le mieux à leur mère étant donné la dégradation progressive de son état? Comment choisir entre cette qualité de vie et le souhait exprimé par leur mère au début de la maladie? Après avoir vu l’état de Louise se détériorer pendant plusieurs mois, les filles demandent une évaluation dans le cadre du programme d’euthanasie. L’évaluation tient compte du déclin fonctionnel et de la qualité de vie mais aussi des souhaits de Louise qui, entre autres choses, ne voulait pas vivre dans une maison de soins infirmiers. Elle est finalement considérée comme admissible à l’euthanasie involontaire. Un médecin lui administre une dose mortelle de médicament en présence de ses filles. Il est impossible de savoir combien de temps Louise aurait pu vivre sans cette intervention.


Chaque patient a son histoire, qui doit être évaluée minutieusement. Le rôle de la société est de veiller à ce que soient envisagées toutes les possibilités qui s’offrent en fin de vie et à ce que les décisions soient prises avec le plus grand soin.

Le suicide médicalement assisté et l'euthanasie au Canada

Au Canada, on utilise le terme aide médicale à mourir (AMM) pour parler du suicide médicalement assisté et de l'euthanasie. Pour être admissible à l'aide médicale à mourir au Canada, une personne doit être en mesure de donner un consentement éclairé, avoir une maladie grave, être dans un état de déclin avancé, souffrir de manière intolérable de sa maladie et être à un point sa mort naturelle est devenue raisonnablement prévisible.

Un arrêt de la Cour suprême du Canada a rendu l'aide médicale à mourir légale au Canada à partir de février 2016. Le projet de loi C-14, la loi sur l'aide médicale à mourir au Canada, a reçu la sanction royale le 17 juin 2016.

Les réflexions entourant l'AMM ne cadrent pas avec le propos du Portail palliatif canadien. 
Pour vous renseigner sur l'AMM, consultez le site du gouvernement du Canada

Le Portail palliatif canadien offre de l'information et du soutien sur la prise en charge des malades selon une approche palliative des soins. Il présente une foule d'articles et de vidéos intéressants sur les maladies graves ainsi que la perte et le deuil. Consultez notre moteur de recherche pour trouver des ressources et du soutien pour faire face à la maladie.


Contenu revu le 31 août 2016